We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“get off the couch and walk”

Ranked #2 of 26 things to do in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Maine wildlife refuge also has a beach on its property.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“get off the couch and walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

if you need exercise then go to walk the trail.it has good views and dont do what i did walk the right way we started from the end and walk the trail in reverse.,so go get some exercise

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank rolln699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    104
    17
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great for a short walk in the woods”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

The Carson Trail is an easy and level nature walk. It is clear and easy to follow. It is more a defined and edged path than a marked hiking trail.

Entry to the trail is easy and obvious opposite the small, free parking area.

There are numbered trail markers along the way so you will need to bring a trail map along match up the numbers to what you are looking at.

This is a great glimpse into the backwoods and marshland in the form of an easy walking tour.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
341 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Nice place for a walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

We had a lovely walk with our dog here - there's a well maintained trail and a leaflet with details of the markers. Everyone we met was really friendly and despite there being lots of cars in the parking lot it never felt crowded.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank 4states
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craftsbury, Vermont
Level Contributor
11 reviews
“What a pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

We enjoyed the wildlife we saw. it was very interesting

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful little hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We love taking our young kids and dog to take an easy hike on the well-groomed and scenic trails. Highly recommend.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank kcro74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing