We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Breakfast - small portions - left still hungry” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sips

Sips
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Breakfast - small portions - left still hungry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Service was very nice, no wait to be seat. Everyone in my family ordered something different but all of four of us left still hungry. Portions were very small and nothing addtional was served with the main breakfast item. We did not return.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank crabby5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    191
    46
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun, lively and casual spot for almost sophisticated food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

We went there last minute and had a good meal and a great waiter... wide variety on the menu, with surprising creative combinations. Local folks in abundance.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PattyWm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great potential but disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

Breakfast was mediocre on two separate occasions. French toast is dry not light and fluffy, as it should be. Please leave the bread to soak in the egg mixture for better results. Waitress picked up the plastic container holding maple syrup and without noticing, spilled it all over the table and the floor next to my chair, just missing my white pants. Service was sloppy and a bit flippant. Some training would be helpful.

Nice atmosphere. Great place for wifi, but breakfast, which is such an easy meal at which to easily please customers, was one of the worst I have ever had. Come to Portland, Maine and try Hot Suppa' or Corner Room for a lesson on how to do it well.

I have never before complained about a restaurant...I'm a former waitress and dining room manager, and I like to be forgiving, but sorry...Sips just doesn't measure up. Maybe dinner is better.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieMaine1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best SW Harbor Sit-Down Breakfast Choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Sips has a fair mix of tourists and locals. Think of it as Starbucks, the sit-down restaurant version.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thebug525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Sips is a great place !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

I found the earlier reviews confusing - for the last several years, I've gone to Sips numerous times during the two weeks we spend in Maine every year. Mostly I go in the morning for coffee, but I've also been there for breakfast (excellent) and (last week) for an extremely good dinner. The service is always excellent, the people are friendly and helpful, and everything is delicious!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ithakate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sips also viewed

Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Sips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing