We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gracious, delightful inn by the bay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surry Inn

Surry Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Restaurants in Surry
Price range: $0 - $26
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Enjoy eclectic, creative cuisine in the prettiest setting in Downeast Maine. Looking out over Contention Cove in Surry, let the chef prepare for you the freshest seafood including Atlantic halibut file, sweet sea scallops, and perfectly aged, hand-cut beef tenderloin. Some of our popular dishes include Scallops with Almonds and Mango, Blueberry Duckling, Steak au Poivre Bordelaise, and Mayan style fresh halibut. Carefully selected wines and perfectly mixed cocktails are available. All soups, salad dressings, sauces and desserts are home-made. We'll hope to see you soon.
Waterville, Maine
2 reviews
“Gracious, delightful inn by the bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We experienced a lovely stay at this rural inn in Surry just minutes from Ellsworth nestled in a comfortable 19th century farmstead. Our spacious room had a large picture window overlooking the bay. The room decorated with simple antique furniture resembling the homelike atmosphere of the inn added a unique atmosphere to the environment. The warm hospitality of the inn owners Annelise and Peter was absolutely genuine. The vast array of delicious food prepared for each guest separately by Peter was exquisite. It was pleasantly and tastefully served on large white plates in a comfortable, home like dining room with a beautiful southwest view of the bay. We look forward to a return visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank David43_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    4
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bay Shore, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hurry to Surry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

My husband and I have been dining at the Surry Inn for the past 20 years. We have a cottage in Maine and drive an hour to get to Surry. We look forward each summer to our several dinners at the inn.

Peter and Annelise are the most cordial hosts and Peter a superb chief. Each meal is a true pleasure (you will not be disappointed). The food is excellent, always fresh and very flavorful. The dining room overlooks beautiful Contention Cove that adds to a truly romantic evening. The atmosphere is homey and never hurried, you can enjoy your five course meal at your leisure.

We had an occasion to stay at the inn during some construction on our home. Our room was quiet, comfortable and the view from the window over the cove was fantastic. Breakfast was totally delicious (this man can cook). Summers in Maine would not be complete without dinners at the Surry Inn.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castine, Maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fine dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Wonderful food with an upscale Mexican emphasis. Unusual soups, and desserts are outstanding. Entrees are satisfying without being overwhelming. We celebrate our anniversary here every year. Our favorite restaurant in the Blue Hill/Ellsworth area.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank karenlyons48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a romantic surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

The Surry Inn restaurant is very cute on the outside...a little spooky when you walk in, everything seems very old, however the food and service was fantastic. The almond covered scallops in mango sauce is to die for and the bread is out of this world yummy. We had a beautiful view of the water and there was nice classical music playing creating a very relaxing atmosphere! It is our favorite place we've tried during our stay. Better than anything we've had in Ellsworth, Bar harbor or Brooklin by far!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surry, Maine
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Surry Inn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

I have stayed at the Inn several times. It is quiet a different place. A little spuky, but nice. Gorgous sunsets to see from the Dining room. Great!

Helpful?
Thank Trudi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surry Inn also viewed

Surry, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Surry, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Surry, DownEast and Acadia Maine

Been to Surry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing