We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cute, very friendly”
Review of Open Hearth Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Open Hearth Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Trenton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very cute, very friendly”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We were attending a wedding near Bar Harbor, and finding affordable lodging in that area in July can be challenging. At first we thought we would have to stay nearly an hour away, and then I found the Open Hearth for considerably less money and right across the bridge! We stayed in a lodge room with our 21 year old daughter--we had a king and she had a futon which she said was comfortable. The room was cozy for 3, but more than adequate for our needs, and even had a fridge and microwave. The hosts were very friendly and helpful with directions, etc. The morning muffins were wonderful. The water temp was a bit touchy, so you just have to be careful with that, and the one night we slept with the windows open we did hear the tour planes from down the road buzzing over. Still, I would love to go back and stay in one of the little cabins sometime. Get a blueberry cheesecake muffin if you can!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mspiegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    58
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
44
102
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

This inn is a walk thru time. I had a bedroom cabin. I love places that remind me of the past. One reason why I chose this other than price. Cabin is old but clean. Very shabby chic which I love. A light continental breakfast served every day. Thumbs up on the muffins. Innkeeper very knowledgable and gave me some fantastic tips.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annied8161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Was attracted by the price but pleasantly surprised with all the amenities. Owner/manager was very helpful on how we could best spend our 2 days in Acadia National Park. Further, his advice was dead-on accurate. Continental breakfast was more than ample. Room was very large, bed was top-end with quality pillows. Room was very clean on arrival and properly maintained for night number 2. Only downside to the room was the extreme variation in water temperature: scalding hot one moment and ice cold moments later. Overall, our two nights provided more value than expected. If you are looking for a well priced room within a short drive to Bar Harbor or the national park try this establishment.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReloGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, NH
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

Love this place. Great location just before the island and park. Great place to stay clean comfy cabin. Simple and easy place to be . Outstanding helpful staff and owners . They gave us great ideas for riding routes one better than the other. They really made our trip we saw things would have never seen without their help. The beds were so comfortable I slept better than at home. I recommend this place over any crazy place on the island. Prices are just right very reasonable a great value

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wlhsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenburn Center, Maine, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2012

My boyfriend has been working down by the Harbor since March, painting the new Marina they just built. We're from the Bangor area which isn't that far from Bar Harbor but we wanted to stay close so we didn't have far of a drive the next morning. The lady that checked us in was so nice and very welcoming! Even turned the lights on in our cabin since we arrived at 9pm. We got into the cabin and it was just wonderful! We had an employee/friend of ours stay with us also so we got the cabin with the two rooms with the bathroom in the middle so we had some privacy :) (Cabin 3/4) Felt like I was upta camp, which I love! Airconditioning was amazing, left it on while sleeping but had to shut it off in the middle of the night because it was cold which means...thats one hell of an airconditioner! Beds were so comfortable, slept like a baby, and we actually slept in an hour past our alarm :O... :D.The next morning we got up and had breakfast in the office which was very good, yogurt, muffins, and fresh coffee. Checked out and went straight to the Marina to work. Got a call a couple hours later, from the man at the front desk saying that we left a T-shirt and sweatpants behind and offered to have an employee bring them to us!! (WOW, that exceeded exellent guest service right there! I'm also a front desk clerk at a Marriott in Bangor so I know all about guest service!) But we we're headed back that way to go home so we just picked them up there! Again, very nice hotel and I will definitely stay here in the feature and also recommend it to the guests at my hotel that visit Bar Harbor in the summer :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed in The B&B, Room 2. This is a very old house, yet the upkeep has kept it very nicely appointed. Granted, the doors have some character stickiness, but that pales to the great service, advice, and friendly discussions with the owners. The included breakfast with the B&B's is almost a full breakfast - plenty to fuel your day. The Muffins are beyond description if you rent a room type that includes them.
The location is well worth avoiding the crowds of Bar Harbor, take the right fork after crossing the causeway onto the island and enter the park away from all the crowds, traffic, and PRICE of BH.
There's two lobster pounds easily within smelling distance (the smoke smells great!) and a 1 minute walk.
The hot tub is a great attraction.
The other 2 B&B rooms are also very nice, we'll try those on one of our future trips.
We also went into the Apartments for when we bring family up - definitely on our list for group of 4 or more.
Our hosts were very accommodating to a couple of requests and they will turn on a/c/ open windows/ turn on heat, etc at a specific time while you're out for the day if you request.
Only negative for complainers is you might hear a plane take off of the nearby airport. I heard 2 in 4 days.
If you want to head up to Schoodic also, it'll save you time staying here rather than in BH. Ask Chuck to point out the shortcut (turn right at the "Cheese" house, rt 204). when you go to Schoodic, go on a easterly windy day or when a storm is out at sea. You must visit Raven's Nest, a very short easy walk often missed by newbies. http://storiesfromhome.wordpress.com/2012/04/07/ravens-nest/ Location at: http://books.google.com/books?id=g5YvTZ7CH0UC&pg=PT108&lpg=PT108&dq=raven%27s+nest+schoodic+location&source=bl&ots=s0cloEnLBJ&sig=Fxfo-59RWSoYrHv55d-dBNAMEzA&hl=en&sa=X&ei=I1jWT7XWBsis2gXl-7WUDw&ved=0CFcQ6AEwBA
And once to Schoodic point, walk out onto the rocks, most people will be straight ahead and to the left, turn right and walk towards BH/MDI and stumble upon a very large/interesting sea cave that is easy to access and explore. People and pets have lost their lives at Schoodic point being grabbed by storm waves - do not test your fate if it is stormy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't front either of the 2 roads to lessen traffic noise if you like wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed here for a summer weekend trip to Acadia. It was exactly what we were looking for -- nice place close enough to Acadia but away from the high prices associated with staying in Bar Harbor. The couples who run the place were very nice and helpful. They stayed up to greet us and let us into our rooms for our late-Friday night arrival. Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wes J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trenton
2.7 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
358 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
8.1 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#27 of 41 in Bar Harbor
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Isleview Motel and Cottages
0.9 mi away
Acadia Sunrise Motel
Acadia Sunrise Motel
#1 of 3 in Trenton
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Narrows Too Camping Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Open Hearth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Open Hearth Inn

Property: Open Hearth Inn
Address: 1147 Bar Harbor Rd, Trenton, ME 04605-6019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Trenton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Trenton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Open Hearth Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Open Hearth Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Open Hearth Hotel Trenton
Open Hearth Inn Trenton, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing