We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect views - the view from the bar is worth 5 stars alone.”
Review of The Upper Deck

The Upper Deck
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Reviewed March 11, 2017

Stopped here after a hike on the Wonderland Trail in Acadia. We had built up a good appetite and thirst and this place hit the spot. Good lobster rolls, fantastic fries, and cold pints of beer. Outdoor covered seating with a killer view of the harbor. The bar has one of the best views I have seen in the northeast. Prices are reasonable for this touristy area. Very casual and laid back. We loved it and will come back next time we're up this way.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LawGod2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 317 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2016

There isn't a bad seat in the restaurant. We were there at sunset and you can't beat the views of the harbor with the pink sky behind it. The food was delicious and our waitress was very friendly. You could tell the locals eat here based on the conversations around us. We randomly stopped here and are glad we did.

Thank hdwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2016

We have been eating at The Upper Deck since it opened. It provides a significantly better package than the restraunt that used to occupy this space. The food is reasonably good and the service usually very good. Windows need screens for those sensitive to mosquitoes and for those who are not, there is a wonderfuldining deck.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2016

Bring your flashlight to get to the restaurant! Slime growing in the toilet. Bottle of dawn for hand soap. Paper all over the floor. No trash can for paper. Dirty.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deb d, Manager at The Upper Deck, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2016

Barbara
Oh my gosh! It appears that you entered a restroom that we had posted as "Out of Order", as we are going to renovate it next spring. I have no idea what happened to the signs we had posted; possibly they were blown off in the wind, as this restroom is out at the end of a back deck. We have 2 very clean and operational restrooms for our guests~so sorry you took a wrong turn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2016 via mobile

This was a great place to eat and view the boats in the harbor! The food was really good and the owners were fun and friendly!
We loved sitting in the "tent" with the indoor heaters since it was a little chilly the heaters took the chill off and it was a fun night!

1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Upper Deck also viewed

Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to The Upper Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing