We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close-to-nature comfort with exceptional views”
Review of Seawall Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seawall Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2009

I first came to SW Harbor as a child in the early '50s and camped with my family at Seawall Campground. It was magical. As a grandmother, I now prefer a comfortable bed, hot showers and other amenities. The Seawall Motel provides all of these -- and exceptional hosts! -- and still provides a casual, close-to-nature experience right outside your door. It's not the Ritz, but it's clean, comfortable and welcoming. Give it a try!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellz45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 405 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2009

We are a family with three young children and always shop for accomodations that allow all five of us to stay in one room, which limits our choices considerably. Seawall Hotel easily houses five people in their spacious rooms. Fitting in a rollaway along with the queen size beds was no problem at all.

To start with the not-completely-perfect part: The atmosphere of building is as can be seen in the picture on their webside: No surprises, standard roadside motel architecture and design. The breakfast is held buffet-style in the office, food mainly comes in convenience packages and there are no tables to eat at and sometimes not enough places to sit. If you expect a cosy, wainscoted fireplace B&B, you have to go someplace else.

Now to the absolutely perfect part: The location is phenomenal, right next to one of the many entrances to Acadia national park, within walking distance of the campsite where Park Rangers give lectures and talks almost every night. The free shuttle stops RIGHT in front of the Seawall, so once you're there, you won't need your car for the lenght of your stay!
Across the road the ocean spreads for miles.

The rooms are spacious and clean. The owners are absolute dears, and at breakfast there is enough for everybody, seconds and boiled eggs encluded. The casual atmosphere I mentioned above leads to mingling and chatting, and we met people from three different countries there! Everybody is good-natured and very, very friendly and helpful.
Our kids loved feeding the resident sea gull.

Rates are affordable, definitely a recommendable and difficult to top value for a family of five. We'll try to come back in the fall!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tashadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

This hotel was a great find. The location was great for us, away from the mess of Bar Harbour. Has beautiful well kept grounds and across the road is a beautiful view of the ocean. The rooms were very clean and adequately supplied with towels and extra blankets. A really great place to stay, definiately will return to this hotel on repeat trips.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outsidegirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

The owners and their family were fabulous. Breakfast in the small lobby gave the place the feel of a bed & breakfast. Rooms were large and very, very clean. Location was fabulous, a very short walk to the Acadia N.P. Seawall

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpfgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2008

This place is so great. It literally is across the street from the ocean. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. The area is tranquil and beautiful. I didn't think such unspoiled natural areas existed any more. Acadia is a breath-taking place, and the Seawall Motel is a wonderful base from which to experience it.

When the owners say, on their website, that there are no commercial businesses nearby, believe them. There's one general store, which doubles as an ad hoc restaurant with great meals for weary, hungry travelers. Try the pan-fried scallops, which were fresh and delicious. There's also an ice cream stand that sells hot food, but unfortunately we didn't have a chance to try it.

The nearby town of Southwest Harbor is great too. Lots of friendly little eateries, markets and coffee shops. Nice people too.

I can't wait to go back to the Seawall again!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Dina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

My husband and I spent our 10th anniversary in Maine at the Seawall Motel. The Seawall is a small (20 room) motel in the great location of Southwest Harbor. SW Harbor is quaint and more relaxed than Bar Harbor, and is great if what you are going to Maine for is to relax and unwind. Dave and Vickie are great hosts. They offer wonderful advice about getting around, things to do, places to eat, etc. And, there was a resident cat, Speedbump, to offer a little TLC since we were missing our own cats. The only drawback to the motel is that the walls and floors are very thin. We could hear all sorts of noises from our neighbors (and I'll leave it at that). A pair of earplugs and leaving the fan running at night seemed to help. In general, though, the motel is quiet and quaint. At night, we could leave the windows in back open and get forest sounds and cool breezes without needing to tolerate loud music or crowds. If you are interested in Acadia National Park, the motel is located very near an entrance. It is away from the hustle and bustle of Bar Harbor, but, a drive over to BH for shopping or a little more activity only took 30-40 mins. I would recommend the Seawall Motel if you're interested in the outdoor activities that Acadia has to offer, and if you're interested in relaxing and hanging out.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deletha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2008

This was our first visit to Southwest Harbor and we found Trip Advisor very helpful. There were a few good reviews on Seawall Motel and we decided to try it out. I called and talked to Dave the owner and booked a room but had to call him a few times to receive a confirmatory email. When we reached there we were taken aback by the breathtaking views of the waters and beach. The room was very clean, fresh and quiet and our stay was very comfortable. We had an opportunity to chat with Dave the next morning at breakfast and he gave us several helpful recommendations on activities around Seawall. We highly recommend this place for anyone looking to spend a tranquil few days in the vicinity of water and mountains.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suchitra_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
2.5 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
197 reviews
10.9 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
11.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
11.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
10.8 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seawall Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seawall Motel

Address: 566 Seawall Rd, Route 102A, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Southwest Harbor
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seawall Motel is located on the quietside of Mount Desert Island in the Southwest Harbor area. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the Motel borders the Seawall entrance to Acadia National Park. It adjoins a pine forest and a fresh water pond which provides ample opportunities for birdwatching and scenic photography. The Seawall is a naturally occurring granite, loose boulder and rock seawall with easy shore walks and tide pools to explore. There is a picnic area to watch the waves crash on the rugged shoreline and a spot to watch the sunrise over the Great Cranberry Island. On a clear night, it is one of the best places in the country for stargazing. Just beyond the scenic areas, you'll approach two of the many walking trails of Acadia National Park: Ship Harbor and Wonderland. Each is less than a two-mile hike along the ocean and nature trails. A short drive from these trails is the Bass Harbor Lighthouse that has been guiding mariners with its light since 1858. The dramatic setting, especially at sunset, is a photographer's dream. The Seawall Motel sits directly across from the famed seawall and close proximity to many activities of what the park has to offer. It is a two-story Motel with free Wi-Fi, in-room phones, cable TV and complimentary continental breakfast. These budget-friendly motels has twenty spacious, comfortable, and exquisitely clean rooms with a choice of two-queens or king size beds. A community room is available for all guests to use which includes the vending and ice machine, refrigerator, microwave, and coin-operated laundry machines. The free Island Explorer Shuttle can be accessed from our parking lot for easy travel to restaurants and shops in downtown Southwest Harbor, and to many other locations on the island. Top-rated in TripAdvisor, the Seawall Motel is the perfect place for your Maine vacation! Enjoy the beautiful scenery, the wonderful staff, and freshly brewed coffee ready for you every morning! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seawall Hotel Southwest Harbor
Seawall Motel Maine/Southwest Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing