We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“river edge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Edge Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 1 Breede River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Just came back from river edge, and it was a fantastic experience.
We go looking for relaxing out of town getaways quite often, and this was one of the best. Even though it is a working farm you still get that wild mountainess away feeling. Also, unlike other places, it really does look like the photos on the website.
The hot tub takes longer than you think to heat up, so just speak to the owners so you know what to expect.
If you have any questions, the owners are quick to respond and help.
I am looking forward to going back
Great hot tub, perfect fire place, and super comfy couches and bed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natts123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelgard74, Manager at River Edge Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thanks for your review. Yes unfortunately Jacuzzis take a while to heat up. We clean the tubs the morning prior to our guests arrival and start them as soon as they are filled. This take at least a few hours. Fresh mountain spring water!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 266 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

The perfect place for a special occasion... with the river on your doorstep, surrounded by mountains and vineyards, River Edge Accommodation truly is unique. Whether you are a city slicker looking for some much needed R&R or just a romantic break away - River Edge will always be my first choice...we have stayed here more than once and the idea of staying on a working wine-farm offers a special charm. We have already booked our cottage for New Year 2014. We can't wait! If you are looking for room service and air-conditioning this is not the place for you, try Sandton! We have stayed in all the cottages except Coetzer House, each cottage offers its own look and feel. My favourite spot is the sunken Jacuzzi on the rustic wooden deck overlooking the river, watching the sun go down with a roaring fire in the background! What more do you need. We try not to turn the TV on, but if you must, the cottages offer TV's and DSTV for those TV addicts who need their fix for the day. We play games, go for walks, swim in the river, make use of the river boats or just spend some quality family time together. After 2 days on the river you feel like you have been on holiday for a week, BLISS! We will see you soon.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment! Great family get-away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liezelkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelgard74, Owner at River Edge Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thanks for reviewing River Edge, Benjamin house. It was a pleasure having you as our guests on the farm. We appreciate the fact that you left the house squeaky clean!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

A story book picture - this is the way to describe River Edge.

Far away on the gravel road you spot the little stone cottage. As you get closer you start to fall in love with this little "Hansel & Gretel" house.

We stayed in the Benjamin cottage. A lovely cottage with luxuries. We made use of the fire place every night and the Jacuzzi was a great special treat.

It is so beautiful with amazing surroundings. We really had a great time relaxing, spending quality time and just enjoying every moment.

The hiking trail was breathtaking with beautiful views of the Breede River. The canoe was an exciting experience on the river.

A tip... the birds in the morning are your wake up call to start the day.

We stayed for two nights and wished that we have had booked another night.

We will definitely come again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelgard74, Owner at River Edge Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thanks for your review. The area are planning a hiking trail. Will post info as soon as it is available from the Tourism Office.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We decided to get out of the city as a family for the school holidays. We had heard from friends of these lovely "shabby-chic" stone cottages with decks reaching to the river below and only 1.5hrs drive from Cape Town. Our time spent on the farm at River Edge was the best 4 days we've had in a long time! Even though it was winter, we had great weather. The kids were outdoors all day even though our cottage had DSTV. We had our own canoe and little rowing boat, we hiked to a picnic spot next to a mountain stream, did some wine tasting at the neighbouring wine cellars and even soaked in our jaccuzi :). We appreciated all the small touches of luxury while also having all nature has to offer literally on our door step. We'll definitely take "time-out" in the Breede River again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LieselMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelgard74, Owner at River Edge Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Reviewing Jan Albert house is certainly helpful to potential guests. Thanks for that!! Looking forward to having you as our guests again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

An amazing getaway! What a lovely experience. The tranquillity of the river, the fireplace, luxury and comfort- made it all very special! A book, good laughter and lots of wine - complimented the surroundings. The service was excellent. Thanx. See soon!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelgard74, Owner at River Edge Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write this complementing review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and stayed at River Edge in the Benjamin cottage for 3 nights (long weekend) recently.
Being right on the banks of the Breede River the setting of the cottage is beautiful. The cottage was clean, tastefully decorated and well equipped.
However we encountered a number of maintenance issues related to the cottage. Upon our arrival we found that rain water had pooled in the braai area, this seem to be due to insufficient drainage. We had planned to braai for lunch that day, but were unable to do so. Someone later came and drilled a whole in the braai to help drain the water away, but that took some time and by day three the braai was still not completely dry.
There was a leak in the roof which resulted in water dripping onto the floor in the lounge. Additionally water was seeping through one of the walls in the lounge leaving the wallpaper wet in several places. The kitchen sink also leaked. The water pressure in the shower was faulty to the point that I found it impossible to use the shower i.e. the water was either scorching hot or ice cold and after a few minutes the water flow reduced to a mere trickle. The hot water tap fitting on the bath was completely loose and swivelled. Some of the jets in the Jacuzzi did not work.
On the last night the electricity in the cottage tripped continuously and it was only after we switched off all the appliances that the power was restored. I have to say that it wasn't nice going to bed without the warmth of the electric blanket on a cold evening such as that one. We requested a later check-out time from the farm manager, but he simply did not reply to our sms! After the weekend I wrote to the owner to make her aware of the issues we experienced. She described the issues as "small problems" Individually it may seems small, but accumulatively it is very annoying and uncomfortable, especially considering that the cottages are marketed as "luxurious" The owner suggested that maybe it is a better idea to visit River Edge in summer...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gillian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelgard74, Owner at River Edge Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write this review...WATER and ESKOM are the challenges on a working wine farm just as it is for city folks. We discovered that a faulty breaker caused the power problem and that we had a burst water pipe. Hence the reason for the poor water pressure. A pity we were not informed immediately so that we could have responded to the inconvenient situation. Unfortunately the guests arrived during (rare) extreme weather conditions. Howling winds gusting water down the chimney and water leaks where there normally won't be any! Out of our control. Coenie tried to fix the water collected, in the outside braai area by drilling holes for the water to drain. (in that weather) Sorry, we tried our best under the circumstances. Our apologies for your bad experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hi Edelgard,

I just wanted to say a BIG Thank you for our wonderful holiday at Willem Hendrik House!

The last place we went to on holiday was an absolute nightmare - the place was nothing like the website advertised, and was dirty & disgusting, so we were a bit apprehensive about going somewhere we hadn't seen before again - but I must say we were so happy to see that everything was absolutely perfect, and in fact better than we had imagined it to be! You really live in a beautiful piece of paradise, and the house and facilities are so beautifully maintained. Plus you really do think of everything to make your guests stay so comfortable and relaxing!

We'll definitely come back again asap!!

Thanks again,
Janie

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelgard74, Owner at River Edge Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thanks for the lovely review. We would love to have you as our guests on the farm again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to River Edge Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Edge Accommodation

Address: | Breede River, Breede River, Witzenberg Municipality 6858, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Wolseley > Breede River
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Breede River
Price Range: $98 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your River Edge Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing