We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid fare, good beer, unexpected location”
Review of Badger Cafe

Badger Cafe
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Union
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Solid fare, good beer, unexpected location”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We spend a week in Union, Maine every summer and this is our go-to place for Sunday breakfast. Union feels like the middle of nowhere, so I think it's amazing to have a dependable place to have a relaxing family meal. Everything is homemade or sourced locally. They are very accommodating and I might have even caught the cook run over to the nearby grocery store to grab an ingredient he was missing. My daughter wanted a chocolate chip pancake which was not on the menu, but they made it happen for her. This year we stopped in for Friday night dinner as well and weren't disappointed. Salad, quiche, burger, sweet potato fries, beer...all very solid. The place was almost full at 6pm. Very kid-friendly too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paige D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    24
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“very nice spot in an out-of-the-way place”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Found this place with a Yelp search. Cozy restaurant with a homey feel. Owners are cook and waitress. Small bar with a nice selection of local and European beers. They accommodated our party of nine nicely. Many of the selections came with homemade bread. All meals were very good. The kids enjoyed their grilled cheese sandwiches and the adults liked the various soups, salads, and sandwiches. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank larsenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A little hidden treasure”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We tripped over this little hidden gem while roaming the back roads of Union Maine during our recent week long vacation in Midcoast Maine. It is places like this that make Maine the wonderful, friendly place that it is. Service was excellent and attentive as we sat at the little bar for lunch. Beer selection was over the top - hadn't heard of many but the Bartender was helpful in suggesting one that turned out to be excellent. My husband had the Falafel and I had a grilled Chicken sandwich- both were just very fresh and made with TLC - not just your average food here - there is love and care taken in preparing their meals. We will definitely stop here again on one of next adventures in Maine. Thanks Badger Café for your warm welcoming spirit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucky#7Salem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great if you're in Union”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

A little drafty in the winter, but good solid food and friendly staff. Best bet if you're in the area. Great beer selection I'm told.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank camdenrockportfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Maine
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

we went to the badger last night. the service was exceptional. and the food was very good as well. we will definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Badger Cafe also viewed

 
Union, Mid Coast Maine

Been to Badger Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing