We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy and fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Craignair Inn at Clark Island
Ranked #1 of 2 Spruce Head B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I loved this inn so very much. The room was clean and and had a beautiful view. The night sky was so epic and gorgeous. The breakfast was delicious and the service was super. It was such a great location to so many fun activities around the area.The only thing I would suggest (sorry!) is to update the decor a little.....It feels a little dated.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluebirdmass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you so much! It's always nice when our guests take the time to send us feedback. Very much appreciated it. Good news for the updates! We've got several rooms in the Vestry Building under renovation as we speak. And, I'm glad you found lots to do around here! We are located in the middle of Mid-Coast Maine--the perfect spot for day trips. All the best to you and we hope to see you again soon! ~Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for Craignair Inn at Clark Island
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 147 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed at the Craignair during the first weekend of October, and I am still lingering over the memories! We had a room in the main building, with a view of the ocean. Waking up our first morning to the sunrise over the water was one of my favorite moments! Everything about the inn was charming and friendly...the food was delicious and thoughtful, the rooms were "vintage cottage", clean and cozy, and the proprietors were so kind. Our daughter has food allergies, and they were very accommodating with helping us out. Spruce Head is gorgeous and quiet. If you like to run or walk, there are some quiet roads and paths to explore. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank redmountainbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

What a great way to start my week, reading these kind words! Thank you for taking the time. The sunrises are spectacular here--something we never take for granted and love our guests experiencing for the first time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were part of a wedding party, many of whom stayed here for several days. We were initially apprehensive because we had never stayed at a B & B or an "inn" before this event. Joanne warmly greeted us when we arrived and gave us the layout of the land and some suggested activities during our stay. Our room was small but clean and bright, certainly sufficient for our needs. We were in the main building which had the look and feel of what we expected an "inn" to be. The downstairs rooms were spacious with natural light and wonderful views of the water and the near islands. One aspect that we particuarly appreciated was that there was enough room that we could either be by ourselves to enjoy the natural beauty and the solitude, or we could choose to join the others in the group to socialize. For activites we particuarly enjoyed the trail over to Clark Island which is about a mile each way. It winds through stands of pines, moss covered granite rocks, boulders, moss, ponds, and the sea lapping the rocky shore. Not to be missed are the gourmet breakfasts prepared by Michael and attended to by Joanne and Mimi. They are plentiful and delicious. After the first one we anxiously awaited the next morning! We did not expect the most current furniture, fixtures, and mini-bar and we were not disappointed. But what we did find was a warm and welcoming place in keeping with the magical surroundings.

Room Tip: There are a few rooms with a shared bath that are quite small. The rooms with a bath appear most spa...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bretseahorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

That was a great weekend! We were very happy to host your group and were glad you enjoyed everything! Thank you for taking the time to send a review and for spreading the word about Craignair Inn. Hope to see you again, Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed in the main building facing the ocean. Room was very clean, nice and neat.
It is charming building from 1930's. Floors are squeaky as you walk but that is fine.
You share the bathroom and shower but I did not have a problem with that. Hotel staff is very polite. Clean towels and robes. TV etc. Very tasty and nicely prepared breakfast. Diner is acceptable.Nice porch and front garden. Dining area has nice view of the ocean and island.Definetely place to recommend for stay. Prices are very reasonable for what you get. I will be a repeat guest whenever I can. Location is close to Castine, Brookline, Deer Island, Blue Hills, Rockland. Take R175 and R15 for scenic drive around the fingers. House pet is cute.
Enjoy sitting at the porch or on the grass see ocean ebb coming in and going out

Room Tip: You get a shared bathroom in the Inn building but that is cheap also. Rooms with bathrooms are avai...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hacibey h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you so much! We appreciate your time writing a review for us and are glad you enjoyed your time. A quick correction: we have 12 rooms in the Inn. 7 of them share bathrooms (no more than 2 rooms to a bathroom) and 5 of them have private bathrooms. All of the 8 rooms in the Vestry Annex Building have private bathrooms (and are pet-friendly since the doors open right to the outside.) Thanks and we look forward to hosting you again! Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Passing through the Rockland area in Maine I always stay at Craignair Inn. I make a point of it. A very welcoming place it is, offering comfortable, well kept accommodations; no frills. The location is truly unique. The walk on nearby Clark island across the causeway is so very pleasant.
As proprietors Joanne and Michael have perfected the art of unobtrusive hospitality. Breakfast in the bright, warm dining room overlooking the inlet is always a treat, a very invigorating start to one's day.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Landlockedsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for your review and for making a point to stay with us when you're in the area! It's true--we are just 10-15 minutes from Rockland, but it feels very far from city life! We're so glad you feel welcome and comfortable here. Thanks again! Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Craignair was the perfect home-base to host ~35 friends for a long-weekend. With Joanne and Michael's (the inn keepers) help, we planned an all-in weekend of Maine fun for friends rather than hosting a traditional wedding. The inn created a fantastic central spot for everyone to stay, enjoy meals, and gather in the late evenings. Joanne went above and beyond to work with us to customize the dinners, snacks, and drinks to reflect all of our favorite Maine things. When our weekend finally came, everything was as requested with no need to follow up or remind the staff of our requests. This exceptional level of service is rare! Joanne and Michael's laid-back nature was the perfect compliment to our desire for a low-key weekend designed to give us maximum time to enjoy our friends.

Overall, if you want something low-key and traditionally Maine, this is the spot. You will find friendly staff, not a lot of fuss, and excellent food. Many thanks again to Joanne and Michael for helping make our celebration weekend perfect.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main inn feel like a traditional B&B (very cute and functional). The Vestry wi...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kgrace111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you K. and L.! It was absolutely our pleasure to host you and your friends!! What a blast--you had Dorman's Ice Cream, whoopie pies, kayaking, runs to the Owl's Head Lighthouse--a great weekend!! Congrats again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel used to be run down, and is now a real treasure, thanks to the creativity of the new owners, Joanne and Michael. The place is lovely, overlooking the harbor by Clark Island (try to get a room on the water side). The full breakfasts they serve are a real treat, and they aim to please in just about all ways. One tip, if you plan to do any kayaking there, is to bring wheels, as there is a bit of a portage to the put-in spot.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the water side.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xdisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you! Great tip about the kayaking!! Kayaking is beautiful around here but you're right--in order to get your kayak to the water you'll have to pull it over the rocky causeway. Thanks for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spruce Head
8.4 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
122 reviews
8.7 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
219 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#3 of 10 in Rockport
1,338 reviews
10.0 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
8.5 mi away
Trade Winds Inn
Trade Winds Inn
#3 of 3 in Rockland
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craignair Inn at Clark Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craignair Inn at Clark Island

Address: 5 3rd St, Spruce Head, ME 04859-4241
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Spruce Head
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Spruce Head
Price Range: $104 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Craignair Inn at Clark Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craignair Inn and Restaurant is walking distance from beautiful Clark Island via the causeway. We're at the end of a peninsula with relaxing rooms, unmatched food and gorgeous views. Craignair is just minutes to Rockland, 40 minutes to Camden and about an hour to Portland. Come enjoy the peace and serenity of Craignair Inn at Clark Island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Craignair Inn at Clark Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craignair Inn At Clark Island Hotel Spruce Head
Craignair Inn At Clark Island Maine/Spruce Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing