We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 month stay!”
Review of Village by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Village by the Sea
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Marion, Arkansas
1 review
“3 month stay!”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

The service was great, everybody was very helpful. We stayed there for 3 months due to a temporary move by my husbands company. We did have to move every 30 days due to a residential law in Maine but also due to previous reservations. The front desk and housekeeping was very helpful with organizing our moves. Housekeeping is awesome, the girls do a great job and willing to help with whatever you need. Maintenance was very quick to respond when the washer was leaking and when the bifold doors kept coming off the hinges to the laundry room.

The first condo we had was a two bedroom, two bath, on the third floor, very spacious, tons of light, washer/dryer in unit, carpet could have used a good cleaning.
The second condo was a two bedroom, two bath, on the first floor, very spacious, washer/dryer in unit, tile floors in kitchen and bathrooms, carpet could have used a good cleaning.
The third condo was a one bedroom, two bathroom, in the basement, with a walkout bedroom, alot smaller and darker, coin washer/dryer in laundry room across hall, carpet needed cleaning.
The fourth condo was a one bedroom, one bathroom on the second floor, washer/dryer in unit, very spacious, carpet looked very good.

The indoor and outdoor pools where very nice. The outdoor pool could have been heated to make it more useable. I did not get to use the game or weight rooms. We did see several weddings take place outdoors. The grounds were kept very neat.

Room Tip: Third floor in units 1-7 have the best view and are the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank booksm21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    180
    45
    31
    19
See reviews for
398
221
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Park, NY
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

VBTS is a great way to spend a vacation! 2 bedrooms with 2 full baths and plenty of living space along with a nicely equipped kitchen. The pools are very convenient and clean. Very easy to get to the beach, grocery shopping and to hop on I-95. VBTS is located on the Trolley line so you can avoid the parking issues at the beach. Plenty of reasonably priced restaurants in the area. Very convenient for outlet shopping in Kittery. Overall a very comfortable/relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCISFan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franconia, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Recently my husband and I brought relatives to the Village by the Sea for rest and relaxation. That isexactly what we got.Sea breezes,the warm feeling of home,a wonderful helpful staff,and beautiful surroundings.What more could you ask for-Centrally located,yet private. A great place to vacation

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NHHummingbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We have have been staying at VTBS for over 20 years and love it. The suites are spacious and clean. The view is spectacular from the suite we stayed in. We always find it very peaceful & restful. It is very near Ogunquit and Kennebunkport. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Be sure to call ahead to reserve a room especially on holiday weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnM41654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2011

affordable for couples of all ages...went with another couple and spent $400 on a 2 bedroom room...beautiful view would def go again and highly recommend

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coachv32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed in Unit 7A on July 8-11, 2011. We'd been to Ogunquit before and thought this would be good, because Wells is centrally located between Kennebunkport and Ogunquit. It is not. Actually, I did not find any redeeming qualities in this resort at all. I've tried to divide up my comments into sections.

LOCATION: The resort is right on Route 1, and the traffic in front of the resort was terrible, regardless of what time of day or night we were trying to leave. We knew it was not on the beach, and thought that haven't a view of the Rachel Carson Wildlife Preserve would be nice and scenic. It is not. All you can see from unit 7A is trees. While the parts of the Wildlife Preserve that we saw while not at the resort looked nice, the parts of it that you can view from this resort simply look like someone's backyard.

THE RESORT ITSELF: There was a small outdoor pool, which usually had at least 30 people crammed into it every day during our stay. The indoor pool was nice. The games in the game room were okay. But, be sure to bring change for them, as there aren't any that you can play without paying. Want ice. Get it before 10:00 p.m., as the room the ice maker is in becomes locked at 10:00 p.m., and you can't even open it with a key. Think you'll have an ice tray in your room. We didn't. So, don't count on it. There is complimentary internet service and a computer in the office for you use if you don't feel like bringing your own.

SERVICE: Our only experience with this was calling for towels, when the cleaning crew took our towels but didn't replace them. We had to walk to the front office to pick up our towels, because they couldn't bring them to us. Seemed par for the course, based on our experience with this place.

OUR UNIT: The carpet was the cheapest thing I've ever seen and looked like it had already weathered a flood. The people staying above us in Unit 7C said they lived there. TIt sounded like their children/grandchildren did nothing but run the length of the unit and jump off of furniture all day long. The loud noise from above would start every day at 7:00 a.m. and would continue until after 11:00 p.m., when I finally put the ear plugs in that I had bought and went to sleep. Of course, I was already awake by 7:00 a.m., because the master bedroom's curtain covering the sliding glass door was much more than a set of sheers which were too short for the sliding glass door. Thus, we had light streaming into the bedroom beginning at 5:00 a.m., as the sun apparently rises early on Maine's east coast. We thought 7A would be on the end. It is not. Unit 7B is on the end. Many folks have made a big deal about the A/C. This was the one thing that didn't bother us. The living room is right outside the master bedroom, and the main A/C unit is in the living room. If you simply leave the master bedroom door open when you go to bed, the master bedroom cooled off just fine. The furnishings were extremely chintzy, and were by far the chintziest furnishings I've ever seen in any of the many privately owned condo units I've stayed at in my life. If this were the only problem, I'd go back. But, with the bad location of the resort itself, the loud upstairs neighbors who apparently live there, the poor excuse for curtains on the master bedroom windows, and the lousy view from unit 7A, if you do decide to stay at this resort, don't stay in unit 7A.

As for us, we will definitely return to Maine's southern coast. It was beautiful. Next time, I'm definitely not staying at this condo. I'll stay at the beach.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs unit, if you do decide to stay at Village by the Sea. Don't stay in a lower uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sterling, ma
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2011

The staff helped me pick out the right location for the most amazing engagement proposal ever!They suggested Nubble light house in York. Thank you to all and she said YES!
This place is amazing to stay at.

Room Tip: Nubble Light House, Wells Beach, Mikes restaurant, Rent Scooters up in Kennybunk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wells hotels
2.7 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
0.1 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#5 of 28 in Wells
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn
Ogunquit River Inn
#6 of 28 in Wells
294 reviews
0.5 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village by the Sea

Property: Village by the Sea
Address: Route 1 South, 1373 Post Road, PO Box 1107, Wells, ME 04090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wells
#3 Family Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village by the Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Suite Resort Hotel. Condominium resort hotel featuring spacious 1 and 2 bedroom condominium suites. Indoor heated pool, hot tub, fitness center, game room, seasonal outdoor pool, gas grills, Bocce ball court and basketball court. Situated on 11 acres bordering the Rachel Carson Wildlife Preserve and tidal salt marsh near Wells Beach. Great location between the popular tourist towns of Ogunquit and Kennebunkport. All units with living room, dining room, and fully equipped kitchen. Wedding and Meeting facility with a variety of meeting spaces including Maine Ballroom and intimate Kennebunk Board Room, for inviting events by the sea. Free Wireless Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Village by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village By The Sea Hotel Wells
Village By The Sea Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing