We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good - just what you would expect.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Waterville
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Waterville
Certificate of Excellence
Weston, CT
Level Contributor
98 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Very Good - just what you would expect.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

Hampton Inns seems to have succeeded where many chains fail in keeping each of its properties pretty much the same quality. So if you've enjoyed the Hampton Inns you've visited previously, you'll probably like this one too. Nothing special, but clean modern rooms with friendly service. Waterville is also nothing special, but this hotel is located conveniently to the town. The only negative: $15.99 plus tax for an in-room, first-run movie.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wisewoman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn2001, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Waterville, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Hello WiseWomen15,
Thank you so much for your positive review of our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciate the consistency that the Hampton brand has to offer. We love to hear from our guests to understand how to improve our hotel and your feedback is very important to us. My deepest apologizes for the movie expense, we are currently looking into other options that might be available for better movie selection and more affordable for the guest. Currently, the movies are contracted out and price is determined by the provider. I thank you for your business and you taking the time to comment on the hotel. I hope to meet you on your next stay at the Waterville Hampton Inn.
Sincerest Gratitude,
Nikki Desjardins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    133
    22
    9
    1
See reviews for
158
57
26
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

The staff here were very friendly and courteous. Its just an average Hampton Inn which is good in itself, but the folks there just made you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelweeklyforwork2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

I was sidelined in Waterville on my way home for Christmas by a snowstorm. I didn't want to travel to far from the highway as the roads weren't well taken care of and I was not overly familiar with the area after looking at the Econo Lodge and the Budget Host I decided to spend the extra money and stay at the Hampton Inn. Reading the reviews of the other properties I am glad I made the decision that I did.

The woman working at the front desk ( I can't recall her name but she had an English accent) was very nice and helpful. After hearing that I had not planned on needing a room for the evening she offered me toiletries without my requesting them (it really is the little things that make a big difference). Breakfast in the morning was great and the woman working the breakfast room was friendly as well no matter how many times she had to explain to guests how to work the waffle iron.

Working in the travel industry I have come to know that this kind of quality and cleanliness is not nearly as common as it should be. If I am ever in need of a hotel in Waterville again I will stay here without a doubt.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissKitty11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
166 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

I have been traveling to Waterville almost annually for almost forty years. I have stayed in virtually every motel in the city at one time or another, and am sorry to report that they are a uniformly seedy, smelly, and shabby lot. About ten years ago, give or take, Hampton Inn opened a property in this small city in central Maine, and finally staying in Waterville is a pleasure rather than a chore. The accommodations are excellent and spotless, and the staff is consistently friendly and helpful.

The only downside is that, because the Hampton Inn is the only decent motel anywhere in the area, visitors to the city's several colleges and tourists in the area usually stay there, insuring that the place is often booked solid. Reservations can be difficult to get and should be made well in advance.

A few minor quibblers: the breakfast area is not large and sometimes it is impossible to find a free seat. Then, too, Hampton Inn breakfasts, although free, are somewhat lacking in quality and selection. However, there is a Dunkin' Donuts franchise right next door. Also, the tap water in Waterville is pretty heavily chlorinated and very nasty tasting, so avoid the in-room coffee maker unless you bring your own bottled water.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodbuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn2001, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Waterville, responded to this review, November 10, 2010
Hello RDD1,
Thank you so much for your positive review of our hotel. I am pleased that you rated usthe best hotel in Waterville. I am also happy to hear that you used some of the hiking trails and our local restaurants. Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn and I hope I get to meet you on your next stay. Thank you for your business and your feedback means a lot to us.
Happy Holidays,
Nikki
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

Close to Colby College and only 20 minutes away from Augusta, the capital of Maine. Nearby hiking trails. Great italian/steakhouse--Cacciatore's restaurant- 5 minutes away on Kennedy Memorial Drive. Accommodations are clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. Great stopover on way to Canada.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

We stayed at this hotel after driving all day. It was friendly and had us in the room in a flash. The room was spacious, clean and the bed was one of the best we have slept in on this trip. Breakfast was well done.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahockeypuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

I am used to going to the Hampton Inns because they have the most wonderful beds and comfortable rooms. If you're looking for a great night's sleep at the Hampton Inn in Waterville, Maine, do NOT go here! I was expecting the luxurious Cloud 9 bed and high count threaded sheets -- This did not happen. Yes, they refunded my $$$ but how do I get compensation for lost sleep??? By the way, this particular HI charged $35 over the price of all the other HI in proximity!!!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pjrager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville
2.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Waterville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Waterville - North
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterville Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Augusta
Hampton Inn Augusta
#1 of 9 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
17.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Augusta
17.2 mi away
Senator Inn & Spa
Senator Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Augusta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Waterville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Waterville

Property: Hampton Inn Waterville
Address: 425 Kennedy Memorial Drive, Waterville, ME 04901 (Formerly Hampton Inn Watervile / Augusta)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Waterville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Waterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Waterville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Waterville hotel. From our Waterville, Maine hotel you'll discover a rich history and active outdoor activities throughout the region. Stroll through downtown Waterville, visit the Colby College Museum of Art, or catch a show at the Waterville Opera House. Go boating, fishing, hiking or biking at Belgrade Lakes, or play a round of golf at Belgrade Lakes Golf Course. The shopping and history found in Maine's capital city, Augusta, is only 20 minutes away. Stay in touch with friends, family and the office with free high-speed internet access in all guest rooms and throughout the hotel. Wake up each morning to a complimentary hot breakfast buffet or grab an On the Run Breakfast Bag to eat on the go. Help yourself to tea, coffee or hot chocolate any time of the day or night, and surf the internet for free in the business center. The fitness center and indoor swimming pool offer plenty of opportunities to stay active throughout your stay. With meeting rooms holding up to 50 guests, our Waterville, Maine hotel is ideal for your next business meeting or social event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Waterville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Watervile / Augusta Hotel Waterville
Waterville Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Waterville Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing