We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Family Oriented Vacation”

Old Quarry Ocean Adventures
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Stonington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We welcome you to visit one of the most extraordinary places on the coast of Maine. The Deer Isle-Stonington archipelago in Penobscot Bay is a unique and breathtaking area, home to the largest concentration of bald eagles in the lower 48 States, and over 60 uninhabited islands. It is well known to be the destination of choice for kayakers, sailors, campers, and any nature enthusiast. People from all over the world come to this place because of the quiet, un-spoiled and awe-inspiring environment. They come to Old Quarry because we provide the perfect access to this magical body of water, where seals and porpoises thrive and sea birds are abundant, where historic windjammers sail, and lighthouses stand stalwartly on rocky cliffs as sentinels of the night.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Before going to Old Quarry I never thought Maine could provide such a great outdoor experience. Old Quarry is simply a beautiful spot. The campground is the cleanest I've ever seen, each site has it's own character, unlike a lot of "cookie-cutter" operations out there. The ocean views are serene.

In addition- the staff was very friendly and willing to help out at a moments notice. The kayaking guide we used was proficient and very knowledgeable about local history, flora, fauna, etc... We explored several islands and would have stayed for an entire week had we know how much there is to explore in Stonington.

The only down side to the entire trip was that it rained one night and we had a leak in the tent. Other than that you can't beat this "adventure" if you want to get away in New England.

4  Thank DrSeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

70 - 74 of 74 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2008

Our family of 5 booked the 12:30 half day kayaking trip. Luckily nobody else was signed up for that time! Our guide was nice and kept us safe, although we thought she could have had a bit more personality.

We saw seals popping their heads out of the water, green crabs, a red jellyfish and a lobster boat. We were given a choice of single or double kayaks. Our 12 year-old daughter insisted on a single and, though she's decently strong and has some kayaking experience, she held us back. If we had it to do over we'd take a double kayak and make sure she was in it with someone else.

They say that if you go in the morning there's a greater chance of fog, but in the afternoon the winds can kick up. We got lucky and had nice weather.

3  Thank lizzieillinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2008

A group of five friends rented a house in Stonington ME for a week with the intention of eating alot of lobster, kayaking, hiking and biking. Old Quarry seems to have the monopoly on the guided adventure options on Deer Isle so we booked several trips with them.

Booking was a mess. Even though we had been in contact both over email and via phone for 6 weeks prior to the trip all of our trips were booked wrong. I still am unsure what we paid for.

We showed up the first day excited about our "sunset paddle". The weather had been very variable that day, but was nice at the time of the launch (around 6:30 pm). Somewhere around 7:30pm the fog rolled in and very quickly it got dark. The trained "Maine Kayak Guide" did not use his radio or turn on his GPS until 9pm when we had very clearly been lost for awhile. The Old Quarry motor boat did locate us and got of back to the dock very late. We were never far from shore and the wave conditions were very flat, so we were never in danger. But our 1.5 hour trip became a tense 3hr trip and dinner was missed.

The second day we showed up for our boat ferry to Isle Au Haut which was supposed to include bikes. They only had 5 bikes and 1 had a flat tire. One member of our group had to ride a childs bike and one the chain kept coming off the other bike. Still the Isle Au Haut experience was great. You can cover the whole island in a day (5 miles paved road, 7 miles unpaved road, 3 miles of unpaved - not quite a road). Make sure you get to the northern end of the island and hike the Cliff Trail. The Old Quarry boat ferry picked us up promptly as scheduled and got us back safely.

We decided not to chance a second kayak trip which had been scheduled the third day after hearing from one of the locals that "Old Quarry gets lost alot on the kayak trips, they consider it part of the adventure".

I wouldn't tell someone not to use Old Quarry, they are the only operator in town. But bring your own safety gear. We are all very experienced kayakers and would have felt better with our own charts, compasses and safety gear. The boats were in better shape then the bikes at least.

Kayaking in this area cannont be missed and the trip out to Isle Au Haut was our best day.

5  Thank travelmizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainBill-Maine, Owner at Old Quarry Ocean Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2012

I want to apologize to the folks that went on this trip. I am sorry that you missed your dinner and that you were aggravated by the messed up bookings.
From my side of the story I am famous for saying that you are paddling in the North Atlantic Ocean, that this is not Disney World and that stuff can happen including heavy fog and please know to that at no time were you/ they in any danger since we had radio communications with our Maine Guide and that our safety boat was in the area and in fact was on the scene in virtually minutes.
As for the reservations, we do our best and once in awhile things get fouled up. If they do we can usually straighten it out so that everyone gets what is expected and or they get their money back!
Thanks! Captain Bill Baker - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017
Google Translation

Thank Murielle-jonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013
Google Translation

2  Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Quarry Ocean Adventures also viewed


Been to Old Quarry Ocean Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing