We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Active while Relaxing”
Review of Tidewater Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vinalhaven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tidewater Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vinalhaven
Reviewed January 9, 2011

The tidewater motel was fantastic. My wife and I went away for our anniversary here and it was incredibly relaxing. The room was very clean. We were greeted with a happy anniversary card that was signed by the entire staff, a bottle of wine and fresh flowers. The owner was very nice and actually drove us himself to a beautiful kayak spot. The view from the room was amazing! The sound of the rushing tide helps you have one of the best night sleep of your life. For the view and rushing tide alone the stay is worth the price. The bathrooms are small and so are the rooms but the reason for staying here is the decks. Off all the rooms are decks out to the harbor and they are beautiful. While you could relax, you could also be very active. This is a great place for those who like a nice walks, bike rides, kayaking, hiking, sunsets, and very friendly people. Our stay at the Tidewater was fantastic but the island is what will make us come back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nostalgic825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 91 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2010

postcard views, helpful owners on island,rooms warm and comfortable on cold fall days,you can cook lobsters in your kitchen and watch the boats that caught them come and go...HEAVEN

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saquish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

We fell in love with Tidewater Inn about 6 years ago and this time we were able to stay for 3 nights of wonderful true Maine scenery and hospitality! Hearing the sounds of the rushing tide lulls you to sleep and if the weather is foggy...all the better for relaxation! The island presents fantastic kayaking opportunities with seals, osptey and eagles trailing you. Phil and his staff look out for your every need. He also likes a good wine or beer and does a fantastic job stocking Spirits with good wines and great beers.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BV74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2010

I stayed here three nights in summer and had an end room on the second floor. The room was basic but comfortable. The bathroom was adequate but could use some updating. The balcony was great since the tide goes in and out right below you- the motel serves as the bridge! Warning: I leaned on the balcony to watch the moonlight at 3 am and almost went over into the water. It was not secured!
They rent cars for a day or a few hours. A great way to explore the island. The motel is close to several restaurants and shops and I spent several happy hours in the paperback book exchange. No cell service but there is a pay phone in the parking lot next door. If you are looking for peace and quiet and great views, this is the place. Take binoculars for nature watching. And get up early to watch the lobster boats. The restaurant down the road behind some shops has a great breakfast. A plus: don't bring your car and ask the desk to have someone meet you at the ferry. It's a long walk uphill and I'm mobility challenged. They were great about picking me up and taking me back to the ferry.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carol327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

This isn't a place to come and get yourself pampered. The motel has a few smallish rooms that face out to the harbor and the view is amazing. However, the bathrooms are really tight and the fixtures are out of the 1960's. The rest of the room has been updated in the 21st century and there is now free WiFi for the place. Since this is the only hotel or motel on the island, the prices can be astronomically high in the summer and there is no real push to update the bathrooms or the rooms anymore.

As others have said, there is the Harbor Gawker, which has a log of variety across the street and a couple of other restaurants on the island. Be warned, if you go in late fall or winter, these places are either closed or have limited hours.

If you are looking for a good WiFi connection, get a room close to the office.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DRY_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

The location of the Tidewater is very nice- a very short bike ride or walk to, and from, the Ferry and just at the edge of "town" (i.e., approximately 3-4 restaurants, and one supermarket). The hotel sat upon rushing tides, which were truly extraordinary- nothing that I've ever seen before. Upon arrival, we entered an office, with nobody to greet us, provide us with information (e.g., maps, places to see, where to park our bikes), or show us/direct us to our room. Our room key, merely, sat upon a slip of paper (with our name on the top). There was, however, a note indicating that if any questions/concerns arose, to call the owner on his cell phone. The room, itself, was VERY basic but had a spectacular view of the water. In it was a comfortable bed, analog clock, small refridgerator, and an attached bathroom (with less than five sheets of toilet paper). In a small drawer, we found a hairdryer that didnt work. We only spent one night in Vinalhaven and did have an amazing time there- swimming in the quarries, hiking, and biking. The Tidewater, however, leaves ALOT to be desired.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank epoissant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

We went to Vinalhaven for the first time and stayed at this Motel. In a word--disappointing. The website makes the place look relatively up-to-date and pleasant. Here's the good-- the views ARE nice and the place is clean. Here's the bad-- if you like clean, but cramped 1960's bathrooms and an uncomfortable bed, you'll love this place. The exterior is shabby, there are no hotel "common areas" to speak of. To get to our room, we walked under an exterior stairway and then through a cramped, dark exterior hallway (not the most pleasant approach). Also, we found the staff rather unfriendly. All this for $200 a night? No thank you. Clean only goes so far.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silver028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vinalhaven
14.1 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
139 reviews
16 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
396 reviews
17.1 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#2 of 10 in Rockport
1,396 reviews
13.3 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
19.2 mi away
Point Lookout
Point Lookout
#1 of 1 in Northport
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tidewater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidewater Motel

Address: 15 Main St, P.O. Box 546, Vinalhaven, ME 04863-3920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Vinalhaven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vinalhaven
Price Range: $100 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tidewater Motel is built on a bridge separating Carver's Harbor to the south from Carver's Pond, its tidal estuary, to the north. The same rush of ocean water coming and going right under your harborside room once powered a blacksmith shop and grist mill on the site. Few views can equal those at the Tidewater and few places are as relaxing; the ebb and flow is nature's own sedative. Still, the world's most productive lobster fleet, anchored right outside your window, gets an early start, so you may not want to sleep in. Open year-round, the Tidewater is the island's only motel. If you want to be closer to the water, you'll have to get wet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tidewater Hotel Vinalhaven
Tidewater Motel Vinalhaven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing