We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fun place to eat”
Review of Moody's Diner

Moody's Diner
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Waldoboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Garland, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“What a fun place to eat”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have eaten here many times on our Maine vacations but breakfast is still our favorite meal. The diner itself is like stepping back in time--built like the diners of the past. The Cinnamon rolls are unbelievable. We continue to be Moody's fans and always enjoy a trip to the gift shop as well.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    193
    103
    28
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Heavenly”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I made a special side trip to Moody's while in Maine, and, as usual it didn't disappoint. Although I am a vegetarian, the divine smell of the deep fried clams nearly made me break 20 years of meat-free eating. I stuck with grilled cheese, though, and it came oozing cheddar and hot. DO NOT leave Moody's without having the biscuits; those biscuits are what they serve in heaven.

The unpretentious atmosphere and the warm, friendly wait-staff round out the picture and make Moody's a must-do in Maine.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lioncloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Love Moody's”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Moody's reminds me of diners I went to as a child in the 60's. I don't think they've remodeled since then either - which is fine by me. If it ain't broke... The pie was amazing, the food was great, and the service was good. The folks weren't especially friendly, but the service was adequate. We eat here every time (sometimes more than once) we come to Maine! Got to try it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Local Folks and World Travelers Eat at Moody's”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We are regulars at Moody's. The food is as close to home cooking as you can get and there no surprises ......... it's always good. I love the chowders with a yeast roll !

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank 61Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, Maine, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Northern Exposure”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Moody's has long been a Maine stay, but is not as good today as it was a couple of years ago. Think that they are happy to be living off their repetition from the family's past vice working to take their restaurant to the next level. Service was good. Have ate at this place several times over the past 10 years, but they need to put their management enthusiasm back up to a high level.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wizard1849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moody's Diner also viewed

Waldoboro, Mid Coast Maine
 
Waldoboro, Mid Coast Maine
Waldoboro, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Moody's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing