We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous first time at a B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wave Walker Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Surry B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was my first time at a B&B. I was skeptical. I thought I might not feel comfortable in someone’s home. Wow, was I pleasantly supersized! The very moment I met Phil and Donna they made me feel so comfortable. They are a very warm and inviting couple. This may have been my first time at a B&B but, I have traveled throughout the states as well as abroad. With that sad, the panoramic view from the B&B is breathtaking. To wake up to the amazing Maine sunrise over the mountains and the bay and the smell of Donna’s gourmet breakfast is to die for. In fact I thought I had and gone to heaven. We will be taking another vacation there.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wade C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 124 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at the Wave Walker for a week - a long time for a bed & breakfast but needed a well deserved break. We had a very relaxing very enjoyable time. The breakfast every morning was suburb - lobster omlette, stuffed french toast - something new every day with fresh fruit and home made muffins or scones. The room was very nice with beautiful views of water and very quiet. Used the kayaks one day - very nice and peaceful. About 45 minutes from Acadia National Park - we went there several days and also explored the rest of nearby Maine. The owners - Phil and Donna - couldnt have been more hospitable and knowledeable of the area. We had a great time and would definitley go back again. Thinking about Fall next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Queen's room which was the largest room - would recommend this room if staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights here. we used the B&B as the basis for sightseeing around Acadia National Park. The location was super with a wonderful view. The room was large and comfortable. Breakfast was actually over the top several days and we didn't each lunch because of the size of the breakfast. We even got some apple pie at night. We would certainly go back

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We chose to stay here based on the location as we saw it on google maps - way down on a peninsula reaching toward the Atlantic Ocean. After speaking with Phil on the phone, though, I was immediately impressed by his professionalism and pleasant manner and looked forward to arriving the following day. And what a very pleasant arrival it was - the spot is beautiful and as we drove down to the house were impressed by the view over the bay and the utter out-of-the-way feeling and then Donna met us with her enthusiastic and warm welcome. We planned to stay one night but had to stay two. The view and the comfort were too much to give up so soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DomH28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We've still fairly new to B&B vacations, but the Wave Walker is far and away the very best we have ever experienced. We can't imagine how Donna and Phil could have made our stay any more perfect.

The first thing to acknowledge is that being located near the end of Newbury Neck and roughly 45 minutes from Acadia could be viewed as a negative. If you're a fan of heavy traffic and being constantly surrounded by people, by all means stay in Ellsworth or Bar Harbor. However, you would be missing the amazingly serene experience found only at the Wave Walker.

You will begin and end each day transfixed with the mountains of Acadia outlined in the glowing red skies of dusk and dawn. Any stress you brought with you is quickly absorbed by the views and the incredible hospitality offered by Phil and Donna in their beautiful home.

Breakfasts were amazing and you almost feel guilty at being pampered so much. Rooms are quiet, well equipped and so comfortable. Only difficulty is forcing yourself out of bed in the morning, but the breakfasts are worthy motivators.

Basically, we want to go back again and again and wish we were there right now. Hands down, without a doubt, the very best B&B we have ever experienced. This is all due to the tremendous vision and attention to detail Donna and Phil have put into everything. Stay here!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11961EK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I was planning to sing high praises for the wave walker, but it seems everything I wanted to say has been said already. Donna and Phil are excellent hosts, they seem like they really enjoy making their guests happy. Donna makes an amazing breakfast too. There's kayaks to use, trails to walk on, wildlife to watch, a gorgeous view across the bay to Acadia. Plus fresh muffins and coffee available all day.
The building is new, clean, and attractive. The photos on their site do not do it justice. I tried to get better ones but because of the lighting mine looked just as bad. Just know it looks far better in person.
I will definitely be back some time soon for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We are just wrapping up 3 days at Wave Walker. It will be a lifelong memory. We have been staying in B&Bs for 25 years. They are always our first choice unless business prevents it. By comparison, on a scale of 1-5, Wave Walker is a 6! Seriously. There are simply not enough superlatives.

The location at first glance may seem isolated. Yes!!! Exactly one of many aspects that makes it special. You feel like you have a personal island, separated from all the clutter and noise of Bar Harbor or Hwy 1. Save the lobster fisherman checking his traps, there is not another soul in sight. Acadia NP is only an hour away and worth doing but by day 2 or 3 you are thinking, "Why get back in the car? How can I improve on this?"

The house is full of hiding places. The big room, sun room, deck, gazebo - perfect for a foggy day, or a sunny one for curling up with a good book, a glass of wine, or nothing at all except your peace. Our room, the Queen's Suite, was enormous and very comfortably appointed. The reading nook beneath the window doubles as a day bed, but is also a sunny spot to simply linger for a minute or an entire afternoon.

For us a favorite part of being here was using the WW sea kayaks for a 3 hour exploration of the Maine coastline. The waters are mostly calm and well protected making it a delightful trip for kayaking newbie or old salt. Again, you feel like you are on an isolated waterway instead of only a few miles from the harbor traffic jam to be found on the other shore. Either way Phil will give you plenty of tips and assistance getting started.

Phil and Donna are delightful hosts and delightful people. You cannot hope for better people to take care of your every need. And if your need is gourmet cooking... Well you came to the right spot. Every breakfast was heavenly, with creative fare and fresh fruit or vegetables, some grown in Donnas own garden. I may have to get my arteries roto-rootered when I get home, but I don't care. It was worth it.

Sidebar: restaurants are 25-30 minutes away, so pack a lunch or some of Donnas extra muffins, which she will gladly supply. But for dinner don't miss Perry's Lobster Shack, only a couple of miles up the road. It's a riotously unfettered perch on a long and simple dock with zero pretense but great seafood! And you can make as big a mess cracking those lobster as you want. You have a bucket for leftover parts, a full roll of paper towels, and nobody's watching.

We live 2000 miles away. But we will seriously consider coming back to this part of Maine in large part just to stay at the Wave Walker.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BVcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wave Walker Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wave Walker Bed and Breakfast

Address: 28 Wave Walker Ln, Surry, ME 04684-3883
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Surry
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Surry
Price Range: $177 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wave Walker Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at this peaceful oceanfront cape on the shores of Newbury Neck. Enjoy unprecedented privacy on 20 acres of woods and blueberry field. Awake each morning to the gentle sounds of the waves lapping at the shore. The 1000 feet of ocean frontage allows for tranquility not often found this close to Acadia , only 45 minutes away. Spectacular views of Acadia National Park and nearby islands make this bed and breakfast one of a kind. This spacious home is the perfect spot to relax and enjoy the view of the bay and mountains, while your innkeepers, Donna and Phil attend to your every need. We have four rooms and a guest house available: Esther's Room, Elizabeth's Room, The Queen Suite, The Captain's Quarters and The Guest House. A full gourmet breakfast is served daily at 8:30 am for guests staying in rooms. Coffee, tea, juice, and fresh fruit are available starting at 8 am. The Guest House is a weekly rental without inclusive meals. Enjoy the ocean in one of our kayaks or bring your own. Children under the age of 10 require innkeeper approval. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wave Walker Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wave Walker Bed And Breakfast Surry, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing