We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great way to view Acadia”

Scenic Flights of Acadia
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Trenton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the Island the Best Way! See it from above. You will gain a unique perspective of Bar Harbor, Coastal Lighthouses, Acadia National Park, Cadillac Mountain, Somes Sound and more. Choose from our five popular flights. Reservations are not required, with the exception of our unforgettable Sunset Flights.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
83 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Another Great way to view Acadia”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I visited Acadia during the Govt Shutdown and it was a bummer for me as i planned for this trip way back and took the time off to make it happen. I didn't want to cancel my trip just because the park was shutdown. I chose to visit Acadia by Air (and Water!) while I was here.

They have a good variety of routes to choose from based on the number of view points covered and time; Try to get the sunset tour.. it costs a little extra but is well worth it.

The Pilot Randy was very cool and makes a good Pilot and a tour guide.

The Flight was great, I actually took the open ride [you are allowed to open the window of the aircraft] as i was doing some Ariel photography while I was up there and the views were awesome!

If you are considering an air tour, go with them.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chetan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    9
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I arrived in Bar Harbor on the day the Federal Government shutdown commenced! Trip had been planned for over 6 months, so we were determined to make the best of it, despite Acadia National Park being closed! Therefore, we chose to do the "all of acadia" tour to allow us to see the Park from another angle!

The weather on the day was perfect - no clouds, and minimal wind, so we had a lovely clear flight and beautiful views! The foliage was starting to turn, so there was a beautiful range of colours.

The staff couldn't be friendlier, and the pilot pointed out all the sights of note! At the end, he thought we hadn't enjoyed it, because we'd been so quiet - that was only because the views were breathtaking, and we were speechless!

I would thorougly recommend this!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LouLouLouLouLouLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great flight & staff”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We came ashore @ Bar Harbor from a cruise ship 10/06/2013 picked up a pamplet @ pier, called to check availability on short notice they said they could send a taxi to pick us up in 30 min., the taxi was on time, the plane & pilot were ready when we arrived, a nice flight over Acadia & area in a newer Cirrus plane, taxi was waiting when we landed to take us back to pier area in Bar Harbor.

This was a fast way to see the area and still have time to explore the towns shops & local foods during our limited time ashore

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miles1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaarst, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Scenic flight of acadia...”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

...was the best tour on our trip to Canada.
We made a cruise from NY to Quebec. The second stop was Bar Harbor and we booked a "Deluxe lighthouse tour" by www.scenicflightsofacadia.com.
The trip to the airport is short and convenient by taxi (20 min.). Vicki and her crew were very friendly and the flight with Jim the pilot was one of the highlights of our vacation. The scenery is gorgeous and if you stay there, you have to do this, otherwise you will miss the opportunity.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful sights from the air”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Six of us took the Schoodic Point flight. Because the planes only hold three passengers, we flew in two groups. The staff was very friendly. Randy was rather quiet, but did point out the highlights that we were flying over. Jim was very talkative and gave out more information about the area. Both are excellent pilots, and we thoroughly enjoyed our air adventure. The planes were in good condition, and we were very comfortable during the flight. Acadia National Park is magnificent from the air - don't miss it!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DonnaCinTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scenic Flights of Acadia also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Scenic Flights of Acadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing