We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st time Maine visitor.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Craignair Inn at Clark Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Craignair Inn at Clark Island
Ranked #1 of 2 Spruce Head B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1st time Maine visitor.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

AWESOME FOOD, SERVICE, AND THE ROOMS WERE ADORABLE!!! The staff was gracious and polite, and the food was amazing...pretty sure they make the pasta noodles in house. I def didnt expect that type of cuisine from a B & B in Spruce Head, Me.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that has its own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jermaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    26
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
24
70
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We got free plane tickets to Maine and I more or less threw a dart and found Craignair. I do not think that I could have done better. What a wonderful stay and Joanne and Mike were so attentive. I got up early and walked the island and now have some of the greatest memories of my life. Thanks

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Spence58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Craignair Inn is a lovely place built in 1930 and located right at the water's edge. It is a comfortable and charming place to stay in a serene and quiet environment. Yet in less than an hour, you are a short drive to Campden which was recently named one of the most beautiful villages in Maine. There you will find shops, great restaurants and lots to do. There are other nice spots and a state park nearby to visit as well. Then at night, you return to the solitude of the Inn and have gourmet dinners such as crab stuffed haddock or steak filet with shrimp in a lemon buerre blanc. On one morning, the breakfast (included with the stay), featured one of the best omelets we have ever had. (I think it was Julie Child who said the test of a true chef is the making of an omelet!). We throughly enjoyed our stay and the gracious hospitality of Michael and Joanne.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 33388Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forsyth, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We made this reservation through the internet and relied on the website and B&B searches. We were very disappointed. There were only 4-6 guests and they put us on the third floor with no elevator. I am 73 w/arthritic knees and the stairs were steep. At no time was a lower floor offered.
We had planned on enjoying a glass of OUR wine in OUR glasses and were told by the innkeeper that we could only drink OUR wine in our room due to the type of license the Inn holds. I find that highly suspect as they sell wine there. The walk to an adjacent island was nice but, with the tide out, your view is a mud flat.
The restaurant at the Inn was very nice and the food was excellent. The seafood chowder and the haddock chowder were mouthwatering and the crab cakes and crab stuffed haddock very tasty. The included breakfast was very adequate-fresh blueberry pancakes and scrambled eggs. The food experience was great, the inn experience less so.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 19mikath39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We looked forward to a night at the Craignair by the seaside. However, service was so-so and breakfast was disappointing. It really takes more than two people to operate a good inn with twenty-eight rooms!!!

Two things really spark my comments. We got there 1.5 hours before dinner, and wanted a glass of wine outside to enjoy the view. We were told (by one of the owners) to have a seat on the deck and she would be out to take our order, and then... everyone forgot we were out there! After 30 min, I finally went in and inquired! Very poor service. The evening meal was really good. However, breakfast was very disappointing for a "good" inn. Coffee was not available until 7:30, and it wasn't hot and it had no flavor. I expect better coffee than that!! There was no choice of menu for breakfast, and it consisted of pan fried potatoes, and a very uninspired omelette... that's it. We certainly won't go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medfield, MA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We just returned from two nights at Craignair. Joane and Michael are very gracious hosts and their adorable dog Mimi was most entertaining. The views are spectacular and we enjoyed a number of walks along the beach during low tide and on Clark Island where we explored the old quarry sites. It is a very peaceful spot where you can just relax and soak in a bit of quintessential Maine. We were in Room 20, on the third floor of the main building. On a corner and with a shared bath, we got a nice cross breeze and views of the sunrise and moonrise. The room was immaculate and had some lovely details with hand embroidered valances on the windows and bed shams. The bed was very firm and I would have loved a pillow top mattress pad to soften it a bit. We really appreciated the cieling fan and the reading lights over the bed.
Breakfast was imaginative and delicious both mornings. Seats overlooking the water and cheerful chatter shared with host and guests was a pleasant start to our day, though we would have appreciated stronger coffee to compliment the excellent food. It is a very special place and we will look forward to a return visit in the future. If Miller's Lobster Pound is open be sure to have a meal there right on the wharf. It is a short drive from the Inn and a fantastic place to enjoy a lobster, chowder, or homemade pie with another spectacular view.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if they have any available. Number 2 and 20 are both in the corner of the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJSMedfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Maine
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

This week we celebrated our daughter's anniversary, back at the Craignair where they were married a year ago. Once again Joanne and Michael outdid themselves with their hospitality and friendliness. This time we ate at the restaurant for dinner - what a great dining experience. The food at dinner and again at breakfast was superb! We skipped the appetizers in order to have dessert - cheesecake and hot chocolate pudding cakes- yummy! Can't wait to go again this winter for one of their famous burger Fridays.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor of the vestry - good views and quiet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geolahti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spruce Head
8.4 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
8.7 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
11.4 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
10.0 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craignair Inn at Clark Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craignair Inn at Clark Island

Property: Craignair Inn at Clark Island
Address: 5 3rd St, Spruce Head, ME 04859-4241
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Spruce Head
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Spruce Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Craignair Inn at Clark Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craignair Inn and Restaurant is walking distance from beautiful Clark Island via the causeway. We're at the end of a peninsula with relaxing rooms, unmatched food and gorgeous views. Craignair is just minutes to Rockland, 40 minutes to Camden and about an hour to Portland. Come enjoy the peace and serenity of Craignair Inn at Clark Island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Craignair Inn at Clark Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craignair Inn At Clark Island Hotel Spruce Head
Craignair Inn At Clark Island Maine/Spruce Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing