We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet, oldfashioned cabin for two”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Seacroft

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
16 reviews
PICT0008.JPG
PICT0015.JPG
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stockton Springs, Maine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Traute
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, oldfashioned cabin for two”
Reviewed August 7, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a very quiet cabin with a full-width lovely deck and comfortable deck furniture, ideal for long reading sessions. Short rides lead to coastal state parks (Sandy Point, and Fort Point), as well as Belfast, Searsport (with very worthwhile Marine Museum), and, via a fabulous boat ride, to Castine (from Stockton Springs harbor).
The furnishings are comfortable, the cabin cool, due to wide overhangs, which also make it a bit dark. Kitchen equipment and appliances are totally adequate. There are also books, videos, games for rainy days. The owners who live in the main house on the same property are friendly but not intrusive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet, green surroundings
Liked least: The driveway with narrow space to turn around
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shery466
Plainfield, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect vacation”
Reviewed October 3, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Cottage was wonderful and hosts were excellent...even laid a fire the first night. Cottage is near enough to multiple water access so we were able to kayak in a variety of settings. Cosy,clean and quite perfect

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: cottage location
Liked least: it was chilly when woodstove was off
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H
Vermont, United States
1 review
“Really cute, cosy cottage. Great hosts!”
Reviewed October 1, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We have stayed in this cottage a number of times. It is a few minutes drive from the water, and nestled in lovely gardens.
The cottage is cosy and has everything we need.
Hosts are friendly and hospitable, and happy to provide for any need as it may arise.
Thank you Margaret and David- we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, Massachusetts
Reviewed July 9, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cseymour5
Levittown, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Perfect place to base our adventures from...”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This is not a luxury cabin if you're looking for all the creature comforts; it's small, basic, comfortable, private and homey and that was exactly what we wanted. It was centrally located to everything we wanted to see from Thomaston to Bar Harbor and Acadia national park. There is a wood burning stove for heat which we used for only two chilly September nights of our 7 day stay. We would go out every morning on our motorcycle and pick up a lobster dinner at Carrier's Mainly lobster at the end of the day and eat at home. There are gardens on the grounds and there's a far off view of the coast from the kitchen window when the morning is clear. It was too cool in September to use the front porch but it would be a great place to have your coffee in the morning if you stay in the warmer months. I would absolutely recommend this cabin to anyone who is interested in seeing the many towns and sites in the surrounding area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: proximity to areas of interest
Liked least: it was a bit dusty.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewed September 29, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Linda J
New Knoxville, Ohio
1 review
“Feels like vacation”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

My husband and I just returned from a vacation in Maine. We stayed at Seacroft and it was delightful. The interior is mostly cedar paneling, which makes the place smell wonderful. Margaret and David, the owners, provided everything we needed for a relaxing vacation. I brought some kitchen tools, but didn't really need to...the kitchen is well stocked already. You even have a view of a slice of the bay from the kitchen window. I loved waking up to a view of green leaves from the bedroom window.
The place was quite clean and comfortable and we felt very at home there. It's a perfectly private setting. The front porch (covered) was a nice place to sit in the evening. On the cooler nights, we had a wood stove and all the firewood we needed.
During the day, there were plenty of places within driving distance for sightseeing. Two places we enjoyed most were Acadia National Park about an hour away (must see!) and Stonington, where we had an inexpensive and delicious lobster dinner that we ate while watching the lobstermen coming into the harbor with their hauls. It was foggy the day we were there, but I'm told it has spectacular views across the bay when it's clear.
We would definitely stay at Seacroft again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cabin itself
Liked least: TV reception was in and out, but we don't watch much TV anyway
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing