We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unassuming Gem”
Review of Seawall Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seawall Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“An Unassuming Gem”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

A basic motel but quiet and scenic location at tip of the island. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. We received a wealth of tips & guidance on what to do which made a huge difference for us as first-time visitors to the area. Location is about a half-hour's drive from the main portion of the park and from Bar Harbor. Breakfast area is small, but forces conversation with other guests, which proved enjoyable. Nearby Gott's General Store was a worn looking locals-only type place we'd never have ventured into without a tip from staff, but there we found huge deli sandwiches excellent for those like us trying to dine on the cheap. No AT&T cell phone coverage at motel location, but good wifi.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has better views of park & ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ITBJ55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    81
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
132
143
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chciago
Level 6 Contributor
432 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

This place has a great view, especially if you are located on the far end closer to the water. It also has a good heater for colder nights. That being said, what you can expect is a decent basic room. The beds are good and it is a BIG room. Bathroom is basic. No coffee maker in room but it is provided in the downstairs breakfast area. My only concern was that the floors are somewhat noisy which was surprising because it seems so solidly built. The managers are great people and friendly. In fact, if you need anything, they will try to help as much as possible. I agree with the others when they say that the rooms are clean. Relaxing and away from the bustle of Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boystowtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had a wonderful time chatting with Dave and Speed Bump the Cat! The room was comfortable, clean and had a fantastic view. There were amenities (soap & shampoo). The breakfast was plentiful with delicious hot coffee. The atmosphere was warm friendly and very laid-back, just the right place to relax for a weekend. We will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor (no elevator) the view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy89yew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Hospitality was superior - Dave and Vicki really run a "salon" here every morning over breakfast, so feel free to join in the conversation, with local Mainers as well as out-of-state guests! Room was very clean and comfortable; amenities (soap and shampoo) were especially nice. Close attention is paid to environmental needs and people's sensitivities. We stayed an extra day, in a large part because we were so comfortable, even though it was the off-season. If you go, and we hope you do, tell them Chris and Steve said hello....

Room Tip: Room 20 has the best view as well as a very comfortable king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We are going on our fifth year staying here. Love it! Dave and Vicki provide a friendly and warm atmosphere to meet and share vacation secrets with other guest. Every year we increase our stay time. Aways clean. Beautiful views.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We have wanted to come up to MDI for a very long time during the winter and choose this motel because we camp near here often at Seawall Campground. We had walked over one day while camping and meet Vicki one of the owners and she took the time out of her day to show us around and let us look into a room and was more than willing to answer any questions. Vicki & David are wonderful host and make you feel right at home and they provide a wonderful continental breakfast. The views from the motel are great; you are fairly close to the town of Southwest Harbor and some fine dinning and are very close to the national park.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Wonderful owners who really take pride in their work. Very friendly, clean, environment. Lots of attention to detail. We stayed during the off season, which turned out to be a very good idea.

Overall a very honest business, which isn't something that can be experienced frequently when tourism is a source of money. Really appreciated it. Thanks Seawall, we'll be back!

Room Tip: Get a balcony, and the continental breakfast is definitely and important part of the experience .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnapurnaOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
2.5 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
187 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
89 reviews
10.8 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#30 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
10.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
617 reviews
4.2 mi away
Asticou Inn
Asticou Inn
#1 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seawall Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seawall Motel

Property: Seawall Motel
Address: 566 Seawall Rd, Route 102A, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Southwest Harbor
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seawall Motel is located on the quietside of Mount Desert Island in the Southwest Harbor area. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the Motel borders the Seawall entrance to Acadia National Park. It adjoins a pine forest and a fresh water pond which provides ample opportunities for birdwatching and scenic photography. The Seawall is a naturally occurring granite, loose boulder and rock seawall with easy shore walks and tide pools to explore. There is a picnic area to watch the waves crash on the rugged shoreline and a spot to watch the sunrise over the Great Cranberry Island. On a clear night, it is one of the best places in the country for stargazing. Just beyond the scenic areas, you'll approach two of the many walking trails of Acadia National Park: Ship Harbor and Wonderland. Each is less than a two-mile hike along the ocean and nature trails. A short drive from these trails is the Bass Harbor Lighthouse that has been guiding mariners with its light since 1858. The dramatic setting, especially at sunset, is a photographer's dream. The Seawall Motel sits directly across from the famed seawall and close proximity to many activities of what the park has to offer. It is a two-story Motel with free Wi-Fi, in-room phones, cable TV and complimentary continental breakfast. These budget-friendly motels has twenty spacious, comfortable, and exquisitely clean rooms with a choice of two-queens or king size beds. A community room is available for all guests to use which includes the vending and ice machine, refrigerator, microwave, and coin-operated laundry machines. The free Island Explorer Shuttle can be accessed from our parking lot for easy travel to restaurants and shops in downtown Southwest Harbor, and to many other locations on the island. Top-rated in TripAdvisor, the Seawall Motel is the perfect place for your Maine vacation! Enjoy the beautiful scenery, the wonderful staff, and freshly brewed coffee ready for you every morning! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seawall Hotel Southwest Harbor
Seawall Motel Maine/Southwest Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing