We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the ginger ice cream”

Dorman's Dairy Dream
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Thomaston
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Try the ginger ice cream”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were looking for a small-town ice cream stand while driving down Route 1, and this place certainly fit the bill. Wonderful flavors; be sure to try ginger. And of course blueberry can't be beat here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank btindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    21
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delran, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I've been going to Dorman's Ice Cream while on vacation for many years.. We went to Maine again after not being there for 5 years. Dorman's was on my to do list and I was not dissapointed. The ice cream was better than I remember. We got there at a good time so we didn't have to wait in line.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendship, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Family business still dipping up the best ice cream in the area!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I've enjoyed Dorman's since my childhood and now at 64 I still love it!! They have all the newest ice cream creations but the old favorites are still here. I love a Maple Walnut Sundae with their buttercrunch ice cream. Many others drive a distance for their ginger. Dormans also raises money for the Maine Children's Cancer Network. Over the years, the jar by the window as brought in an amazing amount in contributions. Dorman's is closed on Sunday and is open April - October.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank UKloverWaldoboro_ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great ice cream”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This place is very busy. You get your ice cream and eat in your car or in parking lot. The ice cream was great! And the prices really cheap. No wonder it is so busy

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine, United States
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“not disappointed”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

After a long hike our group wanted a nice cool treat. We saw Cold Stone creamery but one of our members said no go to Dorman's you won't be disappointed. We all ordered different items and none of us were disappointed with our choices. One hot fudge sundae, 1 banana split, rootbeer float and 3 cones.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dorman's Dairy Dream also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
South Thomaston, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Dorman's Dairy Dream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing