We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 Little Girls and Overnight Kayak Camp” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Quarry Ocean Adventures

Old Quarry Ocean Adventures
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Stonington
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We welcome you to visit one of the most extraordinary places on the coast of Maine. The Deer Isle-Stonington archipelago in Penobscot Bay is a unique and breathtaking area, home to the largest concentration of bald eagles in the lower 48 States, and over 60 uninhabited islands. It is well known to be the destination of choice for kayakers, sailors, campers, and any nature enthusiast. People from all over the world come to this place because of the quiet, un-spoiled and awe-inspiring environment. They come to Old Quarry because we provide the perfect access to this magical body of water, where seals and porpoises thrive and sea birds are abundant, where historic windjammers sail, and lighthouses stand stalwartly on rocky cliffs as sentinels of the night.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“4 Little Girls and Overnight Kayak Camp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I registered my 2 granddaughters and 2 grand nieces for the first ever Kayak Camp from 7/31 to 8/2 at Old Quarry. They are 8/9/10 and 11. The first day was spent learning skills and then Thursday it was of to Hell's Half Acre to spend the night, returning Friday at 4pm. They spent all of Friday kayaking etc in the pouring rain. I could have been greeted by 4 more delighted girls on Friday, although somewhat soaking wet and very tired. Their instructors could not have been better. Every camper was riveted to Kristy's every word. They thought she was the best. I asked them to rate the experience on a scale of 1-10. All four of these city kids said it needed to be 100.
I was thrilled and thought for the price per child it was truly a great experience. I can't recommend this place more highly. The girls did!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank VMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    6
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bar Harbor, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great way to see Maine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This multi-function campground is a great way to visit a hidden away gem of Maine, Stonington. The campground offers in the woods camping, ocean side camping, or sardine style group camping, which is what we do when my adventure club goes there. And we like it that way because then we can all gather and chat and exchange stories. There is a bath house with a dish washing station on the side.

You can order lobster or lobster with the works. You can get breakfast all day and box lunches. Camping without cooking!

Who has time to cook? Captain Bob has kayak rentals, sailboat rentals, ferry trips to Isle au Haut, kayak lessons, bicycles, and hiking trails. Bring your own kayak for an easy launch from the boat launch. Explore the adjacent quarries and learn about the history of granite quarries (which really is interesting).

Some camp sites require toting your stuff in, and parking your car in the parking lot. This is a little inconvenient but it means no beep beeps and car doors slamming. The bath house may not suit finicky girlie types who use hair spray but is wonderful after a day on the ocean. That is the only reason I didn't give 5 stars.

I just looked at the web page and Cap't Bill has even more stuff going on. I love the relaxed attitude and this would be a great place for families or groups.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MDIWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best place on the Coast of Maine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We just got back from our 13th visit to Old Quarry . It just keeps getting better. Capt. Bill and crew are the best. They are all so helpful , fun and interesting. The all tide access for kayaking is fantastic. Can't wait to go back next year .
The bathhouse is clean and well cared for. The shower is nice and hot. The grounds are beautiful and the flowers a nice touch . Thanks OQ folks.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JaniceD459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
“stunning views and cozy campsites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Hi Bill,
Thanks so much, again, for your flexibility with our visit. The campsite was GORGEOUS - private, well laid out and comfortable ... for a camper - which, as we know now - Paul is not. But he thought the Bunkhouse was great.
I will certainly be telling all of my kayaker friends about your fantastic set-up!
best
Steph (and Paul) Montgomery

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul and Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“don't come here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

JK. Come here if you want privacy, absolutely gorgeous campsites, pristine low tide beach, the best water to kayak and the relaxation you need away from the din of constant communication. You have what you NEED and don't have what you don't. Captain Bill or staff will help you figure out what is necessary for what you want to do with your kayak..or tour on the Nigh Duck... Just talk to Captain Bill or one of his guides, and book a tour that is ultimateley awesome and custom fit to what you need. There is no more beautiful place on earth. Truth. Ssshhhhhhh. Don't tell.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilymandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Quarry Ocean Adventures also viewed

 
Deer Isle, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Old Quarry Ocean Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing