We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Lathones

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at Lathones
Ranked #1 of 1 Lathones B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paisley
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

I had purchased this through a deal and to start off wih I have been really disappointed with previous deals,via various sites.But not with this.to start off due to a few change of personal
circumstances I had to change my dates,this was not a problem for the team there and I really do need to mention Carlie,Joslin but a very extra special Thank You to Rona,who were exceptional in dealing with recent personal events in my life.Even to giving me a free upgrade to room 19,which was amazing.Lovely sunrise views over a rolling landscape was just the retreat I was needing and the extremely spacious room and jacuzzi bath did not dissappoint.Also for the first time in the past few weeks,I got a good nights sleep and managed to relax in the most comfortable bed.

I finish my review with a rave about the food,I love to eat and appreciate great food and this surpassed my excepections.The food was fantastic and the breakfasts did not let down the supberb cooking skills of the Chefs in the kitchen,I also would like to mention Elsbeth who's service and people;s skills were also amazing.

I will definetly be back,to find a place like this in an area where I love,with the staff and service and lets not forget the food is a RARE GEM!.Just Amazing and a must book in anyone's bucket list of must DO'S!

Room Tip: Room 19 with outside decked area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura1210Paisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickW27, Owner at The Inn at Lathones, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Hi Laura
we are all delighted you managed to take the break and relax a little. Look forward to welcoming back
best wishes
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    154
    55
    29
    17
See reviews for
80
268
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

we spent 2 nights here (just back today) we were in room 1 of the smithys, room was very basic but spotless, only downside was the old fashioned television on a stand on the floor which you cant see when lying in bed, the food was outstanding, staff were lovely too, overall we had an excellent time and would recommend the hotel
we had the groupon voucher which was worth every penny and more

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsaykev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickW27, Owner at The Inn at Lathones, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Hi
thanks for taking the time to write a review. The standard room start being redecorated from today and we are adding a few personal items back into the rooms as we start the season so I think you will see a big change all round
thanks for all the lovely comments as always we will make sure these are passed onto the team
Best wishes
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Just back from a lovely, relaxing break on a Groupon deal and what a great deal it was, too.

I defy anyone to say that £119 for 2 nights, with dinner, bed and breakfast of this quality, is anything less than fabulous!

All of the staff and the service were exceptional and the food was outstanding (compliments to the chef). As for the limited food choice, so what! I think some of the moaners have never been to an hotel before! Any time you go to an hotel for dinner, bed and breakfast you are given a table d'hote menu!

Before we arrived I was a bit apprehensive and stressed due to the negative reviews on this site, but all my fears were unfounded. I would thoroughly recommend the Inn at Lathones.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teeny_beany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickW27, Owner at The Inn at Lathones, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Hi
Many thanks for taking the time to write this review. We try and look after all our clients in the same attentive way and I have decided that some people just don't get the point of a special voucher rate. I don't think you could have expressed it better, so a big thanks from all the staff for taking the time to write this review
Best wishes
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

stayed at the Inn at Lathones on 2nd and 3rd of February for our anniversary and found it to be very welcoming and the staff were all first rate. The accomodation was like little terraced bungalows with your own front door from off a small court yard. The room and bathroom was spacious, free view box and tv and a super king bed which was fab. Room 3 was just beside the reception, bar and restaurant , which we ate in on our first night and found it to be excellent. My husband was not well on the first night and next morning meaning we missed breakfast and the staff called us to find out if we were ok and when i said what was happening they could not have done more for us and sent 2 staff members to our door with breakfast- which was 1st class- toast and coffee for myself as i didn't want to leave my husband - so a big thank you from us both for going that extra mile! we were shown the deluxe rooms in the new block which you can upgrade to and these were beautiful and very large - would recommend them. Altogether a lovely time away and would got back to this hotel again

Room Tip: room 3 was near bar, restaurant and reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roslyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickW27, Owner at The Inn at Lathones, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear Roslyn
I just hope your husband is better now? What a shame that it was you anniversary as well. We look forward to welcoming you back
Best wishes
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

Great food and lovely staff but not 4* accomodation. We had a break at Dalmahoy Hotel last year and that truly was 4* - but we paid considerably more. As we were on a Groupon deal no complaints about value but would not have been happy if we had paid the £630 value stated on the voucher. Room was not very warm when we arrived late afternoon on a cold January day but full marks for providing an electric heater to supplement the central heating. However the heating actually went off on the second evening. Staff were quick to deal with the problem and had it sorted by the time we had dinner but not ideal as room cooled down very quickly. Not helped by the draught that whistled through the badly fitting door - you could actually see daylight. Our room (No 3) opened directly onto a courtyard and unfortunately the outside temerature dropped below freezing. Room nicely furnished - modern and high end quality - however found it strange that our "double" was two single beds clipped together (not a problem) but we had two single duvets!!! Bathroom was a bit tired but clean and spacious. Yes, menu was limited but considering what we paid more than happy with the food - quality and presentation were excellent. And staff were wonderful - polite, efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickW27, Owner at The Inn at Lathones, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review, fair comments at the end of the day we have had to cut the cloth to make the voucher fit
Hope we see you again soon
Best wishes
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

Like 1200+ others (according to the owner), we booked a 2-night stay at this pleasant little retreat via Groupon. We were given a very warm welcome and were happy with the accommodation which was clean, comfortable and modernly furnished. Having reviewed the Inn's website in advance, we were anticipating some great food and were left a little disappointed. The quality of the meals themselves was actually very good, but the limited choice available for Groupon guests (only 3 options) and small portion sizes were a real let down. Understandably, the owner has defended previous criticisms by pointing out the superb value of the deal. And he's right, the Groupon deal is still very, very good value. But this misses the point. On our Groupon voucher, it clearly states that the voucher value is £630. By our calculation, the cost of our stay (including food) on the basis of the advertised "normal" prices was no more than £240 (excluding drinks, wine, newspapers totalling approx £70) which represents a huge exaggeration of the actual value being offered. It's simply wrong to only learn this after arrival. By all means, visit this hotel, enjoy the food, but don't expect the Hand-Dived Scallops to start followed by the Trio of Tempura Battered Seafood - they're off-limits for Groupon guests.

Room Tip: 1, 2, 3 etc are nearer the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve-G41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickW27, Owner at The Inn at Lathones, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thanks for writing a review. I do believe you have answered your own questions. Groupon has been a great leaning experience for us all. We are now looking forward to moving forward and offering our clients still great value and even better service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

We booked this inn through the Groupon deal that many people have mentioned in previous reviews. This was our first family break away with our 14 week old baby boy and were just looking for a quiet break away, Lathones totally exceeded our expectations and we had a lovely time.
Our room (no 3) was located off the courtyard, this room was great as it was very quiet and as they were stand alone units you didnt have the annoyance of people walking along the corridor banging doors etc!
The room itself was very spacious considering we had a pram and travel cot in the room as well. Bed was very comfy with a lovely duvet. Bathroom was a little dated but very spacious and clean.
As we were part of a deal we had dinner in the inn both nights. Yes the menu was restricted but you could upgrade to the standard menu if you so wished. We had the bar menu the first night which we both enjoyed, especially the lemon tart with lemon and thyme sorbet. Whilst we enjoyed our bottle of wine we felt the wine list was a little on the expensive side. The restaurant menu on the second night was again restricted and we would have happily eaten from that, but we both opted for the specials as they sounded so good for a supplement of £3 which I thought was so reasonable. My husband loved his pheasant and I loved my trio of seafood.
Breakfast both days was great, the usual buffet style fare plus cooked brekkie - my husband loved the scrambled egg and smoked salmon.
Staff in the inn were lovely and very helpful and friendly throughout our stay.

Ideal location near St Andrews, Crail etc.

Room Tip: If you like a quiet room No3 would be good as its away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lathones
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
10.4 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,934 reviews
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
5.4 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Lathones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Lathones

Property: The Inn at Lathones
Address: Lathones, Lathones, St. Andrews KY9 1JE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews > Lathones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lathones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Lathones 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th Century Coaching Inn that has a name for being eclectic. It has won awards for service, great food, wine list, best small music venue in Britain, best small golfing hotel in Scotland, amongst many more. The Bedrooms are very modern in complete contrast to the age of the main house. The food is all locally sourced and has a modern European edge to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your The Inn at Lathones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Lathones Hotel St. Andrews
Inn Lathones

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing