We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honesty would have been appreciated-overall good”
Review of Akasa BR Hills

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chamarajanagar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Akasa BR Hills
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Honesty would have been appreciated-overall good”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I had been to the Akasa ,in the month of Feb month 2014. Had to book this ,since all the resorts were over-booked. Had booked the deluxe room for Rs 1950. The food ,service,room,etc.,were good for the price they had offered...but...the fake commitments weren't. They had mentioned very clearly in there mail for Hiking,bird-watching,tribal settlement visit...blah..blah..blah...all I could avail of was the soliga dance performance at another resort and the camp-fire.This completely pissed me off and on top of it the safari ride were closed for animal census,which we did not have a clue about.

The geyser was not working,but when informed they provided hot water in buckets. Since, we had a toddler in the group,they very promptly provided us with milk. The service,food everything was awesome,even the room is very well decorated...but the things mentioned were false.

They have an amazing backyard....just go there and relax and listen to the chirping of the birds.

Ratings-
Food:4/5 (loads of varieties both for vegetarians and non-vegetarians)
Service:4/5(very helpful and prompt staff)
Room:4/5(clean and spacious)
Value for money:4/5

Good experience...overall.

Room Tip: We said in the deluxe room...it was good...there is also a dormitory and some other type of room...y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emo_kid1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We were traveling with a baby(2 yrs). So I had to make sure the hotel spcly food is real good. I had a very very nice experience. The tariff is reasonable, but the hospitality is excellent! They made baby food whenever requested for. :) Lovely bonfire. Rooms and bathrooms are clean. Food is good. People are warm.Service is quick. What else do you ask for? Go for it. You will have a really nice experience. :) And last of all Mr. Murali Mohan was very kind to answer all my queries every time. All the best for them. :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ParamitaKarmakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I went to BR Hills post Christmas 2013 and chose this hotel since "the bus stops right outside the hotel". From the very moment I got on to the bus to reaching the hotel safely, my whole experience was completely looked out by the manager who made sure I was comfortable at all times. Absolutely lovely and warm hospitality given by the staff, clean rooms and restrooms, hot water and brilliant food. On request - they cook local cuisines and being a non vegetarian I had delicious Kolegal cuisine (Tribal settlements and local people of BR Hills) of chicken.

On arrival I was taken for wildlife trips, visited tribal settlements spoke to local experts, witnessed tribal performances which I happily joined in and lots of bird watching. For a budget traveler this was fantastic value for money and my entire trip was very very relaxing and peaceful. Their backyard is an excellent reading-all-day and relaxing area and the destination is green, forestry and perfect for those wanting to get away from the city noise, pollution and stress.

I would recommend this place to groups, couples and people traveling alone since I did this trip by myself and yes this was safe, peaceful and absolutely amazing!

Thank you all from Akasa for making my trip so worthwhile and awesome!

Cheers,
Kavya

Room Tip: Choose a room which has a balcony, always helps to have an outdoor area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kavya0687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Our stay at Akasa BR Hills was very good indeed. The room and dormitory was very clean with tastefully decorated furniture. Food supplied was exceedingly tasteful. The staff tended to all requirements well and arranged everything as per itinerary. The tribal dance was memorable.

Mr. Mukund,and Nayak were very cordial and were at your beck and call. We look forward to visit again.

Regards,



S.Raghavan

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank raghavan_s2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We(total two couples) stayed here on 23rd and 24th Nov 2013. We loved this place.
1.It is value for money place ; not as expensive as other jungle lodges.
2. Food was really good ,
3. Rooms were clean
4. Service was excellent
5. backyard was really nice
6. In night we enjoyed bonfire + tribal dance ..so overall this is really nice place to stay in BR hills.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashish_naturelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We traveled to Akasa on the 23rd of November. I had to just make one call and the person answering gave us all the required answers. Questions such as Food, any other on the way spots to visit, itinerary, food availability and drive time.

The stay was very pleasant and the food was very good. Its worth the money and light on your purse too. Hospitality was good.There were a few issues like toiletries being not provided when we checked in and we had to request for a few more of such amenities but all requests were addressed diligently and I was happy with the kind of service we received.

Room Tip: There is not too much of a price difference between the Deluxe and the normal room.If available go f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aniket_nn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed in Akasa Getaways on 2nd and 3rd Nov 2013. We were a big family of 6 adults and 2 kids.We really liked the place and the surrounding
Positives
1.Its a great location, nestled between the forests, this was a great place to un-wind.
2. The backyard of the property is simply amazing, great bonfire site and overlooking the
valley below
3. The guest house responsible Mr Mukund, is very helpful and really tried to make us
comfortable. He also arranged a tribal cultural program for the guests.
4. It is value for money, compared to the expensive jungle lodges
5. The rooms are very clean and food is fresh and decent.
Improvements
1. If the guest house is full with guests, there were some minor issues with food quantity and
food serving timings
2. We took a taxi and our driver also ate in the guest house and they charged for drivers
food. With my experience of other guest houses and home-stays, when we are in large
groups and booking multiple rooms, the driver is given free meals
Some Tips
1. Rangaswamy temple is short walk from the property
2. The forest office where safari is arranged is 18 km from this place and great jungle drive. If
you are interested in safari, there are two 1-1.5 hour trips in the mornings starting 7 AM
and two trips in the evening starting 3:30-4 PM. Be there at-least 30 mins or an hour before.
3. The place is not accessible between 6PM and 6 AM when the forest gates are closed so
plan your travel accordingly.
4. Take a walk to a lotus pond, which is around 2 kms from the property

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe rooms on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ARUP_MUKHERJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chamarajanagar
0.0 mi away
Trivik Chikmagalur
Trivik Chikmagalur
#3 of 16 in Chikamagalur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
6.5 mi away
K Gudi Wilderness Camp
K Gudi Wilderness Camp
#1 of 1 in Yelandur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
15.5 mi away
Raya Resort
Raya Resort
#1 of 1 in Mudukuthore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Jungle Lodges - Bheemeshwari Nature & Adventure Camp
Show Prices

Been to Akasa BR Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akasa BR Hills

Property: Akasa BR Hills
Address: Opposite to PWD Guest House,Temple Road, BR Hills, Chamarajanagar 571441, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Chamarajanagar District > Chamarajanagar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chamarajanagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Akasa BR Hills 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the verdant BR Hills, a short drive away from Bangalore is Akasa, a budget accommodation facility that offers well-appointed rooms with modern attached bathrooms and a roof top restaurant. Akasa offers an exclusive blend of the wild and a hill station at affordable costs… ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing