We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”
Review of Kingsleigh Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kingsleigh Inn
Certificate of Excellence
nc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Overall, the Kingsleigh is one of the nicer inns we've stayed in. Bryan and Pamela made us feel at home the moment we arrived. There were always freshly baked treats out, lovely wine with snacks in the afternoon, and they elevated breakfast to a new high. There are cozy sitting rooms plus the porch to enjoy other guests or read/relax. There was a voluminous selection of reading material about the Mt. Desert area along with maps/guide books that are for guests use. Bryan and Pamela gave great recommendations about area hikes, restaurants, and took time to answer our many questions about the house, area, etc, We couldn't have asked for better hosts, highly recommend it and hope we can make a return visit.

TTW

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nespole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    22
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
196
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
666 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The rooms are small, the views are limited, the common spaces are tiny and cramped. The coffee is dreadful (helps to add espresso, which is convenient and easy). The hosts are clearly miserable to be in the b and b business. She cooks and would do better with a restaurant. He seems bored with the whole thing. They are only visible in the morning and at check in time, otherwise, you're on your own. They do offer afternoon wine and cheese, but you'd better not be late or you'll miss it. Having sherry in the room is nice but there's no place to sit and drink it. The outdoor wraparound porch is lovely. The location is very convenient. Apparently many people complain about road noise but it did not bother us. There are many other choices in Southwest Harbor (a charming town), so pick something else, including the Claremont Hotel or the Inn at Southwest Harbor. Kingsleigh's prices are out of line with what they offer. Better to pay less and buy your own wine. Too many rules, too, like not opening the windows in the room, and limited times for breakfast. B and Bs should be gracious and helpful above all else. This wasn't.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank X-NYr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsleighInn, Owner at Kingsleigh Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Ouuuch! Time to sell the Inn? Just joking, we love Kingsleigh Inn and look forward to many more seasons on the Mount Desert Island, the home of Acadia National Park. This is actually our 3rd Inn and our most beloved due to the location, layout and just all-around relaxing atmosphere that so many guests have come to enjoy. Like other Innkeeper’s have stated when a review really surprises them “wish we had had the opportunity to make this guest’s experience better”. Since that time has passed, much to our disappointment as well, we’d like to perhaps offer some advice for future travelers considering our Inn.

Don’t rely solely on the reviews of former guests as they may not share your preferred lodging desires. Always, visit the website of the lodging you are considering when you have adequate time to really study the photos and digest the content. Innkeepers, particularly, strive to present their offerings as clearly and fully as possible to ensure that the potential guest can “envision” their stay. And, since vacation time is so precious, we would advise to phone the Inn directly with any questions or concerns. This is a great way to connect with the Innkeepers and discern whether the particulars that one gravitates to or that one wishes to avoid are “front and center” to allow for the most informed choice.

Our website, with its myriad photos and oodles of content, is provided to assist the potential guest as much as possible; however, if there are lingering questions or concerns, we invite phone calls or e-mails, prior to booking, so we may rest assured that we will be able to provide the perfect coastal Maine lodging experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I truly enjoyed staying at Kingsleigh Inn in the Southwest Harbor on MDI. I found Pamela and Bryan to be terrific inn keepers. Pamela's gourmet breakfasts were delicious to eat while sitting out on the side porch. The room was clean with lovely decor and a very comfy bed. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone that is traveling to Bar Harbor. I will stay with them on my next visit to Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abq n.m.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

One of the best B &Bs we have ever stayed in - and we've stayed in a lot. The room was so comfortable and had a place to sit - not only on the bed!!! Pamela and Bryan are wonderful hosts. Breakfast was excellent. The coffee and cookie treat mid-afternoon and the wine and snacks in the early evening are definitely a plus after a long day of driving around Acadia NP. Everything about this B & B is outstanding. We would love to plan another visit to the area just to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abqann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a well run B&B, Bryan and Pamela do a fantastic job. They provide wine and snacks for guests between 5-6PM, Port wine and chocolates (2) in the room daily and the breakfasts are wonderful, very well done, like a restaurant. The rooms are comfortable, the beds/pillows are so nice, good quailty and they provide a sound machine by the bed too. I need white noise at night to sleep, so I was very happy. I would recommend the Kingsleigh Inn and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFox06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Comfortable bed. Small but nicely decorated room had private deck with a view to the bay. Very clean & well-maintained. Breakfast was served at private tables on large porch. Baked eggs with lobster were especially good.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Abbott Room: comfortable, private bath, private deck with view, 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buonviaggio_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Kingsleigh Inn in July, 2012. We have been to Southwest Harbor before and prefer the "quiet" side of Mount Desert Island to the hustle and bustle of Bar Harbor. All of the rooms are beautifully furnished, beds are comfortable and most have water views. Our breakfasts were creative and delicious. Each day you have a choice of a "sweet" main course or a "savory." If you're traveling with another person, my advice is take one of each! Pamela and Bryan are wonderful hosts and are very knowledgeable of the area. They couldn't have been more helpful. The common areas, porch, living room gave us ( a group of 6 ) places to sit and talk. We enjoyed the afternoon wine but didn't always get the freshly baked cookies. Other guests must have taken handfuls! "Travelcouple97" mention the noise from the main street, which is really the only negative comment I can make. We had our windows open the first night of our stay but closed them the second night because of this. There was a "white noise" machine in the room which we didn't use because the air conditioner masked the noise. Still, this is a great place to stay and Southwest Harbor is very convenient to all the important sites in the area. A trip to Acadia and a couple of hours in Bar Harbor are a must

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdpooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
0.4 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
184 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
86 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,243 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Harbour Cottage Inn
The Harbour Cottage Inn
#2 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
273 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsleigh Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsleigh Inn

Property: Kingsleigh Inn
Address: 373 Main St, PO Box 1426, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Southwest Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsleigh Inn sits high on a hill, overlooking the harbor in the heart of Southwest Harbor catering to couples seeking the comfort and charm of an historic home, myriad amenities of a boutique hotel and welcoming hosts to ensure a memorable stay on Mount Desert Island. Our rates include a 3 course breakfast with choice of a different sweet or savory entree each day, in-room Port wine with homemade chocolates, afternoon cookies, early evening wine and hors d'oeuvres and all day coffee, tea and fresh ground espresso. We have private off-street parking, free WIFI, guest refrigerator with complimentary soda and bottled water, free guest phone (US and Canada), hiking sticks, books, trail guides and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kingsleigh Inn Maine/Southwest Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing