We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Stay Here if You Don't Like Sleep!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Waterville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Woolwich, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Only Stay Here if You Don't Like Sleep!!”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Although the rooms were decent, they were having a MASSIVE St. Patrick's Day party in the bar downstairs - which was conveniently never mentioned when I made the reservations for my family (including my 5 year old). There were also a TON of other kids there for some sort of tournament who ran up and down the halls until 11 pm... Making it impossible for my 5 year old to sleep (and me). Past 2am, there were parties going on in a few rooms on my floor... people yelling down the hallway, it was a nightmare. We didn't get any sleep - AT ALL. Had we known this was a weekend in which there was a huge party going on, we would have stayed elsewhere. The entire point of staying in a hotel was to get sleep for my little man's wrestling tournament at 7am the next morning. Also, using the pool was a nightmare as there were tons of kids doing cannonballs (I'm not opposed to fun - but when a 5 year old is trying to swim, giant cannonballs are real pain). We tried to enjoy the hot tub, but were bombarded by 6 boys trying to squeeze in with us - not exactly relaxing or comfortable. I think it would be common courtesy for the front desk to give you a heads up when making a reservation if there are large parties going on. For the price we paid to stay the night - I would have rather stayed at home and made the 2 hour drive the morning of the tournament - at least we would have been able to sleep!!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you choose one higher than the 2nd floor where bar patrons wander the halls!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily M, Manager at Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Hi JKC28,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and provide us with this important feedback. I sincerely apologize that your experience with us was less an exceptional. When the hotel is full like it was during the time of your stay our staff tries their best to maintain the highest level of guest satisfaction and I am sorry that your experience was less than satisfactory. We will use this information moving forward to make our hotel better. We look forward to hopefully making your next stay better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    112
    62
    34
    28
See reviews for
158
80
19
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We've stayed here for 2-3 days in March each of the last four years, and have had a great experience every time.

The staff is unfailingly friendly and professional, the beds are comfortable, and the rooms are a comfortable size. The fitness equipment is well-maintained and replaced as needed, and the pool area is kept clean.

Breakfast is included, and is cooked to order in the on-site restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily M, Manager at Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
MLW2013,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and got to enjoy some of the amenities that our hotel offers. Our staff appreciates your kind words, as they try very hard to exceed the expectations of guests and provide a top-notch service experience. We hope to host you again the next time you are in the Waterville, Maine area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winslow, Maine, Usa
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Having an extended stay here I can say this is one great place to stay. The total staff truly stands out with the warm Maine experience. From the great staff and well prepared food at O brain's to the front desk and all the way through the housekeeping crew they are outstanding. Even though its been so Cold and Snowy it has been warm and comfy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pastor Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed during my son's February vacation and this hotel exceeded our expectations. The staff was amazingly helpful, very friendly and nice. I am not really sure why some people found issues about this hotel when I read the prior reviews. The rooms were extremely clean, comfortable beds and the heated saltwater pool and hot tub was just what you needed after a day of snow play. The Free breakfast that came with the room fee is absolutely free contrary to what others wrote on their review. Each person in the room rec'd a ticket to O'Briens Restaurant there were 3 choices to choose from and it was a complete hot breakfast served to your table. All breakfasts included coffee, juice, eggs any style, sausage or bacon, homefries and toast, pancake choice or other choice with corned beef hash. If you ordered something else off the menu you only had to pay the difference. This hotel was a phenomenal deal and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank G2176QNsusanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New Hampshire, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Had another great stay. Great pool area. Great Breakfast included with the stay.Clean, quiet rooms. Great location. Friendly staff. Looking forward returning next year for our annual conference in Waterville.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PastorLarenWhaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2014

This is the second year we have stayed t this hotel. The staff are always polite and accomidating. The rooms are clean and the bed comfortable. My kids LOVE the pool and its a plus that it is a salt water ppol..not so harsh.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I made a reservation for a pleasure trip to Waterville Maine January 24th,2014 for two nights. The hotel is located right off the interstate exit and very easy to enter but there is a lack of signage so I had to circle the building before finding the main desk. I was greeted by very friendly workers and quickly checked in. My room was on the 3rd floor and quite nice. The hotel looked as though there was a recent upgrade throughout and my room was very fresh with a clean bathroom. Mattresses were very nice with crisp linens. The room also had a fridge and microwave with a 42" television. Free WiFi was also easy to access. Eating venues are very close with a K-mart and Walmart across the street. Would recommend this hotel and for the price a great value.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the center single story function room are very quiet and you enjoy a nice sunset b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carpentajoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville
0.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Waterville
266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Waterville - North
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterville
Hampton Inn Waterville
#1 of 6 in Waterville
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Augusta Civic Center Inn
17.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Civic Center
19.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Augusta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel
Address: 375 Main St, Waterville, ME 04901 (Formerly Waterville Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Waterville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Waterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring is upon us, and the Best Western Plus Waterville offers comfortable and convenient accommodations for your Maine getaway. We are a pet friendly hotel, so there’s no need to leave your furry friends behind! This centrally located, Director’s Award-winning hotel is a great stopping point if you are traveling to Bangor, Bar Harbor or the Moosehead Lake region. Enjoy Maine’s splendid crossover weather while Spring skiing, whitewater rafting, hiking, and Maple season! The Belgrade Lakes region is just a short drive away and provides ample activities for the outdoor adventurer. Our 138 guest-room property has been upgraded; check out our new rooms and meeting space! We are sure to meet your needs with refrigerators and microwaves in every room. Free high speed Wifi and HD TVs will bring you one step closer to feeling like you’re at home. Relax in our indoor, heated, saltwater pool and hot tub, or burn some calories in our fitness center. Our friendly staff will take that extra step to make your feel like this is your home away from home! Now included in the rates is a discounted Hot Breakfast for up to 2 people. That's right; eggs the way you like, bacon or sausage, home fries and coffee! Start your day off at O'Brien's Irish Restaurant and end it at O'Brien's Irish Pub!!! Visiting a loved one at Colby, Thomas or Unity College? Colby is a short 2 miles, Thomas only 5 miles, and Unity College is a mere scenic thirty minute drive from our door. Our central Maine location will be sure to offer comfortable accommodations for wherever your travels take you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Best Western, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waterville
Waterville Holiday Inn
Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing