We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch museum”

Colby College Museum of Art
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Waterville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Boston, MA area
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Top notch museum”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Colby College does have an excellent PR team, as I read so much about the new addition. It now ranks up there as a world class college art museum. The Lunder Family gave the school a great gift. A great place to view American art. Many families were enjoying the museum. We had the very large gallery with Alex Katz paintings all to ourselves. Best of all, free admission.

Food available nearby in a student hall. Restroom facilities at the museum.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank OlderMom60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    17
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Willow Grove, PA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An amazing treasure for the state of Maine”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I had the delightful experience of visiting the Colby College art Museum this summer. It is a gift to all of Maine and to visitors to Maine.
There are many works that were donated to the museum by the Lunder family from their extensive collection of art and sculpture. Included are works by Winslow Homer, Remington, Whistler , Calder, Georgia O'Keefe and ancient Chinese sculpture.
The facility itself is architecturally magnificent. One can spend hours in a realm of art.
Another feature is that the museum is free. What a fantastic offering to those that art ale.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Virginia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Maine
Level Contributor
120 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“From small college art museum to first class destination”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The new addition to the Colby College Museum of Art is going to become a destination for art lovers who visit Maine. I was there on a recent Sunday afternoon and found many visitors and locals wandering through the galleries. As more people discover this gem, I expect attendance to increase. I used the free audio guide occasionally but during this first visit I was more interested in getting an overall impression of the new space and exhibits. I live in Waterville and will definitely be returning either by myself or as a pleasant outing with summer house guests. Thank you to the Lunders whose generosity has made this possible!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PatMaine50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, South Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A real treasure”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We drove over from Rockland and only had a couple of hours but can't wait to go back! What a treasure for the college, the town and the state of Maine! We only had time for the new Lunder wing and - wow! - what a collection! And what a great value.....it's free! I would be there once a week if I lived nearby, instead of in South Carolina! Mainers and art lovers - do not miss this treat!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CamdenVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, ME
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best art museums in the country. The fact that there is no admission fee means all can access the museum!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colby College Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Colby College Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing