We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but could be better”
Review of Blue Skye Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waldoboro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Skye Farm
Ranked #2 of 6 Waldoboro B&B and Inns
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice but could be better”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Great old colonial house off the beaten path. Located very close to the rural road that ensures you would hear every car go by if you have a front room. The doors to the front of the house, our bathroom and our shower stuck so badly that they could not be closed completely. Seems that Jan, the very nice owner, would invest in these minor but irritating repairs. Not being able to close the front door is a bit disconcerting! The breakfast was very good, prepared by Jan herself. Fresh berries, muesli, French toast that is beyond the ordinary, and great tasting sausage. Be aware that Jan would like payment in cash or check.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank viarueda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janMaine, Owner at Blue Skye Farm, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
My Californian guest was welcomed during a spell of most unusual Maine weather. Very hot, followed by very wet weather combined to shrink and then swell the wooden doors, many of the interior ones being original to the house. Anyone thinking of staying in a 1774 wooden New England home which advertises itself as offering a taste of a long ago world should expect just that. My guest was a late booking, which indicates to me that a hotel more to his taste was not available and he found himself instead at Blue Skye. Had he reserved ahead or perused my website he would have been well aware of our preference, along with most small inns, for payment by check or cash. We graciously accept credit cards when proffered. Blue Skye is old. Its walls are crooked. Weather depending, the doors don't fit and the floorboards creak. These are quirks to be enjoyed, not repaired.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
33
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Lovely old house with shiny painted floors, beautifully and simply decorated, bathed in light. The perfect retreat on gorgeous grounds and conveniently located to all the mid-coast villages. We stayed in the l-shaped attic room which was enchanting, especially the sleeping loft with it's tiny window and accompanying frog chorus. Perfect for the kid or kid at heart. We slept more peacefully here than anywhere we could recall ever sleeping. Innkeeper Jan is delightful and accommodating. Will definitely return if we ever get the chance!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank EJM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth Port
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Have been going there for years, often more than once a year. Simple and restful decor, comfortable beds, delicious breakfasts, and all in a great Midcoast location. We have got to know Jan, the innkeeper, over the years, and always look forward to visiting with her during our stays. This is one of the best, if not the best, of the many B&Bs we have stayed at, not only in Maine, but coast to coast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WLPYP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Blue Skye Farm once or twice a summer for the past nine years, usually in the same room (Upper South). The house is a lovely hip-roof clapboard Federal furnished simply but comfortably, and with not a single straw hat, doll, or teddy bear in sight. Beds are extremely comfortable, combining traditional linens with occasional eclectic touches. In fact, overall lack of sentimentality in the house's decor is probably what we most appreciate, as we've been to many New England B&Bs where we've found the interiors to be a bit "sweet." Aside from the house, we particularly enjoy visiting with Jan, owner/cook/decorator, and possessor of a wonderfully wry sense of humor.
We look forward to our breakfasts at Blue Skye. There is always a choice of juice, fresh-baked breads, berries in season, and a tasty granola whose recipe Jan has shared with me. Besides these items, there'll be a hot entreé, sweet or savory, always delicious. Breakfast is served at a table seating eight, though since we are up early, many times we're alone. (My husband and I think we prefer this, but then, often wind up meeting someone interesting with whom to share travel experiences in the area, so really, it's a win-win setup.)
If you'd like to spend time in a lovely old house situated slightly off the beaten track, surrounded by meadows and marshes, if you prefer comfort, simplicity, and welcoming hosts, Blue Skye Farm is your best choice.

Room Tip: We prefer Upper South for its fireplace and extra space to spread out, but have stayed in Upper Nort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCexch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We enjoyed our four night stay over the 4th of July weekend. Blue Skye Farm is a great location for touring the area - Booth Bay Harbor, Bath, Rockport, and Camden. The Inn is casual and we appreciated being able to use the kitchen to make our dinner. Breakfasts were fantastic and hearty! We spent our evenings reading on the 3 season porch, enjoying our pie from Moody's! My only recommendation to make things better is to make the coffee stronger!

Room Tip: Even the rooms where you have to walk across the hall to the bathroom are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Came there by chance after visiting the Olsen House. Captivated by the charm of the softly lit entrance, we felt at instant ease. Expect Extra-ordinary accommodations, Idyllic grounds and a delicious breakfast. Blue Skye Farm is a wonderful place to return to after a day exploring the nearby peninsula, to unwind in the reading room with a thoughtful selection of tea. It goes without saying, Jan and Peter are incredible hosts.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlissaTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I have stayed twice at the Blue Skye Farm for short getaway weekends in the off season. Because we live 4 hours away, both times we have arrived late, after the innkeepers retired for the evening. Both times, we have found notes welcoming us, the first time providing directions to our room, and the second time stating "welcome back, you know where your room is!" Both times we have stayed in Upper South by choice. I love this room with its four poster bed and fireplace, and in fact I loved everything about this beautifully maintained and furnished house. On both occasions, we have also arrived to lovely fires, as if the innkeepers had just stepped out! (In fact, they have; the innkeepers live in a separate house just behind the main house.)

Upper South has a bathroom down the hallway, although the bathroom is private, not shared. As the other rooms have not been occupied when we have been there, we have felt very comfortable with this arrangement.

This is the only B&B where we have stayed that invites guests to have full use of the kitchen, so although there are no restaurants in the immediate neighborhood, guests can make dinner and eat at the house, as if it were their own! We have eaten out when at Blue Skye, however, as it was a getaway, and Jan has been very helpful in suggesting nearly restaurants.

The house is located fairly close to the road, but above the road, and we were never bothered by traffic. The grounds are clearly attractive and well maintained, although we have visited in the season before the flowers bloom. We were able to take an enjoyable hike up into the woods behind the house on one trip.

We would be regulars if we didn't live so far away! The off season specials provide excellent value. Jan and Peter have created a welcoming and comfortable B&B in a beautiful (and quiet in the off season!) part of the Maine coast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roeburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waldoboro
17.3 mi away
Bradley Inn
Bradley Inn
#1 of 3 in New Harbor
147 reviews
10.1 mi away
Newcastle Inn
Newcastle Inn
#1 of 4 in Newcastle
116 reviews
9.4 mi away
Craignair Inn at Clark Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Le Vatout Bed and Breakfast
12.1 mi away
HawksHouse Bed & Breakfast
18.9 mi away
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
#1 of 1 in Wiscasset
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Skye Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Skye Farm

Property: Blue Skye Farm
Address: 1708 Friendship Rd, Waldoboro, ME 04572-6322
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Waldoboro
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Waldoboro
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean, rivers, lakes and ponds; woods, beaches, lighthouses and national parks; art galleries, museums, antique shops and auctions, fine restaurants and lobster shacks - all of these are within half an hour of our historic 18th century house. Take an evening cruise, go kayaking, hike, birdwatch or just stay home in front of the fire or watch the fireflies and stars from the candlelit screened porch. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Skye Farm Waldoboro, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing