We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable harbor cruise”

Isle au Haut Boat Services
Ranked #3 of 13 things to do in Stonington
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Enjoyable harbor cruise”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Took the two hour harbor cruise, explaining about how they catch lobster and talking about the lobster industry in Stonington. The captain was very knowledgeable and described in detail everything that we saw. Very laid back, showed us a lobster trap with a lobster in it (they throw it back), explained how the lobster boats work, and also showed us Crotch Island, where they still quarry for granite, amazing the piles of granite all along the shore line. Went out to Sparrow island, basically just a rock, loaded with harbor seals sunning themselves. Got to see the lighthouse up close, so it was very enjoyable. Plus, since it was short cruise we were able to get back in time to go out to dinner.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lynda n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    8
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ira, VT
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Scenic ride through Maine's islands”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

When we travel to Isle au Haut, we always use Isle au Haut Boat Services. We LOVE the Miss Lizzie! The staff is always helpful and courteous, even when traveling with a mountain of luggage for a week's long stay.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chetteroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Seal Island Puffin Trip”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My ten year old and I did the Seal Island puffin trip. We had a great time seeing the birds and watching the porpoises play in the boat's wake. The crew is friendly and knowledgeable. Learned a lot about Maine's sea birds. All in all a wonderful Sunday afternoon adventure.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Off-season schedule kicked in to soon for us”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Wish they would adjust the mailboat times later in the season. Would have loved to spend more time on the island.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Albrechts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique island”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

great ride & island adventure even in a bit of a drizzle. Very helpful & friendly people, wonderful little rocky beach where we enjoyed a picnic

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GuadalupeBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isle au Haut Boat Services also viewed

 

Been to Isle au Haut Boat Services? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing