We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel In Waterville”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Waterville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 15, 2011

My first stay the hotel was like a war zone, but they are almost finished with the upgrades. The room was attractive -- tastefully furnished and decorated -- quite comfortable. Staff were helpful and had good recomendations for local dining. There was a friendly pub room to get a nightcap and watch football. Clean, well kept pool and health facility. I certainly will stay again on my next trip to Waterville. Highly recommended. I come to Colby College on a frequent basis and have stayed at several hotels. This is the best hotel in town.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mrjsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 399 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2011

Has promise....once reservations finish. Reserved on Priceline (sorry, folks, NOT a 3 star hotel until renovations are finished), saw reviews here and called hotel to inquire. Was told renovations almost done, but not to worry, our room was in a finished section. Got to hotel, definitely not a finished room. Bed, bath, furnishings new, but carpet and windows a mess. I guess renovations have no end date because none of the hotel staff postings here put a target date on it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SEATraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

All the doors are wide open that lead to the outside, so anybody can get in. The key cards for my doors does not work, I had to go to the front desk three times to get in my room, there are no free plugs in my room, so I have to move the tables, there is a funny smell in the hallways.

On a good note I was very happy with their fitness center and pool! We will see about breakfast.

I am not going to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

I booked my reservation on Priceline. This was supposed to be a 3 star hotel. The hotel needs to be rated "0" Stars. I know the hotel is undergoing renovation. I could tell it as soon as I pulled off the highway and saw the canvas sign cover and the outside of the building.

The check-in area is okay. The rest is terrible. A reviewer on Priceline noted in June 2011 that the glass in the back door (apparently the onl,y way to get to rooms they give out) was broken. 6 weeks later when I checked in, the glass was still broken.

The hallways stunk. Carpet and hallway was stained. The room was even worse.

Stunk!!!!!! Bed covers, drapery, furniture was severly stained. I pulled back the bedcovers to inspect the sheets, afraid of bugs. Didn't see any but still did feel clean or comfortable. Teh bathroom was just as bad. The television did not work properly. I called the front desk and demanded another room speciffically stating I wanted a clean room. The hotel employee that came ot my room to escort me to another room told me that she inspected 3 rooms before she came to get me. she offered me the cleanest room in the hotel that they had. Was just as bad. I pulled bacdk the bed covers and she asked my whay and I told her I was looking for bedbugs. Surprisingly I did not find any bedbugs or bring home any bed bugs.

I can sum this up saying that I have stayed in flop houses in New York City as a youth that were not this bad.

STAY AWAY!

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kspaulding, Manager at Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2011

I wanted to take a moment to thank you for your feedback from your recent stay here at The Waterville Grand Hotel. I am sorry your stay wasn't great! As I have stated in other review responses and it is no big secret we are under renovations. We are working hard to get this wrapped up! The carpet in the hallway where you were located is now gone. The carpet crew came back Tuesday to finish installing the hallway carpet on all 3 floors. Your floor was the only one they hadn't torn up. The other floors just had carpet padding. You are right those carpets were stained. The new ones look great! I am sorry that your room wasn't as clean as you expected. This will be taken to housekeeping for further training of the room attendants.

I would like to invite you to come and give us a second chance when our renovations are complete. We truly do appreciate all the feedback we receive. Again, thank you for your time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

First, to start, the only reason this place gets two stars is because of the staff. The hotel staff was so wonderful, nice, friendly. They were great. I was traveling with my dog and they couldn't have been more helpful and kind.

That said, the property is just awful. Grand is a misnomer. I understand they are renovating; that's not the issue. The walls of our hotel room did not meet--while lying in bed you could look at the corner of the room and see outside. I am not kidding. We were in a corner room and the corner did not meet. I could not make that up.

But the staff--from the front desk to the maid service--were really great.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kspaulding, Manager at Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Thank you so much for taking time to write this review and acknowledge our great staff! I want to assure you that the problem you experienced with the room is being taken care of! It was brought to the attention of the Chief Engineer who will be having the problem corrected! I hope that you will return after the renovations are complete and give us a second chance! Have a great day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We had a last minute scenario where family was coming to town. We didn't want them to have to stay in a hotel so we offered our house to family. The Waterville Grand was able to accommodate our last minute request. The room was very clean. The pool was great and the service at the pub was outstanding. We had a wonderful stay there. It felt like a vacation in our own home town. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We just got back from a softball tournament in the area. We stayed at this hotel because it was the only one available.. it was OVER priced..for $159 dollars a night I would expect to have a clean room. My daughter got into her bed to find brown stains all over her comforter and another stain which appeared to be coffee and it did not appear that the comforter had been cleaned. They did promptly replace it but not with much of an apology, the people at the front desk didn't seem to care much about any complaints made..and I know they received quite a few from families who traveled with the team. I understand the place is being renovated but they could have the contractors clean the hallways after they are done working, there were pieces of sheet rock everywhere and other debris that could be fixed with a quick vacuum.I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Softball333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kspaulding, Manager at Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2011

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay here at the Waterville Grand Hotel. We do appreciate all feedback as it is a way to further train our employees. I am pleased that we were able to correct the situation with the comforter. I do apologize for the way you were made to feel. It is of the up most importance that our customer skills are top notch and this provides an opportunity to do some more training. As for the construction debris, I do apologize. It is hard to undergo a major renovation like we are and maintain a sense of cleanliness. There has been debris around. My only hope is that you will come back and give us another chance once the renovations are complete. We are trying to minimize the disruption to the guests as much as possible. The work on the windows is to be completed by the end of next week. Thank you again for your feedback. It truly is appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville
0 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Waterville
281 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterville
Hampton Inn Waterville
#1 of 6 in Waterville
439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Waterville - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Augusta Civic Center Inn
17.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Civic Center
19.5 mi away
Senator Inn & Spa
Senator Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Augusta
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel

Address: 375 Main St, Waterville, ME 04901-4924 (Formerly Waterville Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Waterville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Waterville
Price Range: $96 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring is upon us, and the Best Western Plus Waterville offers comfortable and convenient accommodations for your Maine getaway. We are a pet friendly hotel, so there’s no need to leave your furry friends behind! This centrally located, Director’s Award-winning hotel is a great stopping point if you are traveling to Bangor, Bar Harbor or the Moosehead Lake region. Enjoy Maine’s splendid crossover weather while Spring skiing, whitewater rafting, hiking, and Maple season! The Belgrade Lakes region is just a short drive away and provides ample activities for the outdoor adventurer. Our 138 guest-room property has been upgraded; check out our new rooms and meeting space! We are sure to meet your needs with refrigerators and microwaves in every room. Free high speed Wifi and HD TVs will bring you one step closer to feeling like you’re at home. Relax in our indoor, heated, saltwater pool and hot tub, or burn some calories in our fitness center. Our friendly staff will take that extra step to make your feel like this is your home away from home! Now included in the rates is a discounted Hot Breakfast for up to 2 people. That's right; eggs the way you like, bacon or sausage, home fries and coffee! Start your day off at O'Brien's Irish Restaurant and end it at O'Brien's Irish Pub!!! Visiting a loved one at Colby, Thomas or Unity College? Colby is a short 2 miles, Thomas only 5 miles, and Unity College is a mere scenic thirty minute drive from our door. Our central Maine location will be sure to offer comfortable accommodations for wherever your travels take you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waterville
Waterville Holiday Inn
Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing