We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overly Priced food”

Gateway Lunts Lobster Pound
Ranked #4 of 10 Restaurants in Trenton
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Keokuk, Iowa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overly Priced food”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were driving to Acadia national park and had lunch here. The service was slow and sloppy, ambiance is not great either. Clam chowder was very soupy. it appears and taste like heavy cream with a few tiny diced potato and seasoned with salt and pepper. Hamburger was nothing spectacular. Thinking about it, we should have been better off going to McDonalds. Oh, there lobster was overpriced too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lunzki7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    95
    44
    23
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ardsley, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Lobster in Acadia”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

It has been 2 years since our last visit to Acadia and as this was our first stop for dinner by popular demand (3 teenagers and my wife). Friendly service and the lobster was as good as I remember. We have tried most of the Lobster pounds in the area and Lunts continues to be our favorite

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JJackstraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Watery clam chowder”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

At 9.50 a bowl you would expect a thicker clam chowder with more than a couple of clams in it. And the onion rings were oily and overpriced for the size.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelomusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“THAT OWNER (OLD GUY) IS NOT HELPFUL AT ALL, FOR IT BEING A FAMILY RESTAURANT.”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

WORST EXPERIENCE EVER. DON'T EVER COME HERE IF YOU DECIDE TO BUY LOBSTERS TO TAKE AWAY FROM MAINE, ESPECIALLY IF YOU ARE ON A ROAD TRIP. I BOUGHT 51 COOLERS AND GOT IT STUFFED INTO TWO COOLERS. One cooler came back home and survived the road trip, whereas the other cooler did not survive at all. So that is almost 25 lobsters being dead. THIS IS THE WORST PLACE TO BUY LOBSTERS TO TAKE AWAY. STAY AWAY.

Hoping to figure things out, i called the shack just recently, only to talk to the old man who just had to tell me that they were not dead. Prior to that, I had asked about how he would pack lobsters for shipping or to buy live, and what he did was say that he would pack it with a sort of gel. However, I did not get this "gel", and got 2 bags of ice (one for each) instead. OH, and they charged me for the ice. I am never returning to this place again. Worst experience ever. I didn't even get to pick the lobsters i wanted. Last time, at a different shack (not disclosing that name & location), I was able to pick my own lobsters (for size, etc.) and it didn't have to be weighed to get that total number of pounds of lobsters that i bought. And yet, last time, that place packed it so well, that it survived the car ride and into the next day. However, that said location was closed, and so I decided to give Lunt's Lobster Pound a chance, and boy, did they mess it up horribly. I expected better since I later realized that THEY CHARGED ME FOR THE ICE THEY PROVIDED FOR ME.

Just remember, that if you buy lobsters to take away, you are likely to receive dead lobsters without receiving the required gel that would be given out, as well as a lack of a good customer satisfaction help.

I would have figured a family restaurant would be understanding to help other families, such as mine....but apparently I was wrong.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kchannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, California
Level Contributor
1,308 reviews
444 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 778 helpful votes
“Best we found, went twice”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The soft shell lobsters here are $4.99 a pound cooked. Since we had eaten at Trenton previously we only ordered the two lobster and butter. This was a much more laid back family type place, where Trenton seemed more automated. You get the lobster, pre cracked - big plus. The bathroom is handy for clean up. You self bus your trash, no big deal. Worth the cost savings and a nice place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ruthandvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gateway Lunts Lobster Pound also viewed

Trenton, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Trenton, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Trenton, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Trenton, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Gateway Lunts Lobster Pound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing