We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rivers Edge - a slice of heaven.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Edge Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 1 Breede River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
1 review
“Rivers Edge – a slice of heaven.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

We love visiting Rivers Edge and have just spent I think our 10th weekend visit there. Everything is ready for your arrival, even the fire places are stacked with wood just waiting for your match, and all you have to do is unpack your clothes and food. The cottages are beautifully decorated and for those that can’t do without tv there is full dstv. A place to stay that we highly recommend and everyone should visit at least once in their lifetime. A slice of heaven, a place to visit many, many times.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    56
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
93
74
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We booked the whole place for a small intimate wedding with just family and friends and on top of lots of things going wrong beforehand and the wind howling (most unpleasant for a wedding), the owners came to our rescue with a tent, they were fantastic putting it up outside The Coetzer House. There staff were excellent what we did see of them (its very private and outsiders left everybody alone), although it wouldn't have bothered us. I, myself stayed in the Benjamin House and WOW! what an experience. I cannot describe the view in the early morning with the sun rising - you have to see for yourselves.
Thank you to the owners, brilliant place you have there. Will definitely try and get there for another weekend when we are not exhausted so that we can use all the facilities.
Bride of the Mother on 5th April 2014

Room Tip: If sleeping in lounge, turn Jacuzzi off and outside lights off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scaramango2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed in Coetzer House at River Edge and had an absolutely fantastic time. It's a fairly short drive from Cape Town into nature. We thoroughly enjoyed boating down the river, catching some bass, braai'ing and spending some time in the jacuzzi. It's a fantastic place for dogs so take yours along, it'll be in heaven.

If you're just looking for a place fairly close to home, inexpensive and in nature, then this place is worth the stay.

Room Tip: Coetzer House experiences some noise and swearing from farm worker children swimming in the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelgard74, Owner at River Edge Accommodation, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
We appreciate your review. So glad you and your friends enjoyed the break away as mentioned in "weekend away with friends" review. You experienced the same hick-up with the farm kids that weekend. Be assured that their behaviour were addressed and that this was an isolated occurrence. We respect our guests privacy and no children are allowed to bother guests. Loose roof plate was fixed. Thanks for letting us know about that!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehlingen, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Spent two nights in Joubert house with my friend and we had a fabulous time. The rustic cottage was equipped with everything we needed and more! The views are spectacular and the owner of the farm is friendly and welcoming with a great sense of humour. The scenery, tranquility and fresh air is a soothing balm for the soul. Have just rebooked Joubert house in March and I'm taking my parents with as a treat for them.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLFkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelgard74, Owner at River Edge Accommodation, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thanks for the return booking with us. Hope your parents enjoy River Edge and the surroundings just as much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We spent a relaxing weekend at Coetzer house with friends and their seven month old puppy.

The owner came to see us shortly after we arrived to check everything was in order, which is in line with the friendly and prompt responses received when booking.

The house itself is perfect for families, as there is a room upstairs for kids, which is a hide-away for them to enjoy. The deck/entertainment area looks out onto the farm and river area below and is the perfect spot to relax with a good book or to braai with friends.

If you have a dog, do yourself (and them) a favour and take them along. This place is every dog's dream- from running around exploring safely, to swimming in the river. Our friends'dog was absolutely exhausted by the end of the weekend from all the fun he had had.

My husband caught quite a few bass and so had a successful and enjoyable time fishing. It is quite rare to find somewhere that caters for both the wife and fisherman!

The house can be a bit noisy at night, as the kitchen taps drip and some of the doors rattle, but this is minor is comparison to the advantages of the property. It is fully kitted out with everything you could need, so don't worry about packing anything more than some condiments. Coffee, tea, sugar and milk are provided. There is even a dishwasher, just be careful to put the outpipe out the window. The jacuzzi was clean and pipping hot, ready for when we arrived. It is a great addition to the overall entertainment area.

We had an issue with some farm children playing in the river, but the owner has contacted me and assured me that this will be addressed.

We will definitely be back, as Lategan farm is good value for money!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

What a place! Everyone should experience a break away place like this as often as they can!!! Now my only problem is that I have to find a place that compares to River Edge and that is close enough for us to go to regularly. We spent a blissful 2 days (its not enough!) either floating on the river, sitting in the jacuzzi watching the clouds or lying on the bed gazing up at the mountain. The cottage (Benjamin) is extremely well appointed with everything you need. The location is very private - clothing can be optional except when you actually go onto the river and might see people from the next door cottage there too.
I have recommended River Edge to everyone that I met on the rest of our holiday in the Cape and I am only sorry that I live so far away.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller55KT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelgard74, Owner at River Edge Accommodation, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Real pity you live so far from us....thanks for your lovely review. Much appreciated!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We spent our honeymoon at Coetzer House on the Lategan farm and it was just perfect! Home away from home! Everything you need is here! Very private and no neighbours for km's which is great if you are looking for a peaceful holiday! The house is totally kitted out with everything and has very comfortable bedrooms. Even though it poured with rain and stormed over our honeymoon the holiday was still perfect! We even rowed up the river in the wind and caught some fish which was great! We will definitely be back and I can highly recommend this accommodation to everyone! just beautiful! Charlie and Taryn, Cape Town

Room Tip: Coetzer house was immaculate and perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelgard74, Owner at River Edge Accommodation, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
An honour to have you as our guests on the farm on your honeymoon. May you be in love and happy forever. Thanks for your lovely review. Hope you'll be back with each anniversary!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Breede River
17.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland
2.6 mi away
Seven Oaks Vineyard Cottages
Seven Oaks Vineyard Cottages
#1 of 1 in Breede River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
19.2 mi away
Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Rawsonville House
Rawsonville House
#3 of 6 in Rawsonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
16.6 mi away
Reflections Guest Farm
Reflections Guest Farm
#5 of 19 in Tulbagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
23.0 mi away
Buffalo Drift
Buffalo Drift
#7 of 19 in Tulbagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Edge Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Edge Accommodation

Property: River Edge Accommodation
Address: | Breede River, Breede River 6858, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Breede River
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Breede River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your River Edge Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing