We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Village by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Village by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We rented a 2 bedroom unit for the Prelude...it was clean, roomy and affordable .

The pool area was not supervised, so unfortunately some parents allowed their young children in the hot tub, perhaps 6 years old, that turns me off. I didn't see any pool towels, although I saw a sign about discarding them. Bring your own towel and shower shoes...the floor wasn't exactly sterile

Ask for a top floor unit, the noise level was high on he lower level. Every step was heard, the tenants were not loud, it is just instructed cheaply.

Overall a good stay... I would return

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    162
    37
    29
    18
See reviews for
346
209
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Spacious, fully stocked, comfy, family friendly..... Love it. Who wants to eat out for 3 meals a day to the tune of 100$++. When you can stay in this deluxe home away from home!! We love living like a local for the week and if you get an upper floor the views, especially in the morning, can not be beaten .... I would get up just before sunrise to capture it all. We had a kingsize ( with ensuite) and kids had OWN room with OWN bathroom!!! Also full size washer and dryer!!!All for regular hotel rates!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

Room Tip: Get an upper floor for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Okracoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My family and close friends have been staying here for approximately 17 years during Thanksgiving week. We also stayed 1 time during the 4 th of July. We have always found VBTS to be gracius,clean and a great value. They offer great accomodations which include fully equipped kitchens, washer/dryers and all the necessary kitchen equipment to cook meals during your stay.We've stayed in various rooms. Some are obviously time shares which owners have tastefully decorated and maintained while others are purely rental but are still cozy and well-equipped. The staff are always avaible to respond to any questions or issues. The view from the majority of the rooms are the marshes and coastal views of the georgous Maine beach.The kids and adults have always taken advantage of the indoor/outdoor pools,jacuzzi and exercise room. Most importantly, over the years VBTS has always maintained and updated the rooms as well as the exterior of the buildings. Obviously, they are conscious of keeping their facilities appealing and their customers happy to return.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to marsh have water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleisle Creek
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We love Village by the Sea & would recommend it to others. We had a wonderful time & will come back again. Our suite was beautiful & very nicely decorated. All the comforts of home.
We were able to go shopping and also the restaurants were great also. There are quite a few speciality shoppes as well. The staff kept everything very clean & comfortable for us. We will certainly come for another visit. The others in our group plan to come back also.

Room Tip: Some might like a room closer to the office or the fitness centre. It was very quiet where we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I was in Maine, and stopped in to book a unit. I specifically requested a ground floor unit because we travel with a person who uses a walker. I was told there was a ground floor unit available for the time that I wanted, so I booked it and paid in advance with my credit card. So, on Saturday, we arrived for our stay, and was told that the owner of the unit had decided to occupy it, and we were being switched to a third floor unit. HELLO = what part of ground floor for the guy with a walker did they not understand when I booked it??? So they had us go across the street to Carriage house, which was excellent by the way. And, I had to argue for 45 minutes to get any kind of compensation for being put out. They thought that by getting us a night at the other motel, that was compensation - NOT, seeing as how I actually paid for the night. So next trip we will book the carriage house. Only high point were the pleasant and courteous housekeepers.

Room Tip: Any room is no good when they do not do right by the guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Sisters week was awesome. Great location, we were able to visit a lot of great places in the area and we didn't have to go far for shopping or going out to restaurants. the rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. staff is pleasant and helpful, and the price was perfect. We enjoyed our stay so much that we will be back.

Room Tip: First floor is best for anyone with arthritis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenda06370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Normally we would stay in a hotel or motel which would consist of 1 room with a bed in it and a separate bathroom. This was like staying in a home. We had a suite which consisted of 2 bedrooms, one of which had its own separate bathroom, a kitchen (which had all utensils, dishes, glasses and pots and pans), dining room, living room, washer & dryer, and a 2nd bathroom. It was perfect for 2 couples travelling together as it gave plenty of privacy. There was a nice patio and the amenities that the hotel provided was great. The indoor pool was wonderful as well as the hot tub. We went with one of their specials which also gave us a $30/couple coupon towards a dinner at 3 different restaurants of our choice as well as a $12/couple towards a breakfast at a nice, cozy restaurant not far away. As it was the off season the price we paid for this all was amazing. I would highly recommend this place. When applying for the reservation you have the option of choosing what room you would like by touring through their list. The pictures aren't lying either. It made out stay their special. Nice area as well. Thanks.

Room Tip: You have options and the pictures online make it easy. If you like to swim in the indoor pool pick a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamella J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
2.6 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
0.1 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#4 of 28 in Wells
404 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,016 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn
Ogunquit River Inn
#6 of 28 in Wells
239 reviews
4.1 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village by the Sea

Property: Village by the Sea
Address: Route 1 South, 1373 Post Road, PO Box 1107, Wells, ME 04090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wells
#3 Family Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village by the Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Suite Resort Hotel. Condominium resort hotel featuring spacious 1 and 2 bedroom condominium suites. Indoor heated pool, hot tub, fitness center, game room, seasonal outdoor pool, gas grills, Bocce ball court and basketball court. Situated on 11 acres bordering the Rachel Carson Wildlife Preserve and tidal salt marsh near Wells Beach. Great location between the popular tourist towns of Ogunquit and Kennebunkport. All units with living room, dining room, and fully equipped kitchen. Wedding and Meeting facility with a variety of meeting spaces including Maine Ballroom and intimate Kennebunk Board Room, for inviting events by the sea. Free Wireless Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Village by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village By The Sea Hotel Wells
Village By The Sea Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing