We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clam chowder that goes directly to your heart!”

Lobster Pound & Real Pit BBQ
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Trenton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood
Restaurant details
Ansonia, CT
Level Contributor
213 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Clam chowder that goes directly to your heart!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

The clam chowder is soooooooo gooooood! Very very creamy and buttery, goes right to your arteries! At first I thought the pulled pork was too smoky but as I ate it , I really enjoyed it. The sauce for the pulled pork was also very good. The cold slaw had a good kick and the potato salad was good. This place is a true joint and I think it's great!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank javaandjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    54
    21
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent place for lunch or dinner”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had lunch and dinner on a recent trip to Maine at this restaurant. The food is very good and service is extremely friendly and prompt. They offer your typical Lobster /fish dinners like most places in the area but also offer barbeque food such as ribs. The portions of ribs are huge. As a matter of fact I split a rib dinner with my daughter and there was plenty to spare. This location has indoor and outdoor seating. Another nice thing is they allow pets to keep you company while you eat. We had our German Shepherd join us for lunch. They even gave him a bone and a dish of water.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lobster and bbq doesnt get any better”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Great lobster and excellent bbq by the road. You cant tell just from the road but best meal of our visit to mdi. A Must

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank markikaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great lobster and Texas style BBQ”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We live in the south so we know our BBQ and have pretty high expectations. We enjoyed this place so much that we went here twice. The first time I had a lobster roll which was some of the better lobster I experience on our trip. And the corn was cooked perfectly. Next time I had the brisket and pulled pork. The pork has a strong smoky flavor and the brisket was very tasty. My husband had ribs and they fell of the bone. Overall enjoyed this place. It is a bit high on price but it seemed most restaurants in that area were!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ssedlac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin MA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“BBQ at a lobster pound?? Well done!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We spent the weekend on Mount Desert Island and were looking for lunch as we headed out. I love BBQ and I love lobster so there were lots of choices. I intended to get lobster but the smokers were cranked and smelled great so we got pulled pork sandwiches. They were excellent! The flavors were well balanced and rich. The smoke was not overwhelming as often happens at BBQ places. It was definitely some of the best pulled pork we've had. I like to make my own on my smoker and I'm very partial to my recipe but this was better. I highly recommend it. I wish I had the room for a grilled lobster...it looked good, too. Good selection of craft beers as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pubprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobster Pound & Real Pit BBQ also viewed

Trenton, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Trenton, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Lobster Pound & Real Pit BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing