We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Welcoming! Guest service, A++!”
Review of Open Hearth Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Open Hearth Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Trenton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glenburn Center, Maine, United States
1 review
“Very Welcoming! Guest service, A++!”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

My boyfriend has been working down by the Harbor since March, painting the new Marina they just built. We're from the Bangor area which isn't that far from Bar Harbor but we wanted to stay close so we didn't have far of a drive the next morning. The lady that checked us in was so nice and very welcoming! Even turned the lights on in our cabin since we arrived at 9pm. We got into the cabin and it was just wonderful! We had an employee/friend of ours stay with us also so we got the cabin with the two rooms with the bathroom in the middle so we had some privacy :) (Cabin 3/4) Felt like I was upta camp, which I love! Airconditioning was amazing, left it on while sleeping but had to shut it off in the middle of the night because it was cold which means...thats one hell of an airconditioner! Beds were so comfortable, slept like a baby, and we actually slept in an hour past our alarm :O... :D.The next morning we got up and had breakfast in the office which was very good, yogurt, muffins, and fresh coffee. Checked out and went straight to the Marina to work. Got a call a couple hours later, from the man at the front desk saying that we left a T-shirt and sweatpants behind and offered to have an employee bring them to us!! (WOW, that exceeded exellent guest service right there! I'm also a front desk clerk at a Marriott in Bangor so I know all about guest service!) But we we're headed back that way to go home so we just picked them up there! Again, very nice hotel and I will definitely stay here in the feature and also recommend it to the guests at my hotel that visit Bar Harbor in the summer :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    52
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
35
91
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed in The B&B, Room 2. This is a very old house, yet the upkeep has kept it very nicely appointed. Granted, the doors have some character stickiness, but that pales to the great service, advice, and friendly discussions with the owners. The included breakfast with the B&B's is almost a full breakfast - plenty to fuel your day. The Muffins are beyond description if you rent a room type that includes them.
The location is well worth avoiding the crowds of Bar Harbor, take the right fork after crossing the causeway onto the island and enter the park away from all the crowds, traffic, and PRICE of BH.
There's two lobster pounds easily within smelling distance (the smoke smells great!) and a 1 minute walk.
The hot tub is a great attraction.
The other 2 B&B rooms are also very nice, we'll try those on one of our future trips.
We also went into the Apartments for when we bring family up - definitely on our list for group of 4 or more.
Our hosts were very accommodating to a couple of requests and they will turn on a/c/ open windows/ turn on heat, etc at a specific time while you're out for the day if you request.
Only negative for complainers is you might hear a plane take off of the nearby airport. I heard 2 in 4 days.
If you want to head up to Schoodic also, it'll save you time staying here rather than in BH. Ask Chuck to point out the shortcut (turn right at the "Cheese" house, rt 204). when you go to Schoodic, go on a easterly windy day or when a storm is out at sea. You must visit Raven's Nest, a very short easy walk often missed by newbies. http://storiesfromhome.wordpress.com/2012/04/07/ravens-nest/ Location at: http://books.google.com/books?id=g5YvTZ7CH0UC&pg=PT108&lpg=PT108&dq=raven%27s+nest+schoodic+location&source=bl&ots=s0cloEnLBJ&sig=Fxfo-59RWSoYrHv55d-dBNAMEzA&hl=en&sa=X&ei=I1jWT7XWBsis2gXl-7WUDw&ved=0CFcQ6AEwBA
And once to Schoodic point, walk out onto the rocks, most people will be straight ahead and to the left, turn right and walk towards BH/MDI and stumble upon a very large/interesting sea cave that is easy to access and explore. People and pets have lost their lives at Schoodic point being grabbed by storm waves - do not test your fate if it is stormy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't front either of the 2 roads to lessen traffic noise if you like wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed here for a summer weekend trip to Acadia. It was exactly what we were looking for -- nice place close enough to Acadia but away from the high prices associated with staying in Bar Harbor. The couples who run the place were very nice and helpful. They stayed up to greet us and let us into our rooms for our late-Friday night arrival. Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wes J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

My sister and I stayed at the Open Hearth on our recent trip to Bar Harbor. We loved the cute little cottages. The only negative thing is that the heater is either on or off...so we were warm and shut it off when we went to bed, but were cold in the morning. It didn't take long to warm the room back up again, though.
Small continental breakfast in the morning with fresh muffins, fruit, and juice. Yummy!!
I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holly3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed in cabin no° 7, which used to be an antique shop some years ago; it is quite large, and the space is very well used, it is in fact divided in 4 areas, a small kitchen area with everything you need to cook, a couch with a coffee table and a flat tv on the wall, a "dining room" area with a table, and a bed. It was quite hot and humid when we were there, so we were quite happy the air conditioning worked perfectly well. The breakfast is ok, and the owners were very kind. My husband had forgotten his jacket because we left in quite a hurry, terrorized that we were of hurricane Irene, and called them to ask if they could kindly send it to us, which they did. It is located right across from 2 great lobster pounds, so you can take your diner home and eat it on your own private picnic table, under a starry sky.
It is at approximately 20 minutes from Bar Harbour.
I expected it to be very noisy at night, since it's practically right on route 1...but I had no problem with my sleep...except once, when the neighbor left at 4 am...he kept the engine running for a good 15 minutes before leaving.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeaBloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zutphen
Level Contributor
66 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Yammie! We loved their muffins. Every morning the owners serve different kind of muffins. About 5 or 6 different taste. Rest of breakfast is economic continental.
We stayed in cabin nr. 1. We liked those nice cozy cottages. You get what you expect.
You havent booked the Hilton!
Everything was in good working order. Double beds. Good firm matrass. Fast free internet!
Even an LCD TV . When its cold outside it gets a bit ccccooold :) in the bathroom.
Inside the cabin you can turn on the heater. Works fine.
Good base to explore the beautiful Acadia NP. This type of accomodation fits when exploring a NP.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We used the Inn as a base to explore Acadia National Park. The location for that is very convenient. We stayed in one of the cottages which was very cute. The owners are very nice and provide good information on hikes, etc. There is a very inviting hot tub for a cool evening. Breakfast consisted of a wonderful variety of fresh homemade muffins. We would recommend staying there and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gnu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trenton
2.7 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
325 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
8.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Acadia Sunrise Motel
Acadia Sunrise Motel
#1 of 3 in Trenton
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Isleview Motel and Cottages
0.2 mi away
Narrows Too Camping Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Open Hearth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Open Hearth Inn

Property: Open Hearth Inn
Address: 1147 Bar Harbor Rd, Trenton, ME 04605-6019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Trenton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Trenton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Open Hearth Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Open Hearth Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Open Hearth Hotel Trenton
Open Hearth Inn Trenton, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing