We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fireside Inn & Suites
Nearby Hotels
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$205
$155
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canaan Motel(Canaan)
$95
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Towne Motel(Skowhegan)
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveler rating
136
105
33
12
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
136
105
33
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhoopie piesgovernor's restaurantcontinental breakfastgas fireplacebagelsmassage chairoutdoor poolsmall chainhot tubsame buildingadjoining restauranta great stayexecutive suitewine and cheesecancer researchkuerig coffee makerfront desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 289 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was our second and third stay here - on our way to and from Newfoundland. We booked because of the way we were treated on our first stay. They did not disappoint. In all cases, we asked for a room away from lobby/elevator/vending machines and they were happy to comply. They gave us a room with a balcony overlooking where our motorcycle was parked.

Room was a good size and included microwave and fridge. The coffee maker is a Keurig machine that takes only K-cups. It does not allow you to make hot water for tea. If you want tea, you're out of luck. They should replace it with what they had.

Outdoor hot tub was nice.

Governor's Restaurant is on site, so you don't have to go outside for a meal. I have reviewed them separately.

Breakfast is in the lobby and the space is a little cramped. Selection is somewhat limited. For example, the only fruit they have is bananas and there is no bread for toast, though they do have bagels.

Location is not far from the interstate, Wal Mart, fuel and other restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrSQL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thanks for returning. It is nice to read what our returning guests enjoy about the hotel.
Thank you for the comment about the Keurig coffee brewers. They do make an excellent cup of coffee. However, you can use them to heat water for tea. Simply pour in the water and close the cover without puttting in the k-cup. In less than 3 minutes, you will have nice hot water for tea.
Thanks for writing. See you soon.

Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

After experiencing the vile "Best" Western I moved to the Fireside Inn and was very happy. The reception was warm and the room was spacious and clean with a gas fireplace no less. The shower was excellent and the Internet service was lightning fast, as good as any I have experienced. Amenities included refrigerator, micro wave, coffee maker, fine flat screen television and even a massage armchair. No it's not the Carlyle in Manhattan but for Maine it is more than acceptable. Stay here if you are in the Waterville.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emistruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The managment has the right idea, and the staff is hard working, and cleanliness and housekeeping are up to high standards. However, the bones of the facility are old, and no matter how many coats of paint are applied, the age is a drawback. The bathrooms (at least in our room were totally redone in recent years and are excellent. However, the rooms have new heat/AC units with the old units left in place.

Rooms are pretty quiet, even though it is located right at the I-95 off ramp.

The continental breakfast had a reasonable variety- bananas, oranges, assorted pastries, muffins, bagels, oatmeal, cereal, and some prepacked fruit cups. It is attached to the Governor's Restaurant if you want to pay for a fancier breakfast, or use the Starbucks in the strip mall just to the south.

We have stayed at the Waterville Hampton Inn in the past, but their rates are now astronomical, and this was a significantly cheaper option, especially with an Expedia advance purchase option. It is an acceptable choice, and good value for the money, but not elegant or luxurious.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UTtraveler84121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your review. With over 65 reviews, you have "been around". Thank you for your kind words about our housekeeping. We frequently hear, "dated, but clean". We take that as a great complement. Yes the hotel is older, but we pride ourselves in keeping everything spotlessly clean and everything in working order. The old room heaters that you describe will be part of our upgrade to clean natural gas, scheduled for this fall. Each is thermostatically controlled, allowing each guest to determine their comfort level, while saving the environment.
Thank you too for your comparison to the Hampton Inn here in Waterville. They provide a fine product. We're happy with the comparison.
We hope to see you on your future visits to Waterville.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I recently visited this area for a wedding and found this hotel to be good value for the wedding discount. I am unsure of the regular rates. The hotel is conveniently located right off the interstate with a lot of chain stores nearby if you need them. The room was big and most importantly, clean. When I booked my stay, the staff was very friendly. The hotel was extremely busy this weekend due to events in the area and when I called and during check in, they seemed very overwhelmed. The breakfast was good with a lot of different options. I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Staff was very pleasant. The room was very clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. They supplied a hot breakfast with many different selections of hot foods, fruits, yogurts and bakery items. They also had a great supply of Maine home made jams and spreads to purchase! I would definitely go back again! - Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane - Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for the two thumbs up. We're happy that you were pleased with the facilities, service and value. SInce we are a regional chain, we don't have to pay franchise fees to a mega hotel corporation, and we pass those savings on to you.
We hope to see you again soon. Thanks for writing.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews