We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite travel destination”
Review of Inn on the Harbor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stonington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on the Harbor
Ranked #1 of 4 Stonington B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We come to the Inn every year, but have neglected to write a review til now. We are frequent travelers, but this is the place we look forward to coming to all year. The Inn is very nice but also very comfortable. We stay in the Victory Chimes each year - we particularly love the view and the fireplace. We have found the staff to be terrific - and now consider the owner, Christina Shipps, to be a friend. Breakfasts are terrific, although frankly all the baked goods are a little too tempting. And we've never detected a smell of rotten fish - just salt water with the occasional low tide, but that is to be expected when you are on a deck over the water. The town is just right - a working lobster village that hasn't yet (and hopefully never will) been overrun by tourism. There is even a little wine shop with a nice wine selection, cheese etc. One of our favorite activities is to have wine and cheese on the deck, absorbing the amazing view. And keeping an eye out for Fred, the local harbor seal. We look forward to many more trips. Jackie O., Kissimmee, FL

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 146 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

I've stayed at Inn on the Harbor several itiems and jsut love it. Christine and her staff are very friendly and helpful with suggestions. The rooms are comfortable and the views from the harbor facing rooms are awesome. If you want to get away from it all and just relax this is the place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

There is a nice terrace with views towards the sea and the harbour. The atmosphere on this terrace and throughout the location is peaceful.
The rooms to the front have nice views over the harbour, the rooms to the street are a bit noisy in the early morning. The rooms itself are comfortable containing a very informative and entertaining guest book.
Due to the presence at the harbour there is -quite often- a strong smell of (rotten) fish around the location. We found this- especially at breakfast- slightly unpleasant.
The breakfast is ok but nothing special. Unfortunately, the staff at the reception appears to be a bit unmotivated and not very communicative (this might be due to the fact that the Inn is currently for sale). In the light of all this we found that the room rates are too high for this location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vincent V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSHIPPS, Owner at Inn on the Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Just a note to address the "fishy fragrance" in Stonington. This village is the largest lobstering port in Maine. Occassionally, perhaps once every two to three years, a lobsterman or a bait truck spills some bait in the harbor and it washes ashore. I am afraid this is what happened the week our guest from Germany was here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed in the large Victory Chimes room. Very comfortable. Fireplace (nice to have if you visit later in season), terrific view from large picture window. Big bathroom with tub. The large deck with chaises and tables is just outside the room's door. Watch the fishermen arrive at the harbor with their catch which is loaded on to trucks bound for happy lobster lovers far and wide. The breakfast is simple but good (muffins, toast made with delicious local breads, juice, good coffee, yogurt, cereal). It was a very pleasant experience. We met people at breakfast who've been going there for years so that is a very good sign indeed. Don't miss going to the fabulous Farmer's Market on Friday mornings!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andiamo_38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Every time we go to Maine, we stay at the Inn on the Harbor, as we hop up the Coast. This is by far our favorite place. It is so cozy and comfortable and the view is the best. It is on a busy working harbor so there is lots of activity to watch besides the gorgeous view. Stonington is definately a fishing village but there is also enough for the tourists. You can walk to everything, including some good restaurants and a few shops. The Inn is right on main street on the harbor, in the middle of everything. The breakfast is wonderful with homemade granola, breads, muffins, and fresh fruit. I cannot more highly recommend a place than this. It is so relaxing and beautiful and off the beaten path. But you can easily get to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park for a day trip from here.

Room Tip: Every room has a great view if you are on the water side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank antiquetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Comfortable large room. Heritage view had incredible view of the harbor. Binoculars included. Access to sun decks (at 2 levels) Limited (continental) breakfast included. Comfortable bed. Fireplace in room. Hotel guide book compiled by owner was informative and funny. Restaurants close by.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Harbor. The Heritage Room is large with a great harbor view. It includes loung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Stayed in the Mary Day for two nights... here on business, but have already planned to come back with the family. Comfortable rooms, down comforters, squishy chairs next to giant picture window looking over the harbor. Huge deck, helpful staff. Come to Stonington to take a deep breathe of fresh Maine air! Walked to Sand Beach, smelled the salt air & balsam forest-- absolute Zen moment. Only difficulty was trying to find a fork at 9pm... nothing was open or accessable... but that's island life:)

Room Tip: Great views from top or bottom floors, harborside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Widget83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn on the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Harbor

Address: 45 Main Street, Stonington, Deer Isle, ME 04681
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Deer Isle > Stonington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Stonington
Price Range: $70 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OPEN YEAR ROUND Known for its unique charm and spectacular view of the Penobscot Bay islands, the Inn on the Harbor on Deer Isle offers a perfect romantic waterfront retreat. Built in the 1880s and perched right on the edge of picturesque Stonington Harbor, this bed and breakfast captures the very essence of Maine's Downeast island life. Ten of the thirteen individually decorated guestrooms face the sea and enjoy gorgeous views of Isle au Haut, the Windjammers and the island's fishing fleet. Guests can relax on the spacious flower-covered deck extending out into the harbor and enjoy the tide rising and falling beneath the Inn. They can fall asleep to the sound of nearby Mark Island Light's foghorn and wake up to the lobstermen heading out to sea. Several of our rooms have wood burning fireplaces and/or private decks. Our accommodations are relaxed and comfortable, all with private baths and sitting areas. The coastal atmosphere, with fresh salt air and brilliant sunny skies, encourages many of our guests to simply put their feet up and relax while watching Stonington's bustling waterfront. This is Maine's Downeast island life at its best. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing