We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great harbor view dining”
Review of The Upper Deck

The Upper Deck
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great harbor view dining”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Ate lunch here with another couple send sat outside on the expansive deck. We had a wonderful view of the harbor. Service was efficient and friendly. The seafood was fresh and lightly battered, the taco salad was huge! I would not recommend the clam chowder, however. It was very watery and had few potatoes.

The Upper Deck will be on our to do list when we return to Bar Harbor

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Lou T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    72
    69
    34
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Do not eat here!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

When we arrived at the restaurant at 6pm, we were greeted by the manager and told we would need to be quick to be out by 7. Poor decision on our part to stay and eat. It took 15 min to get a server to the table, then she took 4 out of 5 orders and went to walk away before our 5th had given her her order and we had to call her back! Food was mediocre and pricey. We couldn't even get water glasses refilled. We will not be going back here, and suggest that you avoid this place - there are much better places to eat in Southwest Harbor.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank HHFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A 5 star view, it was downhill from there”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

This is our first time in Southwest Harbor. We selected this restaurant only because it had parking, we were hungry, and we couldn't get internet access to check prior patrons comments. The waitress tried but apologized because she was new. We looked at the grimy menu which should have been a red flag regarding the meals they serve and how much management cares. We both had hamburgers--they were uninspiring. Expensive way to remember to check Trip Advisor first. We give the view a five and the rest a 1. Find somewhere else to eat.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great View, terrible food”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Tip: don't order food, order a drink (bottled beer > their tap) and enjoy the beautiful view. The food was disgusting. We lucked out and got an awesome impromptu fireworks show, even after SW Harbor cancelled their fireworks. Unexpectedly awesome.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BobFFLDCTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great relaxing lunch”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Happened on this place while driving in the area and are glad we did. Great seats on the patio overlooking the Harbor. Good burger and lobster club with great fries and coleslaw. You can smell the bread baking! Very relaxing time!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Upper Deck also viewed

Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to The Upper Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing