We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Village by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Lowell, Massachusetts
1 review
“I love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

My family and I have been going to Village by the Sea for many years and have never been disappointed. We do a "cousins" weekend every Mother's Day, usually renting many units. My sister and I have been going up the day after Christmas for several years as well, and usually stay 4-5 nights with various family members coming and going. We have stayed in many different units and have always been 100% satisfied. The staff there is wonderful, from the folks at the reservation desk, to the housekeeping staff. They are all very accommodating. I will usually check their website, as they often offer special deals and I try to take advantage when I can. We will continue to frequent this place as often as possible.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    154
    34
    27
    16
See reviews for
329
196
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This place was everything we expected. We vacation in Kissimmee, FL a lot and this time we just wanted a relaxing vacation. It was great. This place is centrally located to pretty much everything, restaurants, shopping centers and only 20 minutes from Portsmouth, NH which has everything. I have never seen a place where every single staff member is friendly and helpful. From the time we arrived to the time we left. Even family who visited us at this resort, said it was the perfect place.

Room Tip: We chose the only villa which had the loft. Good choice it was 12E. My 9 year old son LOVED it. H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I often go away for weekend getaways and we love Maine. During the winter months we rode up to Maine and drove by Village by the Sea and it looked beautiful, so we decided to check it out. We had a suite that was very clean, spacious and the beds were very comfortable. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. Would highly recommend. We often go a few times a year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

-we stayed at the village for two nights lots of fun
-staff great helpful and pleasant
-considering it was winter lots of fun sledding ,pool - pool, sledding
-rate was the big draw glad we went
-only draw back was the room was alittle dated but clean spacious and convienent
- would reccomend a stay here especially in the summer

Room Tip: ask for updated more contemporary room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prh12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Last weekend, we stayed at the Village by the Sea in Wells, Maine. The reservation and registration were accomplished efficiently and effectively. We stayed in a unit overlooking a marshy area where one could observe the ebb and flow of the tides.

This one bedroom unit included a full kitchen, large living room, a gas fireplace and one bathroom. The unit offered a great view and very comfortable living arrangements. The television and DVD player worked well as did the wireless Internet.

The indoor pool and hot tub were open as was a game room. Although we did not use the exercise equipment, there is a room above the pool that offers several pieces of exercise equipment.

The location of this facility is not far from Wells Beach. Oguinquit is down the road a piece (Route 1) while Kennebunk and Kennebunkport are a short drive north and northeast.

We have stayed that the VBS during the summer as well. York beach is about a 20 minute drive south.

We highly recommend Village by the Sea as a place that offers so much for a reasonable rate.

Steve C. Imber, Ph.D.
Rhode island
12-28-12

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Spacious, comfortable, close to activites/events but away from the noise. Every amenity necessary for a relaxing, care-free 'Get me out of Dodge' experience including multiple bathrooms in larger suites. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Boylston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is a great location situated between Ogunquit and Kennebunkport which was perfect for attending the Christmas Prelude festivities. We were amazed at how large the living quarters were. Great place to bring family or friends.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank linda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
4.9 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
4.1 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ogunquit Resort Motel
Ogunquit Resort Motel
#32 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
4.7 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#2 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village by the Sea

Property: Village by the Sea
Address: Route 1 South, 1373 Post Road, PO Box 1107, Wells, ME 04090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wells
#3 Family Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village by the Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Suite Resort Hotel. Condominium resort hotel featuring spacious 1 and 2 bedroom condominium suites. Indoor heated pool, hot tub, fitness center, game room, seasonal outdoor pool, gas grills, Bocce ball court and basketball court. Situated on 11 acres bordering the Rachel Carson Wildlife Preserve and tidal salt marsh near Wells Beach. Great location between the popular tourist towns of Ogunquit and Kennebunkport. All units with living room, dining room, and fully equipped kitchen. Wedding and Meeting facility with a variety of meeting spaces including Maine Ballroom and intimate Kennebunk Board Room, for inviting events by the sea. Free Wireless Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Village by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village By The Sea Hotel Wells
Village By The Sea Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing