We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Lantern B & B
Ranked #1 of 2 Topsham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This B&B was such a pleasant surprise. I needed a place to stay during switch over weekend at my daughter's summer camp. The room was clean, attractive and spacious. We had our own bathroom. The hosts were very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was superb! My only feedback would be that I wish there was NO smoking allowed anywhere on the premises. They allowed guests to smoke out on the lawn but this was the same location of a few little lounge chairs where you might want to sit to read and look out at the river and so if a smoker was out there you wouldn't want to share the spot. Other than that it was perfection.

Room Tip: Grab a lobster on the Warf in Georgetown at Five Islands Lobster- best around!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruby3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnelieJ, Owner at Black Lantern B & B, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. I apologize for the delay in responding to your comment regarding permitting guests to smoke outdoors on the property. While we do allow guests to smoke outside very few do and we are sorry that you felt inconvenienced by one of our guests. We do have several locations with seating overlooking the river as well as seating on the porch and side patio to accommodate all our guests and provide separation when we do have guests who smoke.

Sincerely,

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 121 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed in the Garden Room at the Black Lantern Inn for 10 days in July. Hear that? Ten days. I was in town for a grad school residency, and the inn turned out to the perfect home away from home. Tom and Judy are warm, sincere, incredibly friendly innkeepers who are happy to find you the right map or the right place for dinner. Breakfasts were lovely, the chairs and firepit overlooking the river were a gorgeous spot to end the day. I've stayed in over 50 B&B's, and this one ranks first for me.

Room Tip: Loved my Garden Room view of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cowgirl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Our hosts couldn't have been more welcoming. The home was spotless, bed very comfortable, great shower, good lighting, all the amenities of home. Delicious, scrumptious breakfasts. Two perfect nights to start off our vacation. Thank you Tom and Judy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lance G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed one restful,comfortable, and relaxing night at the Black Lantern recently. The room was clean, the bed was great, and hosts were welcoming. Breakfast was filling and yummy! We've stayed at B&B's all over the U.S. and Canada and this ranks among the best! Thanks Tom & Judy for a great stay! Wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed here for one night in May 12 and had a very pleasant night. Tom and Judy were most welcoming and our room, overlooking the garden, was quaint and comfortable. Breakfast was incredible ...I've never had anything quite like it before and , even with a big appetite ...it beat me ! Tom made some great trip and dnner recommendations which we took and were not disappointed. All in all ... a really lovely spot to stay.

Room Tip: The garden room is quite lovely , but the room overlooking the river has a bigger bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhereUBin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

A great alternative to cookie cutter hotels in the area as well as the more expensive B&Bs on Brunswick's side of the river. While checking out Bowdoin College, my daughter and I shared the Androscoggin Room with a queen and pull out twin sofa. There was plenty of room to move around, the bathroom was sparkling clean and good-sized, and we had a beautiful view of the river running behind the house. Tom and Judy were spectacular hosts and were aided by Wags and Mopsie who kept us company during our delicious homemade breakfast. Being off-season, we were the only ones in the house so it was completely peaceful. The downstairs parlors were well-equipped with books, games, and a fairly well-tuned piano that was open for business. If my daughter ends up attending Bowdoin the rest of the family will become Black Lantern regulars when we visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meatslinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The Black Lantern was exactly what we were looking for - clean, comfortable, restful, and a great location. There is a walking trail that takes you over the nearby river, and sidewalks you can use to walk into town and Bowdoin College within 15 minutes. Tom and Judy were the perfect hosts, ready with recommendations of great restaurants, and wonderful company for breakfast. And breakfast was delicious!

Bernie C

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YikesC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Topsham
0.7 mi away
The Daniel
The Daniel
#1 of 11 in Brunswick
437 reviews
8.6 mi away
Candlebay Inn
Candlebay Inn
#4 of 8 in Freeport
124 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Brunswick Inn
The Brunswick Inn
#1 of 4 in Brunswick
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Lantern B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lantern B & B

Address: 57 Elm St, Topsham, ME 04086-1497
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Topsham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Topsham
Price Range: $119 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Lantern B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Lantern B&B an 1860 circa home located in the historic district of Tosham, has 3 bedrooms, all with queen-size beds and baths in the rooms. Two of the rooms have water views, the third has a gas fireplace. Rates include a full breakfast at a time of the guests' choosing between 7 and 9 AM. Walk to the many fine restaurants in Brunswick, less than 2 miles to Bowdoin College, 10 minutes to LL Bean and the shops in Freeport. No minimum stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Black Lantern B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Lantern B & B Topsham, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing