We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at Lathones
Ranked #1 of 1 Lathones B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014

If I hadn't had a booking I would have driven past without a second glance. That would have been a big mistake. The unassuming exterior from the roadside is very misleading. The staff are first class, the room has the most comfortable hotel bed ever, and the food is great at both breakfast and dinner. Staff made sure all or needs are met (we're still here as I write), and are friendly and welcoming. With a last minute booking and without high expectations, we've landed in clover this time. Will definitely be back

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilmahatfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 536 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed here recently overnight. we were greeted by the Ast Manager, very nice, excellent service, so far so good. We were shown to the room by the manager, again very impressed with our room, great views, large bathroom and very clean, if I was to be picky, there was a hole in the duvet cover and the sheet, but the beds were very comfortable and clean. Could have done with a larger TV.

So we were looking forward to dinner, as so far all very good. .Nice lounge area with log fire.
So to the down side. We ordered a steak and chicken. My husband had to take out a lump of steak out of his mouth as it was impossible to chew. My chicken was very dry. We mentioned this to the Ast. Manager, his attitude totally changed. I told him that I would discuss this later as I did not want any other customers overhearing. he took the food away and came back stating abruptly that the chef wanted to know now what was wrong.
The manager then came across and asked what we wanted him to do about this, I thought this was a no brainer myself. He asked if we wanted our drinks take off our bill. We refused this as I said that we had enjoyed the drinks and were willing to pay for them. he then left. the next day he was not available and I noted that we had been charged for the meals the assistant manager came into the reception and promptly turned away.
I had no alternative but to pay the bill and leave a message for the manager. I was informed he would phone the next day, NO PHONE CALL. I phoned back and again I was told the same thing, I even left my e-mail, 5 days later and further phone calls NOTHING. Very poor customer service, I would not return

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Royalnavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We have just returned from the Inn at Lathones overnight Valentines dinner package. The room in the coachman's building was lovely with a huge shower room. The Valentines dinner was a great success. The reception and dining room staff were friendly and attentive .The seven course dinner was delicious and we were not rushed once throughout the whole evening. The Inn is a bit far out from St Andrews. A wee mini bus would make it more appealing for getting in and out to town for guests.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank mrsmc91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Having been here before for afternoon tea and it being one of the best around, my friend and I decided to book up for an afternoon tea birthday treat. Never again!!! Unless I am living on another planet, afternoon tea generally comes with a small selection of sandwich fingers, scones, and a selection of little cakes - be it cream meringue, macaroons, shortbread, etc. Not here!! We had to order A sandwich which came before the cakes......then arrived our "treats"! On the plate were 2 scones (which I must admit were lovely), 2 slices of carrot cake (with no frosting), an almond sponge (which was tasteless), 2 slices of date loaf and a couple of bits of shortbread. NOT what we expected having been here previously for the same thing!!! To say we were disappointed is an understatement! The staff were friendly, however a bit TOO attentive as our waitress kept interrupting our conversation - but better that than shoddy service nonetheless! However, after this experience, I will most certainly not be back again I'm afraid as it is definitely not the place it used to be.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 588mumee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Had a lovely weekend stay at the Inn recently and must admit, it is the staff that make this place :)) everyone was friendly and very helpful!
I was taken unwell just before I arrived, but everyone at the Inn did their very best to make sure I was comfortable. Which I was :) My room was spacious, clean and private...and the food being served in the restaurant looked wonderful, albeit my stomach was having none of it! haha.

Overall, I would stay here again absolutely! Big thanks to all at The Inn at Lathones! :)x

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinster_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Booked 2 days prior to arrival and was allocated the smallest room we have ever stayed in. We've been around the world once but found this place a real find. The exterior of the Inn does not bare the hallmarks of a welcoming cosy abode, don't be fooled. Yes, a weeks worth of a painting contractor would absolutely transfrom first impressions. The welcoming staff were excellent and helpful on local knowledge. Our room, was small, room 6, but made up for in comfort, amenities and warmth. There was more storage facilities there than most of the upmarket European hotel rooms. Flat screen tv and an amazingly comfortable bed with 5* linen. The bedroom windows should be modernised. Bar and restaurant very nice and relaxing, bar prices not ridiculous and food prices a steal for the quantity and quality given. Yes the wine list is a bit high in price but they have some serious wines on their list. One thing that caught our attention was the radio being played in the bar area and you could faintly hear it at your meal. Surely background realaxing music is better than hearing a road traffic report or a disaster occuring in some land far away. We go away to escape, not to listen to reality.

Room Tip: All rooms are a gem, you get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paris69-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed at the Inn on a Saturday night just to get away from it all after Christmas. We stayed in a deluxe room which was excellent with plenty of space. We ate our evening meal in the restaurant which was very atmospheric and the food was excellent. Breakfast was just as good. The only slight down side was the price of a large glass of sauvignon blanc in the bar. Whilst they may just about get away with this at the likes of Gleneagles at £8.00 ( no not a typo) it was a bit steep . Having said all that it was a great break and I would stay again though next time I think I'll take my own bottle. Oh forgot to mention all the staff are really great and a wee problem with my bill was sorted without any fuss so well done.

Room Tip: No 21 was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmcenaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lathones
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St. Andrews
408 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,413 reviews
5.4 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,218 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
539 reviews
5.4 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Lathones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Lathones

Address: Lathones, Lathones, St. Andrews KY9 1JE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews > Lathones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lathones
Price Range: $62 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Lathones 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th Century Coaching Inn that has a name for being eclectic. It has won awards for service, great food, wine list, best small music venue in Britain, best small golfing hotel in Scotland, amongst many more. The Bedrooms are very modern in complete contrast to the age of the main house. The food is all locally sourced and has a modern European edge to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Lathones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Lathones Hotel St. Andrews
Inn Lathones

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing