We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very unfriendly wait staff!”
Review of Narrows Tavern

Narrows Tavern
Ranked #4 of 25 Restaurants in Waldoboro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very unfriendly wait staff!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The two women working gave me no notice until I spoke up while sitting at the bar. Granted it was busy, but still....Bruchetta was farily good, however.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TG192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    40
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jenkintown
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Waldoboro was just a stopping point for us on our way elsewhere and we went to the Tavern on a recommendation from our B and B. Very casual,very homey. The haddock used in our fish and chips was the Best we have ever had! I would detour off of Rte. 1 to have it again next year.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nanaglor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
349 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Beer and coffee, chips and nachos!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Don't ask for lemonade with sweetener, get real tavern food here from the friendly wait person and admire the old maps, paintings and other stuff hanging about.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TolerantTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The "Go To" Waldoboro Pub”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Narrows Tavern serves a rotating selection of Maine crafted beers as well as their own brew. This local watering hole hosts local fishermen as well as summer residents in an intimate homey pub setting. On Tuesday nights a band of local musicians ,The Rusty Hinges plays a variety of tunes from folk to blues,and you might even recognize a shanty you can sing along to. One night we joined older summer folk in their Izods and madras sipping wine at one table to clammers in muddy boots at the bar in a rousing sing along to American Pie! The food is at least 4 stars! Fish & Chips is a big serving and fries are hand cut. For a lighter summer meal enjoy the spinach,goat cheese,red onion and ginger clementine dressing with grilled chicken on top. Ruebens and burgers are top notch and the kitchen stays open later than the other local eateries. We usually catch a meal and a brew after a full day of mowing our property!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank demitasse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A downtown staple”
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere is fantastic. Great art and brick bring a real englisg pub feel to waldoboro.
The food is consistantly delicious and the staff super friendly and knowledgable.
Try the desserts made by the village bakery a few doors down!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steven h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Narrows Tavern also viewed

 
Waldoboro, Mid Coast Maine
Waldoboro, Mid Coast Maine
 
Waldoboro, Mid Coast Maine
Waldoboro, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Narrows Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing