We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, but clean. Good for a short stay”
Review of Open Hearth Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Open Hearth Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Trenton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2011

When driving up to the Open Hearth Inn, it doesn't seem like a great place to stay. There are small cottages that look like they need a paint job and the decor certainly isn't great, but the inn keepers are friendly, it is close to Bar Harbor, it is clean, and it was pretty cheap. This is definitely bare bones, though. Really small cabin-like room with not many amenities. I didn't sleep well because the bed was hard as a rock, but some people may have a better experience. There's not much of a breakfast-- it is basically just juice boxes and muffins, but we weren't expecting a huge gourmet breakfast, so it was fine with us. We also didn't mind the small room because we didn't spend much time in it at all.

Overall, it's not a bad place to stay, but I wish that we had paid a little bit more to be in the heart of Bar Harbor and in a more comfortable room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vix814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 235 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2011

We were only here for one night. It was very clean and charming. Not very big but we were only sleeping here, so it was ok. The cottages are so cute, they are decorated shabby chic, as I said before, very clean. There is air conditioning, and cute little window boxes with loads of flowers. The only downside is that the bathroom shower is very small. The owners were lovely to deal with and they gave us lots of tips on where to go and eat. In the morning they even had homemade muffins ( blueberry, pear, strawberry cheesecake, white chocolate and more..) that were scrumptious! If I am ever in Maine we will stay again for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mortgageone4mz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We had a lot of rain when we stayed here, so we spent quite a bit of time in our cabin. These cabins are not for spending a lot of time in though. It's ok for a place to sleep, but even the bigger cabins are very small. We spent a lot of time disposing of flying ants and wondering where they came from. On our last night there we realised there were hundreds of them living in the ceiling.

The heater didn't work too well and I'm not sure if they have AC.

However, the owners are very friendly and helpful and Trenton is quite close to Acadia NP, so all in all it's good value.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s1llybunnyrabb1t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We arrived very early to give ourselves enough time to do everything we wanted to do during our trip to the Bar Harbor, Acadia Park region of Maine. The inn keepers welcomed us and spent lots of time and circles on the maps they gave us ,making certain we understood where and when to go to make the best of the fully booked holiday weekend. They were right on the money! The inn itself is right for the money. Lovely well appointed cottages that were both comfortable and private. My partner snores loudly enough to wake the dead so I try to keep to ourselves as much as possible. Make sure you understand and use the free bus system, it really saves on gas and frustration.

Room Tip: Ask for a single cottage for maximum privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildKate34698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

On our way to Acadia Park we drove by the Open Hearth Inn and got caught by the nice look of the really cozy cottages. The owner added to the first impression by being extremly friendly and helpful. We booked Cottage 7 for the three of us. Then we followed the owner's good advice for an afternoon walk in Acadia park. The walk was great but we got soaked. So we remembered that we could relax in the Jacuzzi, which we had not been interested in at first. Even though the street is nearby and the airport too, neither one disturbed our sleep. The breakfast was better than anywhere else where we had stayed during our entire 13 day vacation. Fresh fruit and the truly best muffins (a large variety of homemade muffins that were "presented" on the "muffin menue") we ever had eaten.

Thanks very much! We would definitely come again, but it is probably a too long way from Germany.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
Thank ReisenderXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Our stay at the Open Hearth Inn was perfect, we wished we had more time than the two nights we were there. Our cottage was so comfortable and perfect! I was determined to cook lobster myself while there so I really wanted to stay where we would have a kitchen with a stove. The owners of the inn were kind enough to bring over a lobster pot and utensils for cooking and eating the lobster. They were extremely nice. The location is perfect and I would definitely recommend this inn to anyone visiting the area. It was conveniently located and there were restaurants and a grocery store near by. While we were there we went into the town of Bar Harbor and we visited Acadia National Park which was breathtakingly beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlene2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

I have never felt more welcome at a hotel/motel/cottage then I did at Open Hearth Inn and Cottages. Upon check-in, the owner, Chuck provided more information about Bar Harbor and Mt. Desert Island than the travel book I'd read prior to our trip. Each morning a continental breakfast was served with FRESH, homemade muffins. The cottage we stayed in was very clean. Housekeeping service was provided daily. The airport across the street was only active during the day and did not interfere with our sleep. This is the perfect place if you're looking for a quaint and home-like place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nursekm130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trenton
2.7 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#22 of 41 in Bar Harbor
382 reviews
6.4 mi away
Eagle's Lodge Motel
Eagle's Lodge Motel
#5 of 9 in Ellsworth
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Isleview Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
0.9 mi away
Acadia Sunrise Motel
Acadia Sunrise Motel
#1 of 3 in Trenton
179 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Open Hearth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Open Hearth Inn

Address: 1147 Bar Harbor Rd, Trenton, ME 04605-6019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Trenton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Trenton
Price Range: $69 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Open Hearth Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Open Hearth Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Open Hearth Hotel Trenton
Open Hearth Inn Trenton, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing