We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good gastro-pub in delightful village”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bull & Butcher

The Bull & Butcher
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Turville
Price range: $16 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
416 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
“Good gastro-pub in delightful village”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Picture-postcard Turville, backdrop to many TV dramas, has a perfect complement in the Bull and Butcher - full of character inside and with a decent garden outside if it's sunny. We have often lunched here after walks in the Chilterns and it has never disappointed. It's now a bit more upmarket than a few years ago and prices have crept up accordingly but still offer good value, My steak sandwich was excellent, although the chips were over-salted. My wife's ham mock terrine could have done with a bit more oomph. Drinking the local Brakspear our bill with service came to just over £12 a head for lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    81
    25
    43
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
york
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Did not quite meet our expectations.”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Turville is a lovely location for Sunday lunch (and any other meal, for that matter). We were a group of 8 walkers, who had booked a table in advance for 13.00. Arriving promptly, we were immediately seated in a very nice area of the pub. The drinks came reasonably quickly; however, the more-than-30-minute wait for food (from ordering) meant that our food did not arrive till 13.50. A long wait. The food itself was tasty, but unexceptional. The staff were friendly and attentive. Overall, we felt that neither the food nor the service had quite met our expectations.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aginippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
200 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Enjoyed a lovely lunch in this great pub in the beautiful village of Turville today. Had the battered haddock and chips which was divine! Light crispy batter and wonderful chips, compliments to the Chef! Received a warm welcome on arrival and prompt efficient service with smile. Thank you!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jehinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bank holiday Monday lunch”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We booked a table for 1.30pm. When we arrived just before we heard the bar staff telling customers that no more food orders were being taken? I questioned reservations and was told we were ok for our table? We ordered starters and main courses. The starters took 35 minutes to arrive! My husband had to have his third choice of main course as they had run out of other dishes? Our main courses took 1.5 hours to arrive after our starter had been served. Very poor service and will not return for food again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unable to get Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I arrived with friends from Australia to have an English Sunday Lunch on Bank Holiday Weekend at 1415, only to be told that the pub had stopped taking orders. Very disappointing! We left and drove 5 minutes to the Chequers at Fingest and had a superb lunch - they continued serving lunch until 1600. I can only assume that the publican at the Bull and Butcher wasn't in attendance as we were not the only customers to be turned away. We were joined by others at the Chequers. Great location, but what a way to do business!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlos m, Owner at The Bull & Butcher, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Sunny bank holidays and the beautiful location of our pub do result in us being incredibly busy, particularly last weekend. We were fully booked throughout the whole lunchtime period which often extends well beyond 4pm. Due to the popularity of our pub, unfortunately we were unable to accommodate walk-ins. Booking is highly recommended at weekend lunchtimes. Please call us next time and we would be happy to arrange a booking for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull & Butcher also viewed

Fingest, Buckinghamshire
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
 
Watlington, Oxfordshire
Turville, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Bull & Butcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing