We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, good prices, excellant drinks”

Springvale Publick House
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Springvale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Braintree MA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place, good prices, excellant drinks”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Had a great time. Jeff behind the bar was so much fun. We will return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmoose143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    24
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alfred, Maine, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Great Fish & Chip.”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I love the fish and chip. You get a good portion of flaky fish and wonderful homemade fries.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucille H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shapleigh, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“good pub food and excellent selection of draft beers”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

If you like a good draft and good pub food at reasonable prices this is for you. Four of us had different items and 3 loved the sandwiches for taste, price and quality, the fries and coleslaw are also very good. The fourth person tried the fried fish and it was very dry so stick to sandwiches which are very good here. The wait staff is very friendly and attentive. This is a very good place esp for the area having limited good places to eat and hope it does very well and I think it will since it is off to a good start in its first 3 months.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MEShapleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laconia, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average pub fare”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We tried the Publick House for dinner last weekend. The atmosphere was OK; clean and bright. The food and service were average. Typical pub fare (burgers, salads, grilled sandwiches and fried food). The sweet potato fries were not very fresh and luke warm. (tells me not just made) Did not care for the portobello panini..very bland. The cajun grilled haddock sandwich was good. No desire to return soon.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rnjgutner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Maine
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible customer service skills!!”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Awful business owner!! My husband and I were excited to try the new place out. We don't have a ton of great places in the area and we were hopeful that this would be our new spot. My husband got the pulled pork sandwich as soon as it was delivered to the table an awful stench arose from it!! I didn't say anything to my husband, because I didn't want to judge his meal upon my sense of smell. His first bit he looked at me and said "I can't eat this!' straight faced.I was shocked because he will eat anything. We told the waitress immediately. She asked if we wanted anything else. We smiled and said no thank you. (My husband's was so disgusted he couldn't think of eating after the ONE bite.) We were nice smiled I finished my chicken fingers got the bill we were still charged for the sandwich. When I questioned why we were charged for the pork sandwich that smelled like CAT FOOD that we didn't eat she said... Oh you will have to speak to the owner for that... umm I have been a waitress for the past 15 years and I have NEVER heard of speaking to the owner when your unhappy with the food, I'm sorry but if that was the way it is supposed to be handled why does your waiter even bother asking how everything is?????? Here's you NINE BUCKS good luck getting us back as customers!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank matt04073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Springvale Publick House also viewed

 

Been to Springvale Publick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing