We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second best turned out to be first.”

Gateway Lunts Lobster Pound
Ranked #5 of 11 Restaurants in Trenton
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Second best turned out to be first.”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Trenton Bridge had nothing for non-seafooders and one in our party had allergies. Lunt's was close and had variety. Good move on our part! Lobster was great, service was good and so was pricing compared to the trendy places.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ossenfogva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    102
    46
    25
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Big Succulent Lobsters”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

If you are making the long trip to Bar Harbor do yourself a favor and stop at Lunt's Lobster Pound in Trenton Maine, it is located just before you get to the bridge that takes you to Bar Harbor. If you want to check in to your hotel first, do yourself a Hugh favor and travel back for the best Lobster you will ever have. Forget the old saying "Big Lobsters are Tough" Not Here, they are the best Lobsters you will ever eat!!! Try at least a 21/2 lb..and up. There are other great thing to eat on their menu but the lobsters are so so fantastic. isn't that one of the reasons you came to Bar Harbor. We ate there almost every night we were in Bar Harbor. We get the 4 pounder or maybe the 3 pounder if we want to enjoy the other things on their great menu. The beautiful garden on the property is so lovely. Enjoy, and have one for me, I am missing them already.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilene g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The crab and lobster rolls were pricey and small. The kids' burgers were small for the price and didn't have a good flavor at all. The restaurant seemed a little disorganized, but the people were nice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hickorynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddon Heights, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Family Tradition”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We have been going to Acadia National park for 12 years now and this is our favorite place to eat. The staff is very friendly and the lobster is delicious. Our kids (all teenagers and early 20's now) would eat there every night. It feels stopping and visiting friends!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LongTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dont blink or you will miss out”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Our first time to Maine and a friend recommended to stop here on the way to Bar Harbor. Family owned, VERY simple....amazing food! Don't go on the hunt for food/atmosphere....go for food! No need to spend a lot of time talking....picture explains it all. Everything was amazing, fresh, etc! Enjoy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daytwocityfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gateway Lunts Lobster Pound also viewed

Trenton, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Trenton, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Trenton, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Gateway Lunts Lobster Pound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing