We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great atmosphere, lovely staff”
Review of The Lazy Toad Inn

The Lazy Toad Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Devon, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere, lovely staff”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had Sunday lunch here and then took a walk along the river. From the inital telephone booking, the quality of service was really excellent. When we arrived we were given a choice of tables and the service was smooth and unobtrusive. My other half asked for a wine recommendation to go with his roast beef and was blown away by the excellent wine suggested by the landlord, which was spot on.

The food is innovative and - joy of joys - there were several vegetarian options for both starter and maincourse, so for the first time in years I actually had trouble choosing. Hurrah for somewhere that can imagine something other than 'vegetable lasagne' and 'nut roast'. Top marks to the Toad for giving an old veggie a moment of heart fluttering pleasure!!! Prices are high but so is the quality and the old adage holds true - you gets what you pays for. All in all, highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBolster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    91
    28
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“weekend break in Devon”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Friends found this beautiful pub just outside Exeter about 18 months ago, now added some bed and breakfast rooms to make a fantastically relaxing weekend break. Stayed two nights with evening meal, whilst the menu is limited, that is a real advantage as the quality through concentrating on great English cooking shines through. Beer is well kept and everyone is so friendly, would definitely stay again....oh we already are

Helpful?
Thank skolfslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lucky Find”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Wonderful place, the sort of place others find. This time however, we were in luck! Warm, friendly, comfortable all this and great food. If you are EVER anywhere near, then do pop in.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MM_WindyWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crediton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This pub lived up to expectations”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I booked a table for a party of six as a result of reading reviews on TripAdvisor. The menu offered a carefully chosen selection of dishes including good choices for vegetarians. The food was well cooked and presented and absolutely delicious! The decor and atmosphere of the pub was very welcoming and the staff were attentive and friendly. All of our party were very impressed and will be recommending the Lazy Toad to friends and family members. What more can you say?

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heart of England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellence does still exist!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Visited on a cold, wet evening but soon warmed to the atmosphere, the fire and the congenial company. Impeccable attention and truly memorable food (belly pork in my case). One small glitch in that coffee arrived with desserts and we had asked for it to be afterwards but by that point of the evening we had so enjoyed ourselves that no-one minded very much. Shall definitely recommend to others visiting that area and am sorry that I am not local and therefore am unable to take people who come to stay with me.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MistyCatWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lazy Toad Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Lazy Toad Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing