We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Inn with quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Craignair Inn at Clark Island
Ranked #1 of 2 Spruce Head B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Budget Inn with quality”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed in the main building facing the ocean. Room was very clean, nice and neat.
It is charming building from 1930's. Floors are squeaky as you walk but that is fine.
You share the bathroom and shower but I did not have a problem with that. Hotel staff is very polite. Clean towels and robes. TV etc. Very tasty and nicely prepared breakfast. Diner is acceptable.Nice porch and front garden. Dining area has nice view of the ocean and island.Definetely place to recommend for stay. Prices are very reasonable for what you get. I will be a repeat guest whenever I can. Location is close to Castine, Brookline, Deer Island, Blue Hills, Rockland. Take R175 and R15 for scenic drive around the fingers. House pet is cute.
Enjoy sitting at the porch or on the grass see ocean ebb coming in and going out

Room Tip: You get a shared bathroom in the Inn building but that is cheap also. Rooms with bathrooms are avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hacibey h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much! We appreciate your time writing a review for us and are glad you enjoyed your time. A quick correction: we have 12 rooms in the Inn. 7 of them share bathrooms (no more than 2 rooms to a bathroom) and 5 of them have private bathrooms. All of the 8 rooms in the Vestry Annex Building have private bathrooms (and are pet-friendly since the doors open right to the outside.) Thanks and we look forward to hosting you again! Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    27
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
24
71
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Passing through the Rockland area in Maine I always stay at Craignair Inn. I make a point of it. A very welcoming place it is, offering comfortable, well kept accommodations; no frills. The location is truly unique. The walk on nearby Clark island across the causeway is so very pleasant.
As proprietors Joanne and Michael have perfected the art of unobtrusive hospitality. Breakfast in the bright, warm dining room overlooking the inlet is always a treat, a very invigorating start to one's day.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Landlockedsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and for making a point to stay with us when you're in the area! It's true--we are just 10-15 minutes from Rockland, but it feels very far from city life! We're so glad you feel welcome and comfortable here. Thanks again! Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Craignair was the perfect home-base to host ~35 friends for a long-weekend. With Joanne and Michael's (the inn keepers) help, we planned an all-in weekend of Maine fun for friends rather than hosting a traditional wedding. The inn created a fantastic central spot for everyone to stay, enjoy meals, and gather in the late evenings. Joanne went above and beyond to work with us to customize the dinners, snacks, and drinks to reflect all of our favorite Maine things. When our weekend finally came, everything was as requested with no need to follow up or remind the staff of our requests. This exceptional level of service is rare! Joanne and Michael's laid-back nature was the perfect compliment to our desire for a low-key weekend designed to give us maximum time to enjoy our friends.

Overall, if you want something low-key and traditionally Maine, this is the spot. You will find friendly staff, not a lot of fuss, and excellent food. Many thanks again to Joanne and Michael for helping make our celebration weekend perfect.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main inn feel like a traditional B&B (very cute and functional). The Vestry wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgrace111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you K. and L.! It was absolutely our pleasure to host you and your friends!! What a blast--you had Dorman's Ice Cream, whoopie pies, kayaking, runs to the Owl's Head Lighthouse--a great weekend!! Congrats again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel used to be run down, and is now a real treasure, thanks to the creativity of the new owners, Joanne and Michael. The place is lovely, overlooking the harbor by Clark Island (try to get a room on the water side). The full breakfasts they serve are a real treat, and they aim to please in just about all ways. One tip, if you plan to do any kayaking there, is to bring wheels, as there is a bit of a portage to the put-in spot.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the water side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xdisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you! Great tip about the kayaking!! Kayaking is beautiful around here but you're right--in order to get your kayak to the water you'll have to pull it over the rocky causeway. Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
336 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We returned to the Craignair this year for another wonderful meal for a large group (12) of friends who had traveled by sail and auto for a summer gathering. The Inn staff were more than welcoming and we we able to review the menu on Friday so we could order our dinner early Saturday. Three couples stayed at the Inn and had no complaints about the quaint rooms, shared showers, or third floor climbs. We obeyed the wine rules and we able to enjoy a panoramic view of the bay looking southeast, and of the muddy cove to the southwest.
Dinner was served by a hearty waitress in good spirits and cheerful efficiency. The food was plentiful and the wine flowed. Laughter, stories and memories of the days adventures were shared.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
It was a pleasure hosting you and your group!! Enjoy the rest of the summer! --Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My partner and I stayed three nights during one of the worst heat waves ever in NE. I had stayed in this Inn before but never in the Annex or the Vestry and it was a good thing we did because the Vestry has A/C while the main building does not. Our stay was just about perfect. We could sit out on our second floor porch and enjoy a view of the ocean. Our hosts Michael and Joanne were welcoming but unobstusive. Breakfasts in the main building were supberb - Michael's blueberry pancakes were the best I've ever had and the egg dishes just as good. We only ate dinner at the Inn one evening and I have to admit the scallops were a bit rubbery and overdone but everything else was wonderful. One advantage of this Inn is its proximity to Miller's Wharf, just 1 1/2 miles down the road. Miller's serves very fresh lobster, clams and great homemade pies - it is only of my favorite places on the Maine coast. I will definitely return to the Craignair. In addition to great food, wonderful view and nice hosts, there is also the opportunity to walk out to Clark Island, swim in the quarry and hike around the shore. This is not a place for an overnight stay but, rather, an opportunity for relaxation and recharging of batteries. Finally, while you are there, visit the Marshall Point lighthouse and Port Clyde. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: In the Vestry, choose room 28. It is on the second floor with windows on two sides. In the main bu...
See more room tips
Green Features: It is a green hotel. They change sheets and towel only if you ask.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Altina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you!! It was a pleasure hosting you and I'm glad you suggested guests stay more than a night--there really are a lot of things to enjoy around here. I'll pass the word to Miller's Lobster how much you enjoyed them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This place is the perfect package for a peaceful weekend. Great service, clean rooms, delicious food, morning coffee on the deck overlooking the ocean, and a private island accessed by a walking path for walks along the seaside. It is located a short drive from Rockland if you are interested in visiting a more touristy part of Maine while you are there. I went to this Inn with my husband several years ago and had such a great experience again this time. On this trip I came with my 8 month old baby. We stayed for two peaceful nights. The Inn provided delicious breakfast every morning in the dining room that overlooks Clark Island and the ocean. In the evening, the Inn also has a restaurant with a delightful menu. They were accommodating of my baby, which was also wonderful. The service throughout our stay was friendly and excellent and I did not want to leave at the end of our visit!

Room Tip: The rooms in the Vestry building allow pets (see their website for more specifics) but they are stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Mommy0124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! I'm glad you were able to relax with your family and have a peaceful couple of days. MiMi had a great time with your baby!! Thank you for taking the time to send this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spruce Head
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
8.7 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
165 reviews
8.4 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#2 of 10 in Rockport
1,258 reviews
10.0 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
8.5 mi away
LimeRock Inn
LimeRock Inn
#2 of 8 in Rockland
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craignair Inn at Clark Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craignair Inn at Clark Island

Property: Craignair Inn at Clark Island
Address: 5 3rd St, Spruce Head, ME 04859-4241
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Spruce Head
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Spruce Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Craignair Inn at Clark Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craignair Inn and Restaurant is walking distance from beautiful Clark Island via the causeway. We're at the end of a peninsula with relaxing rooms, unmatched food and gorgeous views. Craignair is just minutes to Rockland, 40 minutes to Camden and about an hour to Portland. Come enjoy the peace and serenity of Craignair Inn at Clark Island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Craignair Inn at Clark Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craignair Inn At Clark Island Hotel Spruce Head
Craignair Inn At Clark Island Maine/Spruce Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing