We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Found gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Lantern B & B
Ranked #1 of 2 Topsham B&B and Inns
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Found gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

This was our first stay at the Black Lantern. My son and I are from Santa Monica, CA and on a college tour of the New England area. We had just driven 6 1/2 hours through a blinding snowstorm from Williams College to Bowdoin, a trip that normally takes 4 1/2-5 hours. Every time I called owner, Tom Connelie, to update him on my ETA (my son was supposed to stay overnight in the dorms) I heard a comforting voice. My son new the minute he got to Bowdoin and met some students that he didn't want to stay at Bowdoin and asked if he could come with me. Not only did Tom give me a separate room for my son, he refused to charge me for it. We didn't arrive to the Black Lantern until almost 10pm. It was such a relief to arrive at such a cozy, idyllic location. Tom met us with a smile, a warm greeting, offered us beverages, and asked what we'd like for breakfast. Both rooms were lovely and we slept great. Tom was up at 5am making us and the other guests a delicious gourmet breakfast. He also sent me a favorite belt I'd left behind, at his expense! I can't wait to go back to the Black Lantern and it's wonderful hospitality!

Room Tip: They are all lovely and quiet. I stayed in the Fireplace room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
59
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have stayed at the Black Lantern several times and have enjoyed every stay. It is nicely located off the Interstate and a good location for a trip to Acadia NP. It is just across the river from Brunswick ME where there are shops, nice restaurant (Richard's German Restaurant) and Bowdin College.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
175 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

My wife and I organised a trip to New England and especially Maine at the end of September so that we could experience the world famous foliage and lobsters!

We planned the trip in such a way that we had less than 2 hours' drive between places to stay and Topsham was about 1.5 hours away from Boston which was very convenient. We booked in at the Black Lantern B&B and little did I know that this would be probably one of the best B&B's I ever stayed in!

Location wise, it is really good as it is easy to drive from Boston. Just follow the highway until you reach Topsham. From there, a few miles down the road, you will find the Black Lantern B&B. Be warned that it is not easily seen from the road as the sign is quite small. There is plenty of parking space inside the property and the house itself is magnificent. We wanted to stay in a very typical colonial style B&B and we were not disappointed.

The house is very authentic, incredibly clean, amazingly quiet with lots of parking space. Upon arrival we were showed to our room, which was at the back of the house, overlooking the river! The bedroom itself was very nice, with everything you need. A very nice extra is the thermostat in the room so you can heat the room to the temperature you like. The bathroom is very functional, not the biggest, but with all you need for a nice shower and refreshing yourself (soap, shampoo, towels, etc...). The hotel has wifi.

It is possible to access the rest of the house in the evening, lovely and nice living room with sofa etc. There is no tv in the room or in the house. If you prefer sitting outside and enjoy watching life passing by, you can do so on the swinging bench on the porch. If you are lucky like we were, you might even see a porcupine walking by. It was the first time we ever saw one which was a nice bonus for the trip.

The breakfast was fantastic with plenty to eat and all of very good quality. We had French toast, scones, fruit, fruit juice and tea/coffee.We had the chance to sit at the table with another couple driving around Maine so had the chance to have a friendly chat about our travels. All very good indeed!

The owners of the B&B are very helpful and very friendly. they gave us a couple of tips such as telling us about a diner they liked which is about 30 minutes driving away from the B&B. The diner is called Moody's Diner where you can find the Maine famous pies, Whoopy Pies and typical diner food all at a very reasonable price.

For dinner, there are plenty of places around although you will need a car to get to them. We went to eat lobster on Georgetown Island at a place called the Five Islands Lobster Co. for fresh lobster rolls. Well worth the trip with very easy access from the B&B.

All in all we had a fantastic stay which I would recommend to you without hesitation. After a so-so stay in Boston, the Black Lantern B&B was the most perfect place to start our holiday in Maine. If we are ever back in the area, we would definitely stay here again... But this time for a much longer stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mexicofriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
177 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our second trip to the Black Lantern on the way to Boston airport. This B&B's back yard is on the river where one can enjoy a glass of wine with the sun setting. The front porch of this magnificent older, carefully restored home, also has a great front porch for sitting. We were able to walk across the river to dinner at the Seadog, an old mill house. Breakfasts are most tasty, and the inn attracts interesting people from around the country and world.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This B&B is exactly what you expect of a quaint New England town. A well kept property overlooking the river greets you with the comforts of home. We enjoyed the restaurant recommended to us for dinner. You have to stop for gelato in town across the river! Breakfast was fantastic! We've never had puffy pancakes before and they were delicious! Would definitely recommend a stay here, and would stay here again if we make it back to Maine!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We spent a short overnight stay at the Black Lantern. It was a great introduction to New England, having just flown in to Boston. A fantastic breakfast, peaceful room with great views of the river , and a tour of the magical garden with fresh produce and friendly chickens. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesEcossais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnelieJ, Owner at Black Lantern B & B, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thanks for your kind review. We enjoyed meeting you and having you stay with us. Please consider staying with us again on your next visit to Mid-Coast Maine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge, VT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I were bike touring across Maine, and we called the Black Lantern in the afternoon. They had one room left, so we happily took it and headed towards Brunswick. When we got there, Tom was very hospitable. He provided space for us to store our bikes, and suggested some great dinner (and dessert) spots in town. For those of you who may be bike touring, the Black Lantern is about one minute from a bike path bridge over the Androscoggin River that links to the main path along the south side of the river. After dinner and gelato in town, we slept soundly in the cozy room. Breakfast in the morning was nicely done (very tasty poached eggs!), which made a good start for us before we took a last look at the view of the river from the back yard and headed northeast along the coast towards Camden.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Topsham
1.1 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
0.7 mi away
The Daniel
The Daniel
#1 of 11 in Brunswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.7 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#4 of 11 in Brunswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 11 in Brunswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Lantern B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lantern B & B

Property: Black Lantern B & B
Address: 57 Elm St, Topsham, ME 04086-1497
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Topsham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Topsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Lantern B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Lantern B&B an 1860 circa home located in the historic district of Tosham, has 3 bedrooms, all with queen-size beds and baths in the rooms. Two of the rooms have water views, the third has a gas fireplace. Rates include a full breakfast at a time of the guests' choosing between 7 and 9 AM. Walk to the many fine restaurants in Brunswick, less than 2 miles to Bowdoin College, 10 minutes to LL Bean and the shops in Freeport. No minimum stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Lantern B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Lantern B & B Topsham, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing