We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Surprize”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Waterville
GreenLeadersBronze level
South Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Surprize”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I made a reservation for a pleasure trip to Waterville Maine January 24th,2014 for two nights. The hotel is located right off the interstate exit and very easy to enter but there is a lack of signage so I had to circle the building before finding the main desk. I was greeted by very friendly workers and quickly checked in. My room was on the 3rd floor and quite nice. The hotel looked as though there was a recent upgrade throughout and my room was very fresh with a clean bathroom. Mattresses were very nice with crisp linens. The room also had a fridge and microwave with a 42" television. Free WiFi was also easy to access. Eating venues are very close with a K-mart and Walmart across the street. Would recommend this hotel and for the price a great value.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the center single story function room are very quiet and you enjoy a nice sunset b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carpentajoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    108
    60
    32
    27
See reviews for
153
76
19
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

While the room rates are likely higher in the warmer months, this hotel was great all around. The rooms were clean, updated and the attached hotel restaurant was very good. I highly recommend this hotel. You will not be disappointed. Location right off I95 was very good too. Hotel staff was helpful and I plan to stay there again. Awesome blueberry pancakes :)

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank moetpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gagetown, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This hotel is just off the main highway in Maine and near to many conveniences (gas stations, restaurants, etc.) yet the nights are very quiet with no outside noise. Most rooms overlook a central courtyard which is well maintained by the owners. Always courteous service, a lovely pub/restaurant which serves a delicious breakfast. My husband and I have stayed here many times on our trips in New England and it has always been comfortable. They have the softest sheets I've ever slept on in a similar-style hotel!

Room Tip: Most rooms overlook the courtyard so try and book one of those on an upper floor. This hotel does h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I'm not sure exactly how Best Western determines which of their hotels get the "Plus" label, but after staying here a couple of times in the past few months (and after staying at a very good Best Western Plus in San Diego this past summer), I don't see how this location could be considered anything other than the bottom tier of Best Western hotels. Maybe the "Plus" refers to the additional 20 degrees that the room was heated to because the heating unit didn't function properly. Maybe the "Plus" refers to the empty wine bottle that was sitting on our window sill that the cleaning staff had overlooked. Maybe the "Plus" refers to the extra color in the water when we first started the bath water. Maybe the "Plus" refers to the unique experience of kneeling on the floor to iron your clothes because the ironing board can't lock into a standing position. Maybe the "Plus" refers to the extra years on the vintage Nautilus machines in the fitness room. Maybe the "Plus" refers to getting to listen to a catering manager complain (loudly) about a wedding party while you're watching a football game in the bar because ESPN isn't working in your room. What I can say for sure is that in the future the "Plus" will refer to one additional vacancy, because I won't be staying there again.

Room Tip: A lot of the first floor rooms have parking cars' headlights shining right in the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We were there 12/20-12/22 to visit family. We were pleasantly surprised with everything. The rooms, the restaurant and the pool. We found the employees friendly but not intrusive. If we were to ask for improvement would be towels supplied for the pool, thin, small and well used. Should be replaced with larger size, next time I would bring my own. The towels in each room seemed limited supply but we didn't request more so could have done that.
We requested non-smoking section but did have to walk through hallway smelling of smoke to get to our room.
Meals were very good, has a lounge too. We will be going again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBird1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed at the Best western Waterville, Me. Over the Thanksgiving Holiday, the hotel and room were very clean. loved our stay, we will be staying there again for New years. Darleen is wonderful to work with. thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
243 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Was able to get a great price with one of the online book engines. For the price paid, this place served our purpose for 1 night. Young lady at reception was friendly and greeted us with a happy smile. Room was clean, beds adequate, and was typically furnished like other Best Western’s. Heater was quiet. Unsure what the ‘plus’ in the hotel’s name means; it looked like a regular humdrum Best Western to us. A popular breakfast place is right across the street. Entrance to the lobby is a little strange; go through glass doors then turn right. Could stay here again if we happen to be in the area and again got a cheap price. It’s an average hotel but given the price, was a v. good deal.
What is up with all the reviews by people who only have 1 or 2 posts? Unusual.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IT-Expert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville
0.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Waterville
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Waterville - North
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterville
Hampton Inn Waterville
#1 of 6 in Waterville
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Augusta Civic Center Inn
19.5 mi away
Senator Inn & Spa
Senator Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Augusta
787 reviews
17.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Civic Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel
Address: 375 Main St, Waterville, ME 04901 (Formerly Waterville Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Waterville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Waterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring is upon us, and the Best Western Plus Waterville offers comfortable and convenient accommodations for your Maine getaway. We are a pet friendly hotel, so there’s no need to leave your furry friends behind! This centrally located, Director’s Award-winning hotel is a great stopping point if you are traveling to Bangor, Bar Harbor or the Moosehead Lake region. Enjoy Maine’s splendid crossover weather while Spring skiing, whitewater rafting, hiking, and Maple season! The Belgrade Lakes region is just a short drive away and provides ample activities for the outdoor adventurer. Our 138 guest-room property has been upgraded; check out our new rooms and meeting space! We are sure to meet your needs with refrigerators and microwaves in every room. Free high speed Wifi and HD TVs will bring you one step closer to feeling like you’re at home. Relax in our indoor, heated, saltwater pool and hot tub, or burn some calories in our fitness center. Our friendly staff will take that extra step to make your feel like this is your home away from home! Now included in the rates is a discounted Hot Breakfast for up to 2 people. That's right; eggs the way you like, bacon or sausage, home fries and coffee! Start your day off at O'Brien's Irish Restaurant and end it at O'Brien's Irish Pub!!! Visiting a loved one at Colby, Thomas or Unity College? Colby is a short 2 miles, Thomas only 5 miles, and Unity College is a mere scenic thirty minute drive from our door. Our central Maine location will be sure to offer comfortable accommodations for wherever your travels take you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waterville
Waterville Holiday Inn
Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing