We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Kept Secret in Western Maine”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Waterford Inne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waterford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waterford Inne
Ranked #2 of 2 Waterford B&B and Inns
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret in Western Maine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have spent many restful and wonderful hours for nearly 30 years at this quiet country inn, noted for its elegance and fine food. The inn is beautifully decorated and reflects the owner's architectural talent and flair for creating unique room decor, often reflecting her travels worldwide. Barbara, the innkeeper, is very charming and will bend over backwards to accomodate her guests. Located near Norway and Paris, the location offers visitors the opportunity to visit locally owned shops and Maine product stores. Be sure to visit Paris Hill, a preserved historic village including a small museum and the beautiful home of Lincoln's first vice president, Hannibal Hamlin....with a view of Mt. Washington in the distance. Known as a fine dining restaurant to the locals, there is nothing like the Waterford Inne for miles around........not to be missed!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SlingerlandsTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
23
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

We were disappointed with our stay at the Waterford Inne. It's in a quiet, pretty location and could have been great, but the innkeeper made us feel unwelcome when we arrived late and had to cancel our dinner reservation. We called several hours in advance, and just as soon as we realized that we couldn't make it because of unexpected traffic, but were still chastised for providing insufficient warning and required to pay for half the meal. If we'd been warned in advance that dinner is a "special" event and that guests must bear cancellation costs, I'd understand it. As it was, we had no idea until we called and then were very surprised - and put off -- by the harsh tone. We considered staying elsewhere, but pushed on through traffic and did stay at the inn. The room was fine, but the walls were thin and sound carried easily from the breakfast room upstairs. Since the bathroom was down the hall and shared among what appeared to be six guestrooms, it was also challenging to fit in a shower in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rosie6191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2011

As a traveler for work, I stayed here hoping for a quiet, restful inn that would balance a stressful workday. I found this and more. The inn is a pleasure to visit- beautifully decorated, with a flair for history and a lovely collection of pewter throughout. The daily drive to and from Norway, ME is only 15 minutes each way- just far enough to offer a feeling of "getting away" to the countryside. Barbara, the innkeeper, is well-traveled and a caring, delightful hostess. She took a personal interest in my food preferences, and made green tea each morning for me. My room was clean and cozy, and I slept better here than I have in many hotels. I look forward to another visit to this area of the state, and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KYJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

Waterford Inne is ultra clean and comfortable and quiet with beautiful grounds, delicious breakfast, strong coffee and a charming hostess. You couldn't do better. Miriam F. New YOrk City

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, MA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

Our family spent a lovely weekend at this quiet and clean B&B in Waterford. Barbara was a terrific cook, and we enjoyed an evening dinner featuring rack of lamb as well as the ample breakfasts. The Irish and English Rooms, with the bathroom down the hall shared by just these two rooms, worked very well for us and was suitably private. While we were the only guests without a dog, the B&B was so spotless that it wasn't an issue at all - no noise from the visiting dogs and no smells or dog hair in the rooms. We hope to return again the next time we visit the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Maine
Level Contributor
176 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

A group of four good friends + dog looking for a comfortable, old-fashioned inn near good skiing over New Year's, we found a lot more at the Waterford Inne. Barbara Vanderzanden, the owner, is a gracious host who is available whenever needed but also respects her guests privacy. She is truly a gourmet cook: We arranged to eat one dinner at the inn and liked it so much that we then scheduled another. The breakfasts included with the accommodations are made to order, filling and delectable. Two other evenings we ate out at excellent places that Barbara recommended to us. The bedrooms are cozy and warm: One had its own fireplace. The bathrooms are spotless. One of our party was originally planning to leave after three nights, but extended her stay because we were having such a good time. When we all left, amidst a heavy snowstorm, Barbara had arranged for the driveway to be plowed. All very special. We plan to return.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2009

My wife and I have been coming here for years. We are hooked. The innkeeper Barbara knows how to run a bed and breakfast. The inn itself could be on a Courier
and Ives painting - nestled on a quiet country lane yet charming and elegant.
We love the Cheasapeak room - complete with fireplace and outdoor porch.
Breakfast is bountiful - dinner is unbelievable !! There is no menu - who needs one?
Barbara always comes through. If you want a truly memorable experience, we urge
you to pack your bags now and enjoy !!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roseboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waterford Inne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Inne

Property: Waterford Inne
Address: 258 Chadbourne Road, Waterford, ME 04088
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Waterford
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, elegant, and warm blend of early furnishings from around the world combined with contemporary comforts. An air of quiet simple elegance pervades the common rooms rich with antiques and art. Enjoy an intimate library with an eclectic collection to appeal to all tastes. The Inne offers uniquely decorated guestrooms with private baths - some rooms with porch or fireplace. Full breakfast included. Fine four course dinner (with special attention to guests' dietary needs and likes) served nightly by reservation. Pet friendly. Near major ski resorts & summer activities such as golfing, swimming, cycling, hiking, also near casino. BYOB. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waterford Inne Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing